Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Boasts Superior Acting, Mousetrap Timing, Breathtaking Twists and Turns Galore
LINE OF DUTY, Series 2, 2014.The acclaimed British television series returns for a second series, with a new police corruption story told over six episodes. In this BBC-produced crime drama, a police convoy is ambushed and a protected witness seriously injured; DI Lindsay Denton (Keeley Hawes, MI-5) is the sole surviving officer. She is at first the most valuable witness,...
Published 4 days ago by Stephanie De Pue

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good but not great drama
The critics have been raving about series two of 'Line Of Duty' with many stating that it is better than anything seen on TV this year. There may have been a few times that I was inclined to agree but to be brutally honest the ending and indeed the last episode were a let down.

This was for the most part a gripping series with a complicated plot and some fine...
Published 5 months ago by Mr. A. Whiteside


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Boasts Superior Acting, Mousetrap Timing, Breathtaking Twists and Turns Galore, 29 Aug 2014
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
LINE OF DUTY, Series 2, 2014.The acclaimed British television series returns for a second series, with a new police corruption story told over six episodes. In this BBC-produced crime drama, a police convoy is ambushed and a protected witness seriously injured; DI Lindsay Denton (Keeley Hawes, MI-5) is the sole surviving officer. She is at first the most valuable witness, but soon becomes the prime suspect of the Anti-Corruption Unit (AC12) we met in the first British mysteries series. This box set consists of 6 episodes on 2 DVDs, running approximately 369 minutes plus bonus programing. Including behind-the-scenes footage, deleted and extended scenes and interviews with the cast and crew. For mature audiences only please. With subtitles, which are very helpful, thank you RLJ Entertainment/Acorn: the cast speaks clear Queen’s English, but with great speed, in tune with the show. I received this as a review copy.

It is AC12’s job to catch criminals, similarly to other police: but the unit catches them in the cop shop. The ambush of the police convoy has left three cops dead, in addition to the protected witness seriously injured. Inevitably, in this police procedural, the unit will begin to look on DI Denton with suspicion. The unit, which we met before, includes Superintendent Ted Hastings, (the veteran Adrian Dunbar, THE CRYING GAME, ASHES TO ASHES); partners Detective Sergeant Steve Arnott, (Martin Compston, MONARCH OF THE GLEN, THE GREAT TRAIN ROBBERY), and Detective Constable Kate Fleming (Vicky McClure, BROADCHURCH, THIS IS ENGLAND). Keeley Hawes, (MI-5, UPSTAIRS DOWNSTAIRS, ASHES TO ASHES) as DI Lindsay Denton, the prime target of their investigation, is a revelation. As a younger woman, this extremely beautiful actress appeared in many, many British television series: but with the addition of a few years and a few pounds, she plays the 36-year old detective under suspicion with immense power and gravitas, and carries the production manfully. As the unit investigates the ambush on the convoy, it seems they must look higher in the police hierarchy to find its instigator. The episodes are:
Disc 1
EPISODE 1
After the ambush of the convoy, investigation begins to center on DI Lindsay Denton, its sole survivor. Why did Denton allow it to proceed without backup or firearms? Why did she take the roundabout route she did? How did the ambush team know its whereabouts? Denton quickly goes from valuable witness to prime suspect.

EPISODE 2
Evidence against the detective begins to mount, but she won't go down without a fight. She becomes increasingly erratic, but is able to uncover past actions of her investigators,—DS Arnott, DC Fleming, and Superintendent Hastings—that put them on the defensive.

EPISODE 3
Denton is targeted while in prison awaiting trial, and receives shockingly brutal treatment. She tells Fleming why she thinks she is being set up. Meanwhile, the mutilated body of a teenage girl is found buried beneath the floor of a disused industrial garage with ties to the case.
Disc 2
EPISODE 4
Denton alleges a high-level conspiracy and cover-up. She is granted special dispensation to leave prison to visit her dying mother; AC12 realizes she is a target for the perpetrators of the crime.

EPISODE 5
Denton fights for her life; details emerge of her relationship with a senior police officer. Hastings must confront a superior who holds the superintendent's future in his hands.

EPISODE 6
More facts about the ambush start to emerge; Denton seems to have found an advocate and ally in Arnott. Fleming , however, does not agree with her partner, and is determined to find him wrong.

