Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars10
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.02
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2014
I found this very boring. No real story - not enough detail about the many characters for them to become recognised easily.
33 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
The story itself was a bit weak, could have gone into a lot more depth on all the characters, not sure if the author is British or not, there were lots of punctuation errors which ment re-reading sections for it to make sense
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
Love this book, try it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Enjoyed the read but a small part of the story faded and I had to re-read the odd page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2014
Enjoyed !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Good book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
Descriptive, but too much so in the chapter describing the brutal murder of a child, which was so unexpected, I admit I nearly abandoned the book because it sickened me. I was looking for a gentle read about characters living in France and apart from this section, that's what it was in the main. For me it ruined an otherwise good story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
Another beautifully constructed novel from this new author. Again the story is seen from a variety of perspectives, with details building a complete picture of the community the characters inhabit. In this the French countryside is seen mainly through the eyes of a group of ex-pats, giving an outsider's view of the landscape, culture and community. Each character has a different reason for seeking the privacy and solace of a foreign land, and some of these dark secrets are openly explored as the story reaches it's climax at the festival of cherries. Each character has a strong and distinct voice which lends an honesty to their view of their community and their own pasts. I would recommend this author unreservedly.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
This story was so full of images of France and complex stories of Ex pats lives that I could really see myself there becoming part of the story. A great read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
After a slightly slow start, I got really involved in the story. I enjoyed the different perspectives and the way they è were woven together.

Then it just STOPPED! So many threads just left hanging. Very disappointing. Is there a sequel planned, or did Mandy just get bored with the story?

I must confess I bought the Kindle book because we have spent a holiday near Perpignan and now have a holiday home in another part of France, where there are a number of British ex-pats.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.