Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 September 2005
Jazz Samba is the first, but now possibly least famous, of the works by the famous samba populist and saxophonist, Stan Getz. Here he collaborates with the guitarist Charlie Byrd to produce, in my opinion, his finest Samba album.
Unlike the later Getz/Gilberto, Getz/Byrd has no vocal content and relies on swinging samba melodies and dexterous interplay between these masters of jazz sax and guitar. In tempo, it ranges from the boisterous E Luxo So, through the never-bettered Desafinado to the melancholic and beautiful Samba Triste.
Getz's samba does not engage the listener like other jazz forms. Its Brazilian rhythms fade naturally into the background, making it ideal for sophisticated party music. Given the right conditions however (a sultry summer evening, a cool glass of Cachaca in a quiet bar, or a bout of introspection on tumultuous passions of life) it leaps out and grabs you and won't let go.
Bolstered by his success in the pop charts, Getz went on to make a number of samba LPs, including the now famous Getz/Giberto in 1964, which featured Joao Gilberto on guitar, Antonio Jobim on piano and the raw vocal talent of Astrud Gilberto (famous now for The Girl From Ipanema). This work was possibly more pop than jazz and, while still excellent, it does not grab me quite like the original.
Whether the Getz/Byrd is jazz or not is also open to question, but by god it sure is good!
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 August 2003
This is the LP that launched a thousand samba's, No1 in the pop charts, a feat that I belive has not been bettered by a Jazz LP since, this was the sound of the Brazilian New Wave and opened the worlds ears to the Jobim / Gilberto sound, is there anything quite as bright and breezy as the intro to Desafinado Getz full buttery tone and Byrd's softly singing strings just scream summer.
Buy it and feel the heat
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2011
Almost 50 Years old.This recording spawned ten years of jazz bossa nova.However this was the first and 'Desafinado'spent many weeks in the hit parade of the time.I lost my copy of this and have recently repaced it.After a break I was astounded how fresh it still seems,and Getz's virtuosity is magnificent.I rank this in my all time top ten.Just buy and enjoy.
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
i first heard this album in a cafe bar in malaysia. i was immediately taken with it's mellow tunes. on returning to england i immediately sort out the album and everytime i hear it now it just puts me in the mellowest of moods. i'm sure that anyone else who discovers this album will whole heartidly agree. what a great album, if anyone knows any other albums similiar to this then be sure to let me know. enjoy
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2009
One of my all time favourite albums. Beautiful. Subtle sax playing; wonderful rhythms; good tunes too!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
This CD creates a certain mood, that develops the more often it is played.

I am basking in it rather than critically picking out the playing, but it is a lovely recording.

I discovered bossa nova from the Astrud Gilberto on Verve Jazz Masters, and this CD has not disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
Gringo goes to Brazil and learns something about music. As jazz and samba share musical roots, the combination works well. A good introduction to Brazilian music ans Latin Jazz to people who are used to European and American popular music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
A classic album by Stan Getz. A brilliant selection of music by this wonderful artist and a must for any serious collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2016
Got this on vynal but a bit scratchy so it is great to have it on CD. A Good album, the original Getz Bosa Nova sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Fantastic recording, -brings the 60s to life and tears in your eyes. Shipping process smooth and fast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£3.99
£3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)