This addictive series boasts superior acting, mousetrap timing, breathtaking twists and turns galore, up to the last second, and has been called “the most tightly-plotted and nerve-shredding drama seen on British television in years” by the (London) Daily Mail. These six episodes of Series 2 have been compared to BROADCHURCH and PRIME SUSPECT, earned even better ratings than the first series, which was BBC Two’s best performing drama series in 10 years. The British press raved about it. And me? After years and years of grinding my teeth watching ridiculous female characters scream for help as hero and villain fight to the death, wanting to scream myself to the woman, “Please, please, just pick up that heavy lamp and bash the guy on the head,” I have suddenly discovered several wonderful female-headed crime series in which the girls give as good as they get. Including this one. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does Series 3 need so many loose ends?, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After the opening hook of a violent ambush of police escorting a protected witness, suspicion falls on the only officer to survive unscathed, DI Lindsay Denton. Three aspects set apart the ensuing complex drama: the powerful, well-scripted interrogation scenes, the high quality of acting in which body language reveals so much about personalities and relationships and, above all, the skilful portrayal of Denton by Keeley Hawes, who tantalisingly convinces us by turns of her guilt or innocence.

Perhaps you cannot award less than four stars to a series with such power to grip millions of viewers, and to trigger such large-scale speculation as to who is guilty of what and why. I understand why the author wanted to leave what I think he described as loosely tied bows to pave the way for a third series. However, it seems unsatisfactory to me if people are still asking fundamental questions at the end because they are confused about exactly what happened, and, insofar as they think they understand, there appear to be flaws and contradictions. Apparently, Mercurio himself spotted a vital omission at the last minute, just in time to insert another scene, but there seem to me to be quite a few that he missed from the viewer's angle. It may of course help if, unlike me, one has seen Series 1. At least one would have the advantage of knowing more about some of the characters, such as dodgy detective Dot Cottan or disabled DC Morton who makes a sudden unexplained appearance.

I agree with the many comments and critics who feel that the last episode is a serious let-down - rushed and disjointed, with scenes included too obviously "to sew things up", yet often failing to do so. I agree that it is a cop out to reveal the "truth" in a lengthy flashback, rather than let the facts emerge through ongoing scenes. This is in stark contrast to the development of characters in earlier episodes. There are at least two major flaws concerning Denton in the final weak "denouement".

Perhaps the series could have done with another episode or two to give time both to clarify the intricate plot and to expand on the dysfunctional private lives of the key characters, such as the adulterous Fleming whose family life is on the rocks.

This is, of course, first and foremost a commercial series. This was clear in the dramatic and shocking opening ambush, which after rewinding to watch at least three times, I still found inconsistent in a way that slightly insults the audience by suggesting watchers can be fobbed off with anything as long as it is exciting. Ironically, the fact that the first five episodes are mostly so good raises expectations too high, making the conclusion more of a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - but watch Series 1 first., 29 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Watching series 1 first is important to understand the main characters. Series 2 is every bit as good as series 1 with the exception of the ending, which I thought was a complete anti-climax. What started as a gripping drama which made for compelling watching ended in a rushed and confusing ending which made me frequently unwind to try and understand what was going on. But in saying that I am really looking forward to watching series 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as series 1 but still hoping for a series 3, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
For me series one was excellent in every respect and I approached series 2 with the same high expectations. The action was there, the acting just as good and the script ALMOST as convincing. What let it down slightly was a seemingly rushed and unconvincing ending, with too many loose ends and unanswered questions.
The crux of the story was revealled in minimal flashbacks as if the writer had suddenly tired of the whole thing and it just didn't have the pace or breadth of earlier episodes. The complex private lives of the main participants were not addressed at all - perhaps a sign of series 3 pending!
Still it was enjoyable overall and if there is a series 3 I will certainly buy the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great 2nd series, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Great series - can't wait for the next one. Good plot, great acting. keeps you on the edge of your chair!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great show, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Watched the first of the series and enjoyed it very much and this is just as good. Characters are great and it was a surprise from the first but just as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
We missed the last episodes whilst on holiday, hence the reason for buying the DVD. We weren't disappointed. Brilliant programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present for my Dad, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
He missed this on T.v. but I loved it and knew that he would enjoy it too and he did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Line of duty series 2, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent , superior, police drama. Outstanding production with first rate cast. This is as good as anything
Available in the genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD]
Line of Duty Series 2 [DVD] by Martin Compston (DVD - 2014)
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews