Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent MythTV frontend
I needed a new MythTV frontend because my old hardware died spectacularly. I needed something I could get going quickly, which meant minimum fiddling with drivers, etc.

Based on a bit of reading round, I got this box and installed Ubuntu 14 (Trusty) with the latest MythTV (0.27), and it all went perfectly. Intel's support site ([...]) has the one small tweak...
Published 2 months ago by Stephen

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Has some problems
Expensive for a mini / compact PC, with other components to make this work I spent about 400.

There are also some known issues with USB's , really disappointed as I can't turn this on unless I take out all the USB devices.

Item returned and decided to spend 200 on another mini pc box instead. Same features, speed, no issues and running...
Published 2 months ago by 16bitdude


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Has some problems, 11 Jun 2014
This review is from: Intel NUC Ultra Compact Barebone PC (Core i3 4010U, 1x mSATA, 2x SO-DIMM DDR3L, 2x USB 3.0, Mini HDMI, Mini DisplayPort) (Accessory)
Expensive for a mini / compact PC, with other components to make this work I spent about 400.

There are also some known issues with USB's , really disappointed as I can't turn this on unless I take out all the USB devices.

Item returned and decided to spend 200 on another mini pc box instead. Same features, speed, no issues and running flawlessly.

Priced to high and doesn't work properly for a production item.

edit: I will be purchasing this again soon! Intel have released another Firmware update, some people have reported success while others haven't . We'll see...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent MythTV frontend, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intel NUC Ultra Compact Barebone PC (Core i3 4010U, 1x mSATA, 2x SO-DIMM DDR3L, 2x USB 3.0, Mini HDMI, Mini DisplayPort) (Accessory)
I needed a new MythTV frontend because my old hardware died spectacularly. I needed something I could get going quickly, which meant minimum fiddling with drivers, etc.

Based on a bit of reading round, I got this box and installed Ubuntu 14 (Trusty) with the latest MythTV (0.27), and it all went perfectly. Intel's support site ([...]) has the one small tweak needed (to get the IR receiver working with lirc), and everything else Just Works.

Make sure you update to the latest BIOS, I read that early versions had a problem booting Linux. And note you don't get an IR remote control (I'm just continuing to use my old one). But I knew this before I ordered.

Overall I'm very pleased, it does the job and looks good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, the only reason I'm giving it only ..., 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intel NUC Ultra Compact Barebone PC (Core i3 4010U, 1x mSATA, 2x SO-DIMM DDR3L, 2x USB 3.0, Mini HDMI, Mini DisplayPort) (Accessory)
Great product, the only reason I'm giving it only four stars is because it feels a bit too slow sometimes with the i3's low Frequency and no Turbo Boost. Once you add in the cost of all other components (HDD, WiFi card, Memory) it's not a cheap PC so I'd recommend spending a bit extra on the i5! You'll get a lot more pleasure out of it ;) It also has a better built-in graphics card if you wonna play the odd game. Before it I had an i3 3225 (Ivy Bridge Dual-Core 3.3GHz) HTPC and was very happy with it, but this one has a much lower frequency and it shows unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ESXi, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intel NUC Ultra Compact Barebone PC (Core i3 4010U, 1x mSATA, 2x SO-DIMM DDR3L, 2x USB 3.0, Mini HDMI, Mini DisplayPort) (Accessory)
Brilliant little box. Using a couple of these as my home ESXi Lab. Up to 16GB memory, and almost silent running is a winner.

If you cant get ESXi to build or find NICS, take a look at

www.virten.net/2013/09/esxi-5-x-installation-on-intel-nuc-fails-with-no-network-adapters/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intel NUC Ultra Compact Barebone PC (Core i3 4010U, 1x mSATA, 2x SO-DIMM DDR3L, 2x USB 3.0, Mini HDMI, Mini DisplayPort) (Accessory)
Really small, really quiet. No doubt about it, worth the money. Makes for a great HTPC (combine with XBMC / OpenElec) and you have a fantastic piece of kit.

Notes:
- Update the BIOS! (downloadcenter.intel.com). Find the latest by searching with model number. Save file to USB stick, boot into BIOS, F7 (I think) and select file on mem stick. Only takes a few mins tops.

- Don't forget this has no HDD/SSD (Essential), RAM (Essential) or WiFi (Optional).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intel NUC Ultra Compact Barebone PC (Core i3 4010U, 1x mSATA, 2x SO-DIMM DDR3L, 2x USB 3.0, Mini HDMI, Mini DisplayPort) (Accessory)
Brilliant brilliant brilliant compute nodes- fast, stable and cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for HTPC, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intel NUC Ultra Compact Barebone PC (Core i3 4010U, 1x mSATA, 2x SO-DIMM DDR3L, 2x USB 3.0, Mini HDMI, Mini DisplayPort) (Accessory)
Currently running openelec and its superb for this purpose. Plenty of power and the inbuilt IR make it the ideal HTPC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intel NUC Ultra Compact Barebone PC (Core i3 4010U, 1x mSATA, 2x SO-DIMM DDR3L, 2x USB 3.0, Mini HDMI, Mini DisplayPort) (Accessory)
It's a fantastic device. Currently running as an HTPC with OpenELEC and an Intel Wireless AC card for network. Works great with everything I can throw at it (4K video too!) and is blazingly fast and silky smooth! Love the integrated IR and can even turn it on and off with a remote after following the guide here: [...]

Get one, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Will not boot with USB3 devices attached, 9 Mar 2014
This review is from: Intel NUC Ultra Compact Barebone PC (Core i3 4010U, 1x mSATA, 2x SO-DIMM DDR3L, 2x USB 3.0, Mini HDMI, Mini DisplayPort) (Accessory)
A known issue that Intel still havent fixed. Also has secondary issue that it will not boot unless a monitor is attached, making it useless as a headless server.

Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intel NUC Ultra Compact Barebone PC (Core i3 4010U, 1x mSATA, 2x SO-DIMM DDR3L, 2x USB 3.0, Mini HDMI, Mini DisplayPort) (Accessory)
What more can I say. These are just the perfect PC’s. Highly recommend getting one. An i3 PC that fits in the palm of my hand and only costs about 4 pence a day to run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews