Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good first book
Survivors of the Dead is the first of hopefully many more books from first time author Tony Baker where we meet Harry Lancaster, a retired cop and now apartment manager, who's world is suddenly turned upside down with the arrival of a pesky zombie apocalypse. Harry very quickly figures out what's happening in his beloved city of San Francisco, and decides to leave and try...
Published 8 months ago by Colin Buckland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
Ok a fairly good outline plan and adventure although it went a bit too far into the arms for me. A gun lover would been fixed. Well done give it a read its worth it. I learned some stuff and it made me laugh in parts so cant be bad. Definitely glad to have read this but probably wont the second pray
Published 4 months ago by susi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good first book, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SURVIVORS OF THE DEAD: FROM THE ASHES (Kindle Edition)
Survivors of the Dead is the first of hopefully many more books from first time author Tony Baker where we meet Harry Lancaster, a retired cop and now apartment manager, who's world is suddenly turned upside down with the arrival of a pesky zombie apocalypse. Harry very quickly figures out what's happening in his beloved city of San Francisco, and decides to leave and try get to his own family across the country.

Harry joins up with 2 active cops, one of whom he knows from old, and it is this meeting that injects the humour into the story, with plenty of gags going backwards and forwards between the three of them, and it's this that forges a tight bond and an unbreakable friendship that will see them through the apocalypse.

The story briefly links up with David P. Forsythe's Sovereign Spirit Saga series, which it turns out Tony had a hand in writing a small piece for, like I said it is only a brief link but it does have an influence on how Harry reacts to the situation he suddenly finds himself in.

As I mentioned, this is Tony's first book, and already I think he's got a winning formula going here with this series and future releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must read!, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SURVIVORS OF THE DEAD: FROM THE ASHES (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished reading this first time offering by Tony Baker and it is a must read! This book offered a smooth-flowing, detailed and uplifting glance into the zombie world. When I am asked why do I read horror, zombies, the end of the world? well, it's because of books like this one. The story offers me, the reader, an opportunity to use my imagination (and not the authors), to be empathetic and reminds me that there are good people in this world. Yes, it's not real, yes' it's a book but it is a very good book to read.
I look forward to following the characters in the next book and hope they make it!
Enjoy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trippy, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SURVIVORS OF THE DEAD: FROM THE ASHES (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book although the descriptive passages were a tad to long. I hope that the next volume will move on a little faster. The plot was however better than most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SURVIVORS OF THE DEAD: FROM THE ASHES (Kindle Edition)
Really good bought by mistake can't wait for next. Good characters good buld up plot. Well worth reading this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zombie apocalypse in the uk, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SURVIVORS OF THE DEAD: FROM THE ASHES (Kindle Edition)
I like these kind of books,as they are a good stress reliever where by you don't have have to think too hard, I'm not saying its a waste of time , but its not an in depth book, although it is refreshing to see a zombie book set in the uk. Overall it's worth a read if you've got some time on your hands
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great 1st book, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SURVIVORS OF THE DEAD: FROM THE ASHES (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable book. Harry, the main character, is so determined to survive and get to his family. He was born to lead, but thats the last thing he wants. Great action (though i was a bit bored at gun/ammo descriptions) and loved that Harry spoke with Scott from Sovereign Spirit Saga by David Forsyth which i loved reading too. Looking forward to the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 19 Feb 2014
This review is from: SURVIVORS OF THE DEAD: FROM THE ASHES (Kindle Edition)
If you like the zombie genre then I recommend this one. Characters are well thought out and made for an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SURVIVORS OF THE DEAD: FROM THE ASHES (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book looking forward to the next one my only moan is that there was to much time given on technical information.I for one am not really interested in how guns and other stuff works.......just as long as it does :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SURVIVORS OF THE DEAD: FROM THE ASHES (Kindle Edition)
Ok a fairly good outline plan and adventure although it went a bit too far into the arms for me. A gun lover would been fixed. Well done give it a read its worth it. I learned some stuff and it made me laugh in parts so cant be bad. Definitely glad to have read this but probably wont the second pray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SURVIVORS OF THE DEAD: FROM THE ASHES (Kindle Edition)
This was probably the best and most believable zombie book ive read in ages its gritty and the main characters are recognisable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews