Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPIRIT OF THE AGE
Well this brings back memories,my ist Rush gig would be 4 months later,at the Glasgow Apollo,so this recording rejuvenates the memory of that gig,its a superb release,sound quality excellent,for a recording more than 3 decades ago,its not the full gig but its faithful to the original radio broadcast(i had a cassette of many moons ago).

How can you go wrong when...
Published 7 months ago by Mr Blackwell

versus
9 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bootleg - do not buy.
This (as with all ROIOs of Rush, and anyone else for that matter) is readily available from many sources. If you want a copy go to a Rush fan forum, post a request and someone will copy it for you - for free. Do not line the pockets of bootleggers.
Published 8 months ago by Red Barchetta


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPIRIT OF THE AGE, 12 Mar 2014
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit Of The Airwaves (Audio CD)
Well this brings back memories,my ist Rush gig would be 4 months later,at the Glasgow Apollo,so this recording rejuvenates the memory of that gig,its a superb release,sound quality excellent,for a recording more than 3 decades ago,its not the full gig but its faithful to the original radio broadcast(i had a cassette of many moons ago).

How can you go wrong when it has,2112/By Tor & The Snow Dog/Xanadu and disc closer La Villa Strangiata ?,throw in a excellent medley,superb drum solo and a couple of embryonic versions of 'Spirit of the Radio' and 'Natural Science' not forgetting a tight little 'Beneath,Between,Behind.

As i said sound quality is really good, marvel at Alex and Geddy's playing,revel in Neil's drumming,rolling round the kit like there's no tomorrow and smile at Geddy's helium filled yelps and screams as he tries to get all the words in..

This is a value for money release,no doubt it wont be official,but like a slew of other recent radio releases,it will be a copyright issue,its up to you if you wish to buy,hopefully Rush and all these other bands,will get there finger out and start issuing archive live releases,we know they have them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rush, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. R. Powell (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spirit Of The Airwaves (Audio CD)
This is a very good quality live release of classic Rush from my favorite Rush era. The sound quality is very good (Top end bootleg) taken from a radio broadcast from the middle of the Permanent Waves tour. The setlist includes tracks from all their albums up to this point but it is not the whole concert and although I'm sure all the songs played that night will have been recorded those edited out must have got lost somewhere, a pity really because I'd be interested to hear a live version of Hemispheres. But let's not be negative, this is still a very good purchase, especially at this price, the performance is excellent, they were clearly on form by this point of the tour. I was lucky enough to catch them later on in the tour at Deeside Leisure Centre, ticket price, £4. This recording brings back fond memories from my teenage years, standing on an ice rink watching in awe as my heroes rocked the place. For those of you of the same vintage this is definitely worth a listen, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Same show as popular bootleg, but not bad, 26 Mar 2014
By 
David Arnold (College Park, MD United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit Of The Airwaves (Audio CD)
I've had this show in various formats; originally on a 2-disk (vinyl) album, then a bootleg CD, and now this. A couple of things I noticed as differences between the two CDs:

1) The 'Spririt of the Airwaves' CD has the date as Feb 13th, 1908, while my CD boot says February 14th. From a trusted source, they played Kiel Auditorium Feb 11th - 13th, so I suspect the SotA disc is correct.

2) The song order is different between the two CDs. My CD bootleg has:

2112
The Spirit of Radio
Natural Science
Beneath, Between, Behind
By Tor & the Snow Dog
Xanadu
Working Man
[ and so forth ]

Note that TSoR, NS and BB&B follow 2112 on the boot, but BT&SD and X follow it on this CD. I wonder which is correct?

On my CD boot, 'Anthem' is not listed, but is included in the FMW track. Also, the CD boot has the 2112 suite as one song track, while the SotA breaks the pieces out into separate song tracks.

All in all, a decent disc, with not bad packaging (there's actually some liner notes with a general history of the band & albums, but nothing not already known by everyone. Get it if you're a completist ...

David A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A reminder why we love Rush, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit Of The Airwaves (Audio CD)
This is a must for Rush fans,if ever we need reminded why we love this great Canadian trio this album is one off many reasons. It takes me back to why i came a Rush fan,the only down part off this recording is that its not the full concert which means the likes of Hemispheres is missing so that's why iv giving it four stars not five, but its good to here the likes of Spirit of Radio how it sounded in its first tour,this is a great cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 Mar 2014
This review is from: Spirit Of The Airwaves (Audio CD)
Excellent live show, the sound is nothing short of incredible. As for the idiot who gave this a one star review, clearly not in the real world, this is near perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of youth, 17 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit Of The Airwaves (Audio CD)
This album of the great rock group Rush from the seventies when their classic stuff was on the front agenda is a memory jerker for all whom saw the group live in the seventies like me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars music, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit Of The Airwaves (Audio CD)
A must buy if you are a rush fan, I love their music have followered them for 30 years, have all their records tapes CD,s, arrived very quick , reasonable as all items off amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
happy happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit Of The Airwaves (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If Rush was your thing in the '80's Buy It, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit Of The Airwaves (Audio CD)
I love that warm mix you get from this recording of the band - arguably better than some official releases from the same time - more bass basically, and Rush are big on that right?
One criticism 1:19 into Working man is a glitch bit like a 'jump' that you could get on vinyl this could have been fixed and messes up this song. It isn't my pressing the same flaw is present in the Spotify recording. Perhaps some of the other reviews were right that this was knocked off one the limited run records produced for publicity at the time rather than from the master tapes.
The rest is quite brilliant buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spirit Of The Airwaves
Spirit Of The Airwaves by Rush (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews