Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does Series 3 need so many loose ends?
After the opening hook of a violent ambush of police escorting a protected witness, suspicion falls on the only officer to survive unscathed, DI Lindsay Denton. Three aspects set apart the ensuing complex drama: the powerful, well-scripted interrogation scenes, the high quality of acting in which body language reveals so much about personalities and relationships and,...
Published 14 months ago by Antenna

versus
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good but not great drama
The critics have been raving about series two of 'Line Of Duty' with many stating that it is better than anything seen on TV this year. There may have been a few times that I was inclined to agree but to be brutally honest the ending and indeed the last episode were a let down.

This was for the most part a gripping series with a complicated plot and some fine...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. A. Whiteside


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does Series 3 need so many loose ends?, 20 Mar. 2014
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After the opening hook of a violent ambush of police escorting a protected witness, suspicion falls on the only officer to survive unscathed, DI Lindsay Denton. Three aspects set apart the ensuing complex drama: the powerful, well-scripted interrogation scenes, the high quality of acting in which body language reveals so much about personalities and relationships and, above all, the skilful portrayal of Denton by Keeley Hawes, who tantalisingly convinces us by turns of her guilt or innocence.

Perhaps you cannot award less than four stars to a series with such power to grip millions of viewers, and to trigger such large-scale speculation as to who is guilty of what and why. I understand why the author wanted to leave what I think he described as loosely tied bows to pave the way for a third series. However, it seems unsatisfactory to me if people are still asking fundamental questions at the end because they are confused about exactly what happened, and, insofar as they think they understand, there appear to be flaws and contradictions. Apparently, Mercurio himself spotted a vital omission at the last minute, just in time to insert another scene, but there seem to me to be quite a few that he missed from the viewer's angle. It may of course help if, unlike me, one has seen Series 1. At least one would have the advantage of knowing more about some of the characters, such as dodgy detective Dot Cottan or disabled DC Morton who makes a sudden unexplained appearance.

I agree with the many comments and critics who feel that the last episode is a serious let-down - rushed and disjointed, with scenes included too obviously "to sew things up", yet often failing to do so. I agree that it is a cop out to reveal the "truth" in a lengthy flashback, rather than let the facts emerge through ongoing scenes. This is in stark contrast to the development of characters in earlier episodes. There are at least two major flaws concerning Denton in the final weak "denouement".

Perhaps the series could have done with another episode or two to give time both to clarify the intricate plot and to expand on the dysfunctional private lives of the key characters, such as the adulterous Fleming whose family life is on the rocks.

This is, of course, first and foremost a commercial series. This was clear in the dramatic and shocking opening ambush, which after rewinding to watch at least three times, I still found inconsistent in a way that slightly insults the audience by suggesting watchers can be fobbed off with anything as long as it is exciting. Ironically, the fact that the first five episodes are mostly so good raises expectations too high, making the conclusion more of a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A weak ending to a spendid series, 5 Nov. 2014
By 
Terence C. Wall "maths man" (Cambridge. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed series 1 and series 2 is better. The characters have progressed a bit and the role of D.I. Lindsay Denton is superbly played.
I'll not spoil the ending, but the "villain" would certainly not suddenly become stupid enough to be caught so easily, and with the evidence finally available any barely competent counsel would get an acquittal. Perhaps "catching the baddy" was important for a happy ending, but it was not really likely and a bit trite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - but watch Series 1 first., 29 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Watching series 1 first is important to understand the main characters. Series 2 is every bit as good as series 1 with the exception of the ending, which I thought was a complete anti-climax. What started as a gripping drama which made for compelling watching ended in a rushed and confusing ending which made me frequently unwind to try and understand what was going on. But in saying that I am really looking forward to watching series 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best crime dramas around, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Edge-of-the-seat thriller with corruption in the police force, people in positions of responsibility swapping speeding spoints with their spouses (wonder where they got that idea from) and a quite incredible interrogation scene in one episode which keeps the tension going in one tiny room for 17 minutes straight. One of the best crime dramas around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great 2nd series, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Great series - can't wait for the next one. Good plot, great acting. keeps you on the edge of your chair!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great show, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Watched the first of the series and enjoyed it very much and this is just as good. Characters are great and it was a surprise from the first but just as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
We missed the last episodes whilst on holiday, hence the reason for buying the DVD. We weren't disappointed. Brilliant programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present for my Dad, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
He missed this on T.v. but I loved it and knew that he would enjoy it too and he did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Line of duty series 2, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent , superior, police drama. Outstanding production with first rate cast. This is as good as anything
Available in the genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD]
Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] by Martin Compston (DVD - 2014)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews