Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
This is the best series yet! The cast are so comfortable in their parts, and viewers are now so solidly familiar with the characters, that the writers can get away with having fun with them, with greater irony and a more strongly farcical element. The wedding and honeymoon were richly and humorously disastrous, and yet the love that poor, emotionally damaged Doc Martin...
Published 6 months ago by Aletheuon

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Series Dogged By Poor Audio Mastering
One of my favourite shows of all time, however the audio is extremely bad in parts as it sounds like they are talking in a huge metal pipe giving a metallic echo effect. Has anyone noticed this and do the DVD company intend to do a product recall?
Published 4 months ago by KM WHITEHOUSE


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 6 Feb 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best series yet! The cast are so comfortable in their parts, and viewers are now so solidly familiar with the characters, that the writers can get away with having fun with them, with greater irony and a more strongly farcical element. The wedding and honeymoon were richly and humorously disastrous, and yet the love that poor, emotionally damaged Doc Martin feels for his long-suffering wife is touchingly obvious. Martin Clunes' performance is just wonderful as the irritating, overbearing doctor, with his inability to understand other people or to communicate what he so deeply feels. We can see why he loves Louisa - why she loves him is harder to fathom, but somehow, we love him, and the bunch of glorious eccentrics who surround him in Port Wen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Series Dogged By Poor Audio Mastering, 28 Mar 2014
By 
KM WHITEHOUSE (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
One of my favourite shows of all time, however the audio is extremely bad in parts as it sounds like they are talking in a huge metal pipe giving a metallic echo effect. Has anyone noticed this and do the DVD company intend to do a product recall?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite show ever., 3 Feb 2014
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
This programme is so brilliantly written and acted by the Doc himself (love Martin Clunes anyway) but some characters not so believable or personable. I am biased because I loved Stewart Wright's portrayal of PC Mark Milo and was saddened by his leaving. Joe Penhale is not a patch on him unfortunately. I was very lucky to be staying in Port Isaac when series 5 was being filmed and met the lovely Doc himself - what a nice guy, also Joe Absolom and Ian McNiece also lovely guys. Unfortunately in that series there were a lot of errors with the Doc calling people by their wrong names; Norwenna's grandfather and the school caretaker to name a couple. We were due to be back in Port Isaac for series 6 but had to cancel due to unforseen circumstances and was afraid that would be the last series. Hopefully now we all know how that series ended there will be the opportunity for another as I never get tired of watching it. Think it pretty bad that series 6 was released in the USA before the UK however! All said and done, roll on Doc Martin from your biggest fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gentle and Charming Series, 16 Dec 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
A new series of Doc Martin seems to be a treat we can look forward two every two years. That was how long we had to wait for Season 5 and now there has been a further two year wait for Season 6. However, the good news is that, whereas for a while it did look like Season 5 was to be the last, Martin Clunes recently said that if Series 6 was well received then the show would continue. I would imagine that the script writers would not have any problem writing new stories for the gentle folk of Port Wenn almost indefinitely so hopefully Doc Martin will be with us for some time to come.

Doc Martin was formerly a successful surgeon in London before a phobia for blood drove him to his current position as GP in this sleepy Cornish village in the West of England. With a deadpan face and no apparent people skills, he is not well equipped to deal with the eccentric inhabitants. It is amazing how often a largely expressionless face speaks volumes! One wonders how the long suffering Louise manages to put up with him, but clearly she does as this series opens with them preparing at last for their wedding. However, as we might have expected, things on the day and subsequently run far from smoothly.

As in the last series, child minding arrangements for Baby James are an ongoing issue. This time the Doc falls out with the regular minder, and her temporary replacement does not prove to be entirely satisfactory. Meanwhile, when he is drafted in to take the baby to a mother and toddlers group, he does not seem to blend in very well! Neither does he endear himself with the unfortunate Louisa when he invites her school Chairman of Governors and wife around to dinner - it does not prove to be a perfect evening and this was one of the funnier episodes of the series. However, often the action revolves around other characters such as Bert or PC Penhale and Doc Martin and family are in the background, although the series does finish on a note of high drama.

You really cannot imagine anyone apart from Martin Clunes playing the part of Doc Martin and Port Wenn provides us with a gentle and charming show which we very much look forward to. Personally I do hope that Doc Martin does continue as it is certainly among the best of our TV viewing currently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny still, but a little too nasty, 30 May 2014
By 
Ian Harmer (Lake Tahoe NV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
We've followed Doc Martin faithfully since Episode One, and this series (presumably the last) was a bit of a disappointment. In years past, the doc was blunt and impatient and it made sense because he was a fish out of water frustrated by village eccentricities after years of working in the big city. Now, he's just plain nasty, a rude jerk who in real life would earn a punch on the nose almost every time he opens his mouth. They had the balance about right in the early days, but seem to have lost their way lately. Or maybe the novelty has worn off for us...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Doc's a tonic, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. A. Whiteside "tonyjackie3" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
The sixth series of Doc Martin was the best one since the excellent second series. I thought that the previous two series were good but not as good as the previous efforts. Apart from the first episode which descended into a bit of a farce, this was right at the top of it's game.

A bit more of Bert, not quite so much of PC Penhale, these were plus points and the acting was spot on as usual. Another good thing is the way the series ended which left the way open for a series seven and that can only be a bonus. The scenery was of course superb and you care about the character's and are keen to see how they progress. Doc Martin still has plenty of life in it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unique Doc M., 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Doc Martin Is always magnificent.Portwen is dreamy place and Louisa trys to explain everything beeing human patiently.Me and my son are fan of Doc Martin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, must buy, 4 Jun 2014
By 
A. Hook (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a dream DVD, if you love the other Doc martin episodes then this is a must. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as always!!, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Another series of the most delightful stories, hilarious at times and the sweet love between Doc and Lousia! Very dramatic ending....what a cliff hanger! Bring on series 7!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT BIRTHDAY PRESENT FOR SOMEONE WHO MISSED A FEW EPISODES, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
TWO PEOPLE WHO ACT WELL TO-GETHER. ONE OF THE BEST SERIES ON TV AT THE MOMENT, LAUGHS AND SERIOUSNESS COMBINED. LET US HOPE A NEW SERIES WILL HAPPEN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doc Martin Series 6 [DVD]
Doc Martin Series 6 [DVD] by Paul Seed (DVD - 2014)
14.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews