Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..THE SOUND STAGE MASSACRE.."
This is a classic 80's slasher movie with a more than amazing Blu-ray release, basically the story is a group of young dancers are rehearsing for a play one night in an old theatre and get locked in while an escaped mental patient from the hospital has found his way inside and begins to kill them off nastily one by one! If you love the video nasty era and horror slasher...
Published 10 months ago by S. Drury

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty good
Pretty good....but standard type of slasher.
Published 2 months ago by Rabobank


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StageFright (1987) Limited Edition [DVD and Blu-ray Combo Pack] (Blu-ray)
blyray arrived on time and was great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 80s horror, 6 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not going to write a full synopsis for this film, many of those are available elsewhere on the internet.

Suffice to say that this is an excellent 80s horror film; visually this is very stylish with surreal flourishes and many scenes that stick in your mind. Theres also some 'of it's time' fashion that was bang up to date in the 80s but is now more entertaining than anything else.

This was in fact directed by Michele Soavi, who went on to direct the superb delamorte delamore. If you have seen that film you will have a good idea of the excellence of his direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It'll Be Owl Right On The Night, 27 Oct. 2011
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After injuring her ankle, Alicia(Barbera Cupisti) takes a break from the stage production she is starring in to visit a hospital for treatment. However the hospital her friend Betty drives her to is for the criminally insane, and when the two women return to the isolated location of the theatre, unknown to them they have a passenger, escaped serial killer Irving Wallace.
Betty is murdered in the car park, and the police post a guard outside the theatre. Meanwhile, sensing profit from Betty's death, director Peter(David Brandon) keeps his principal cast and crew behind to discuss a new angle for the production. However, there's someone else wanting to get a starring role. Wallace has been locked inside the thetre with the others and decides to start his own full blooded production.
I am a big fan of director Michele Soavi's work. Compared to his later films such as La Chiesa, La Setta and Dellamore Dellamorte, Stagefright might on the surface seem like a very minor film. It is, however, one of the best slashers ever, a masterclass in sustained tension, wringing every drop of suspense out of what is quite a slim narrative.
Even though I've now seen this three times, there are still a couple of scenes that make me jump. As Wallace stalks the boards, the theatre makes for a very eerie location, especially with the tailors dummies scattered about, the silent audience to the carnage. The acting is all right, with John Morghen/Giovanni Radice impressing as Brett, and Cupisti excellent as the resourceful heroine. The music score is great.
The only thing that grates with me a little are the last few seconds of the film, when Soavi winks at the audience through the eyes of his killer. Still, that's a very minor grumble, as Stagefright is a superb horror film, and maybe the Blue Underground all regions dvd release might encourage people to buy this neglected classic. 5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StageFright (1987) Limited Edition [DVD and Blu-ray Combo Pack] (Blu-ray)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Film, Great Extras!, 22 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StageFright (1987) Limited Edition [DVD and Blu-ray Combo Pack] (Blu-ray)
Having heard of this film for many years, but never quite getting around to seeing it, I was pleased to hear of a UK Blu-Ray release was soon to be out. So, I pre-ordered it, and then took delivery of this film a few days after it came out.

Sadly, this film really isn't worth your time!

Michele Soavi's "giallo" is set in a stage theatre, where a group of 1980's nobodies are in the process of producing a "modern" stage show, about a serial killer. When a real-life serial killer infiltrates the show's cast, the bodies start piling-up.

And that's it! That's the entirety of the plot. It really is that simplistic, and that dull. There's not a flash of originality here. In fact, it's probably one of the most pointless excuses for a film, I've seen in a long time. I know slasher-films aren't meant to be anything more than this, but most slashers come with something worth your time. Either a clever twist, an original setting for the film, or even a fun murderer, hero or heroine to support.

Not so with STAGE FRIGHT! The only originality, is the fact that the killer wears a cumbersome (and heavy) full-head mask, based on an owl's head, which looks like it would be both deeply uncomfortable to wear, and too heavy to go running around a theatre murdering the protagonists in. That's as original as this movie gets.

I can cast aside the multi-lingual cast, with many being dubbed-over by English actors who can't act for toffee. That's par-for-the-course with films from this genre and time. I can put aside the limited plot. I can even put aside the shock "surprise" denouement. But all of them together, accompanied with dull, not-particularly fun murders, just renders the film utterly pointless!

Considering this was cut, in the hey-day of the 1980's Video Nasty scandal, you'd be shocked at the minimal amount of violence that already existed, for it to require any kind of censoring. But as a fun but short featurette accompanying this film shows, about 50 seconds of violence was cut from practically all of the murder scenes.

I struggle to see how this qualifies as an 18 certificate, for the film at least. There's little actual violence shown, and it's not particularly nasty, or graphic, or brutal. The murders aren't sexualised in any way, and most of the cast keep their clothes on almost all of the time. If I'm honest, they would barely scrape a 15 certificate in 2014. Considering what you can show in a 15 these days, e.g. KICK-ASS and KICK-ASS 2, I don't understand why the BBFC has such a problem with this movie, to restrict it to adults only, which puts it in the same category as the UK cut versions of A SERBIAN FILM and THE HUMAN CENTIPEDE 2 - two titles which genuinely DO deserve their 18 ratings!

I would even go so far as to say, this film doesn't even rate highly enough to rent. The final 20 minutes are at least vaguely interesting, but the first 70 are a real chore to get through, and - to be frank - there's little to retain any interest to anyone who calls themselves a horror film fan. Even for people like me, who watch some really, REALLY poorly-made films, this is just bordering on the inept.

Most of the violence is pretty redundant. There's one beheading, but it's not especially nasty or graphic, and it's edited in such a fashion as to appear so brief and casual, that you almost have to rewind and rewatch the scene again, just to confirm you actually saw something vaguely violent occur. One person gets stabbed in the stomach, which is similarly vaguely tasteless, but the characters are all pretty terrible and mean-spirited individuals, that you won't really care who lives and who dies. I certainly didn't!

As such, and because of all of this, I would only give the film 1 Star! The final 20 minutes make it just marginally better than utter-bilge, but not enough to warrant 2-Stars, in-and-of-itself.

However, the extras - all 2.5 hours of them on the Blu-Ray disc - DO make the disc worth something! Firstly, there's the obligatory trailer. Do NOT watch this before you've seen the film, as it's so spoiler-heavy, that it essentially tells you everything, and even shows most of the murders - the very few moments that might actually make the film worth sitting through. Then, you have five major documentaries, and lastly, a Cuts Version Comparison, I alluded too earlier in this review. Imagine if you'd rented the cut version all those years ago, you'd essentially have a murder-mystery with practically no murder in it!

The documentaries, I have to confess, are pretty good stuff.

Revenge Of The Video Cassette - runs 25 minutes, and is all about the love that horror film collectors had in the Pre-Cert days of VHS, where lurid artwork and sensationalistic plot-descriptions were enough to convince people to rent a tape. The only thing that mars this extra, is that it tends to stray from the main topic a little, and also features fake VHS "rolling tape" problems. At first, it's fun to see the image distort and sound go wrong, but it quickly annoys, and becomes a gimmick! This documentary is exclusive to the Blu-Ray, and does not appear on the enclosed DVD disc.

Joe D'Amato: Totally Uncut - is a 55 minute documentary about the infamous writer, actor and director. Also known as Aristide Massaccesi, this is actually the first half of a two-part documentary, originally made for Italian TV (if my memory serves me correctly). It's an interesting interview with the man himself, covering most of his major works (known in the UK and USA) as well as some you won't have heard. This documentary is also exclusive to the Blu-Ray, and does not appear on the enclosed DVD disc.

Alan Jones: The Critic's Take - is a 28 minute documentary about STAGEFRIGHT and other giallo's. It's fairly informative and enjoyable, and Jones is a pleasant enough chap to spend time in his company with.

Giovanni's Method - is a 20 minute interview with actor Giovanni Lombardo Radice, aka John Morgen, cruelly dubbed-over with a god-awful English accent in STAGEFRIGHT. I've not seen this yet, I'm afraid, so cannot review it here.

A Bloodstained Featherstorm - is a 28m making-of/documentary featurette about STAGEFRIGHT. Again, I've not had the chance to view it, but the bits I skipped through seemed enjoyable enough.

With that all said, buy this disc for the extras, not the film! Just be aware that two of the docs are NOT included on the DVD disc, due to space constraints. The film is rotten, and really doesn't deserve to have been remastered into HD by Exposure Cinema. This is absolutely a film with a better name and reputation than it deserves. Soavi is an okay director, but this is neither his best work, nor even a vaguely competent giallo. The extras, though, are definitely worth your money, and they are why I have ultimately decided to rate this disc with 3-Stars!

P.S. The Blu-Ray starts with a trailer for a forthcoming Exposure Cinema release, ZOMBI HOLOCAUST. Sadly, the trailer cannot be skipped - all four-and-a-half-minutes worth! This is a poor show from this brand-new label! I hope they don't inflict this misery on us for their future releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HALL -OWL- WEEN, 6 Dec. 2002
By 
Daniel S. "Daniel" (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: StageFright [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
The first fiction movie of Michele Soavi is a very good surprise for the amateur of horror flicks. I mean of good horror flicks because, believe me or not, those movies exist but you must have a strong stomach and a lot of patience to discover them amidst the vast choice available. STAGE FRIGHT belongs to the peculiar sub-genre of the psycho-thriller, a genre directly inspired by Agatha Christie's AND THEN THEY WERE NONE. Take a dozen innocent victims and a madman with a mask and that's it.
From these premises on, directors reveal their peculiar skills or interests : some are, to speak frankly, would-be surgeons and like to fill the screen with gallons of blood during 90 minutes, some are more interested in the possibility to discover new ways of killing and the others seem to have accepted the job only in order to pay their taxes. Those directors are of no interest to me so I just skip them.
But Michele Soavi's STAGE FRIGHT reveals an authentic filmmaker. Locked in a theater, nine actors and a director must defend themselves against a madman who's just escaped from the local asylum. Like Jason or HALLOWEEN's Michael Myers, this madman wears a mask, the mask of an owl. And that's really innovative and scary. But completely stupid as the audience knows from the beginning of the movie on that the killer is Irving Wallace (not a spoiler), a serial killer.
So, from the moment one understands that the director's purpose is not to revolutionize the genre but rather to pay an homage to his colleagues and to the best scenes presented so far - in 1987 - , the movie stops being only a scary flick and becomes a wonderful journey through the annals of the cinema of horror. I've particularly liked the homage to THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE, a scene filled with a visual poesy one rarely finds in such movies.
Of course, Soavi didn't have an enormous budget to spend, certain characters don't have much to say and the actors are a little amateurish at times but who cares after all, STAGE FRIGHT delivering a subtle pleasure that blockbusters unfortunately can't give anymore nowadays.
A DVD zone screaming room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coool slasher, 22 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: StageFright [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
The fim offers a gret atmosphere and gory ways to die. It is very well made and has a cool maniac that doesn't only uses a chainsaw, knives....but invents really cruel ways of dying. The acting isn't bad, too. Not a bit cheesy. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TERRIFIC ITALIAN HORROR!, 5 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
STAGEFRIGHT IS A LITTLE GEM OF A HORROR MOVIE. IT'S ABOUT A GROUP OF DANCERS AND ACTORS THAT ARE REHERSING FOR A PLAY IN AN OLD WAREHOUSE. ONE OF THE DANCERS,ALICIA SPRAINS HER ANKLE,SO SHE AND THE WARDROBE MISTRESS BETTY GO TO A NEARBY HOSPITAL TO GET HER ANKLE CHECKED. BUT THE NEAREST HOSPITAL HAPPENS TO BE A MENTAL HOSPITAL.ALICIA HAS HER ANKLE BANDAGED UP AND HER AND BETTY LEAVE THE HOSPITAL,UNAWARE THAT A COLD BLOODED KILLER NAMED IRVING WALLACE HAS JUST ESCAPED THE SAME HOSPITAL AND IS HIDING IN THE BOOT OF BETTY'S CAR.THE TWO GIRLS DRIVE BACK TO THE WAREHOUSE AND ALICIA GOES BACK INSIDE LEAVING BETTY TO BE KILLED BY THE SINISTER KILLER WALLACE. ALICIA GOES BACK OUTSIDE TO SEE WHERE BETTY IS AND DISCOVERS HER MUTILATED CORPSE. SHE RUNS BACK IN THE WAREHOUSE AND ALERTS THE OTHERS TO THE MURDER. THE POLICE ARE CALLED AND THE BODY IS TAKEN AWAY AND EVERONE IS INFORMED THAT WALLACE HAS ESCAPED AND IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE MURDER.THE POLICE SEARCH THE WAREHOUSE AND IT'S GROUNDS,BUT THEY FIND NOTHING AND LEAVE,JUST LEAVING A PATROL CAR OUTSIDE. WHAT FOLLOWS NEXT IS SOME OF THE MOST GRAPHIC AND GRUESOME MURDERS OF THE 80'S AS WALLACE AND THE ACTORS AND DANCERS ARE LOCKED INSIDE THE WAREHOUSE WITH ONLY WALLACE HAVING A KEY,THERE IS NO ESCAPE AND ONE BY ONE THEY FALL VICTIM TO THR DEMENTED KILLER. UNTIL THERE IS ONLY ALICIA LEFT ALIVE AND SHE HAS TO TRY AND OUTWIT THE MADMAN AND FIGHT FOR HER LIFE. WILL SHE LIVE OR WILL SHE BE IRVING WALLACE'S FINAL VICTIM. THIS FILM IS ONE OF THE BEST ITALIAN HORROR FILMS OF THE 80'S AND THE SPECIAL EFFECTS ARE AWESOME. CHECK THIS ONE OUT,AS IT IS REALLY TOP NOTCH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StageFright [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
Amazing movie but sound was not the best .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

StageFright (1987) Limited Edition [DVD and Blu-ray Combo Pack]
£13.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews