Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does Series 3 need so many loose ends?
After the opening hook of a violent ambush of police escorting a protected witness, suspicion falls on the only officer to survive unscathed, DI Lindsay Denton. Three aspects set apart the ensuing complex drama: the powerful, well-scripted interrogation scenes, the high quality of acting in which body language reveals so much about personalities and relationships and,...
Published 4 months ago by Antenna

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good but not great drama
The critics have been raving about series two of 'Line Of Duty' with many stating that it is better than anything seen on TV this year. There may have been a few times that I was inclined to agree but to be brutally honest the ending and indeed the last episode were a let down.

This was for the most part a gripping series with a complicated plot and some fine...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. A. Whiteside


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does Series 3 need so many loose ends?, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After the opening hook of a violent ambush of police escorting a protected witness, suspicion falls on the only officer to survive unscathed, DI Lindsay Denton. Three aspects set apart the ensuing complex drama: the powerful, well-scripted interrogation scenes, the high quality of acting in which body language reveals so much about personalities and relationships and, above all, the skilful portrayal of Denton by Keeley Hawes, who tantalisingly convinces us by turns of her guilt or innocence.

Perhaps you cannot award less than four stars to a series with such power to grip millions of viewers, and to trigger such large-scale speculation as to who is guilty of what and why. I understand why the author wanted to leave what I think he described as loosely tied bows to pave the way for a third series. However, it seems unsatisfactory to me if people are still asking fundamental questions at the end because they are confused about exactly what happened, and, insofar as they think they understand, there appear to be flaws and contradictions. Apparently, Mercurio himself spotted a vital omission at the last minute, just in time to insert another scene, but there seem to me to be quite a few that he missed from the viewer's angle. It may of course help if, unlike me, one has seen Series 1. At least one would have the advantage of knowing more about some of the characters, such as dodgy detective Dot Cottan or disabled DC Morton who makes a sudden unexplained appearance.

I agree with the many comments and critics who feel that the last episode is a serious let-down - rushed and disjointed, with scenes included too obviously "to sew things up", yet often failing to do so. I agree that it is a cop out to reveal the "truth" in a lengthy flashback, rather than let the facts emerge through ongoing scenes. This is in stark contrast to the development of characters in earlier episodes. There are at least two major flaws concerning Denton in the final weak "denouement".

Perhaps the series could have done with another episode or two to give time both to clarify the intricate plot and to expand on the dysfunctional private lives of the key characters, such as the adulterous Fleming whose family life is on the rocks.

This is, of course, first and foremost a commercial series. This was clear in the dramatic and shocking opening ambush, which after rewinding to watch at least three times, I still found inconsistent in a way that slightly insults the audience by suggesting watchers can be fobbed off with anything as long as it is exciting. Ironically, the fact that the first five episodes are mostly so good raises expectations too high, making the conclusion more of a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Warning: unbearably suspenseful, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I would wholeheartedly recommend getting seasons one and two together, which would work out cheaper than getting the two series separately. This is a superior police drama and thriller. Be warned, though, it is very suspenseful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as series 1 but still hoping for a series 3, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
For me series one was excellent in every respect and I approached series 2 with the same high expectations. The action was there, the acting just as good and the script ALMOST as convincing. What let it down slightly was a seemingly rushed and unconvincing ending, with too many loose ends and unanswered questions.
The crux of the story was revealled in minimal flashbacks as if the writer had suddenly tired of the whole thing and it just didn't have the pace or breadth of earlier episodes. The complex private lives of the main participants were not addressed at all - perhaps a sign of series 3 pending!
Still it was enjoyable overall and if there is a series 3 I will certainly buy the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great 2nd series, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Great series - can't wait for the next one. Good plot, great acting. keeps you on the edge of your chair!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great show, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Watched the first of the series and enjoyed it very much and this is just as good. Characters are great and it was a surprise from the first but just as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
We missed the last episodes whilst on holiday, hence the reason for buying the DVD. We weren't disappointed. Brilliant programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present for my Dad, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
He missed this on T.v. but I loved it and knew that he would enjoy it too and he did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Line of duty series 2, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent , superior, police drama. Outstanding production with first rate cast. This is as good as anything
Available in the genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD]
Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] by Martin Compston (DVD - 2014)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews