Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No screaming Les Paul's but full of fantastic guitars!, 29 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Holy Ghost (Audio CD)
Marc Ford "Holy Ghost"

For people who are not so familiar with the name Marc Ford will surely know "The Black Crowes". He was a member of this band from the 2nd album on and recorded several CD's with them. He has released four other solo albums and with the exception of the 2010 released (but 2007 recorded) "Fuzz Machine" they are all available on CD. Marc was also a member of Ben Harper's tour band and over the years he was asked by others to produce them.

With "Holy Ghost" Marc Ford has released an album full of strong recordings and well written songs. Some things are new and differ from older recordings. For example you won't find the album under "Blues Rock" 'cause it's more "Americana" sounding. Or that you will hear no screaming Les Paul's or Strat's on the album or any Fuzz guitars but a subtile guitar playing you will love more and more with every listen.
Alongside Marc and the Phantom Limb guitarists Luke Cawthra and Stew Jackson it's Marc Ford's son Elijah Ford who is responsible for the fantastic guitar sounds and you don't need to be a prophet to see that there will be more to come from this talent in the future. His mother Kirsten (and Marc's wife) sings background vocals as did Marc's buddy Chris Lizotte.

With the help of the english band "Phantom Limb" Marc Ford recorded for the first time in England where his new record company is coming from, too. (Naim Edge). Marc produced Phantom Limb's last album and the co-operation must have been so fruitful that he wanted to have that band to back him up on "Holy Ghost".

Marc Ford wrote all the 12 tracks on the album and people who know Marc's first solo CD "It's About Time" will find parallelisms in some of the songs. The Lap Steel is as prominent on some songs as it is the Slide Guitar and there is a Hammond Organ in the background or a Fender Rhodes Piano but "Holy Ghost" has an almost only acoustically character or better it sounded like that.

The lyrics on "Holy Ghost" are among the best Marc ever has written.
He found his way to god and lives a more healthier life now and you can hear that he's more in a balance and that can be heard on "Holy Ghost". But Marc Ford isn't preaching or praying or telling people what to do but otherwise the lyrics are autobiographical and spiritual and like every good songwriter Marc describes what's goin on around him.

Marc and his band recorded and mixed a song for this album called "All Over You" who didn't make it to the album in the end but the lyrics show where Marc Ford is "standing" now.

“You can’t hurt me now, I’m all out of tears…
I have reached an end of feeling so blue.
You can’t hurt me now, I’m all over you.” -from the song "All Over You"

(You can download the song from Marc's website marcfordmusicdotcom or from the "Naim Edge" site on Soundcloud. Here you can learn about other artists of the label, too. )

The digipak lacks the lyrics but this is the only negative thing I can say about "Holy Ghost". ::cs::
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simply beautiful album from ex Black Crowes guitarist Marc Ford, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Ghost (Audio CD)
A simply beautiful album from ex Black Crowes guitarist Marc Ford. Produced by Stew Jackson of Phamtom Limb this album for my money is the best Americana release so far this year. Marc has clearly had his devils and live is amazingly open about his failings, these songs reflect on that. If you like your music 'real' invest in this...you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 15 April 2014
By 
Mr. R. Powell (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holy Ghost (Audio CD)
I only knew Fords stuff from The Black Crowes, an excellent guitarist who clearly knew how to cut it in one of the best bands of the nineties, but after he left that band I lost track of him. Then, the other week, I read an article about him in Classic Rock magazine where they described how he had discovered this acoustic side to his music and waxed lyrical about this new album. Well, they were right to wax lyrical, this is a beautiful album, a real throw back to the classic early 70's sounds of the Laurel Canyon singer song writers. You can hear Neil Young in there (That's Harvest Neil, not Ragged Glory Neil), CSN&Y, Bob Dylan, Jackson Browne and even The Eagles sneak in there on Just A Girl. At times his voice sounds like a mix of Neil Young and Lou Reed, that melancholy sound they can both express. I'm sure Lou Reed would be horrified to be thrown in with the Laurel Canyon gang, but, to me that how it sounds. The whole album has that overall melancholy feel to it with barely an electric guitar in sight. Plenty of acoustic guitars, a banjo here and there, a pedal steel and the odd fender Rhodes. This is the perfect album to listen to as the longer finer April evenings set in. If the laid back acoustic troubadour is your kind of thing then check this out you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warm and light-giving, 14 April 2014
By 
Nick (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Ghost (Audio CD)
I've been trying out a bit of Marc Ford recently, thinking that, since the Black Crowes albums with him on were easily their best, maybe he had something of his own he'd brought to the table. And that's certainly proving to be the case, this - my first purchase of his - got the soulfulness and melodicism of prime Crowes, but now with added licks of Country/Americana and the subtleties and restraint of maturity/hard-won wisdom.

This album's like the slow-burning, low-burning embers of a wood fire, glowing warmly from deep within, occasionally spraying out bright plumes of sparks. I've not had it long but know I'll be returning to it for a long time. If you're umming and aahing, check out the video for 'Blue Sky' online; that's the song that hooked me in, and'll give you a flavour of the spirit of this album. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You could be missing out., 1 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. Nicholas Moore (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Ghost [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Just got back from seeing him at Bristol where he performed most of this album, a great night and great album, maybe not what Black Crows fans would want but they could be missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Ghost (Audio CD)
Beautiful songs, I've been listening to this every day going to and from work - a great way to start the day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure....., 13 Oct. 2014
By 
J. Willis (London, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Ghost (Audio CD)
The last Marc Ford album i bought was 2007's 'Weary & Wired', which i thought had some good songs on, but ultimately that the weakest element was his vocals. By moving away from the blues-rock of that album and taking his foot off the gas somewhat, the Americana sound of 'Holy Ghost' is much more suited to his weathered voice. The homespun nature of this album reminds me of the work of Mark Olson(The Jayhawks), which isn't really that much of a surprise as back in the 90's Marc Ford played a big part on The Creekdippers 'Pacific Coast Rambler'. So maybe they are kindred spirits of a kind. It's no understatement to say that 'Holy Ghost' might well be Marc Ford's finest album so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic melodic album from Marc Ford, 17 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Holy Ghost (Audio CD)
Fantastic melodic album from Marc Ford. No blazing guitars as you may have expected but some beautifully written songs, often accoustic. Ford is obviously a superb songwriter. One of the best surprises I have purchased. This album was nothing like i expected it to be but is actually far better. Best album ive bought in 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a departure from the blues, but still a class act, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Ghost (Audio CD)
This album is slightly different to the Neptune Blues club stuff as it is a lot folkier. It is very laid back but I always thought that Marc Ford's guitar playing was so, even in quite heavy blues or rock songs. The playing is still top notch and there is a lot of nice slide guitar to accompany the acoustic and electric stuff. The vocals are more introspective but thoughtful; the whole vibe is nice to experience and interesting to listen to. I saw the accompanying tour which was awesome as I have been waiting for him to visit the UK for a long time. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holy Ghost
Holy Ghost by Marc Ford
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews