Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hidden gem of Italian Comedy cinema
Il Sorpasso is a term that I've heard since childhood. Ever since I became interested in film at the age of thirteen, this title has constantly been mentioned by my father as a must see film. Endlessly he has heaped praise on a film that he had seen nearly 40 years previously.

After spending more than a decade trying to track down this film, after viewing a...
Published 14 days ago by spaceodds

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Subtitles
There were no English subtitles with the DVD.
Since I don't speak Italian, my husband and I could not view it.
Published 17 months ago by Goran Sorman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Subtitles, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Il Sorpasso (CE) (2 Dvd) (DVD)
There were no English subtitles with the DVD.
Since I don't speak Italian, my husband and I could not view it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hidden gem of Italian Comedy cinema, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criterion Collection: Il Sorpasso [Blu-ray] [1962] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Il Sorpasso is a term that I've heard since childhood. Ever since I became interested in film at the age of thirteen, this title has constantly been mentioned by my father as a must see film. Endlessly he has heaped praise on a film that he had seen nearly 40 years previously.

After spending more than a decade trying to track down this film, after viewing a terrible French DVD edition (WITHOUT English Soutires) I simply decided to give up. Then finally after 52 years the great Criterion company announced that this title will be released, I was simply jumping for joy. Now after 17 years of listening to my dad's praise for this film, I finally decided to watch this with clear English subtitles on a clear and pristine print.

To cut a long story short; the film is sensational.

Bruno a middle aged fun and easy going wheeler and dealer meets the young and shy Roberto, an Italian law student. Before he knows it, Bruno has wheeled his way into Roberto's appartment and he takes the young man on a road journey. Teaching the young lad on life, love and opening his eyes to the real world.

Road movies are a staplemark of 60s and 70s cinema, everything from Easy Rider to Wim Wenders' Kings of the Road, have dealt with themes and subjects out in the spacious open road. Some have been revolutionary, whilst some have been a portrait of a slice of life. Il Sorpasso is very much the latter. A typical relatable story set in a beautiful bygone era during the Italian boom of the early 60s, on the surface we have a film that is fun and shows the guilty pleasures of life. However it also deals with Italian society being swept up by the boom and abandoning their traditional family orientated mentality for a shallow and individualistic mind set.

Yet again Criterion have excelled themselves. Seriously the only reason I decided to upgrade to a multi region blu-ray player was due to the Criterion catalogue. The blu ray offers a digitally remastered print that is pristine and very watchable. The mono audio has also been cleaned up and offers clarity, whilst the set of extras on hand are informative and intriguing.

Il Sorpasso is a must see for Italian film lovers; a brilliantly paced, hillarious gem backed up by brilliant performances from both Gassman and Trintignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars il sorpasso, 29 Sep 2011
This review is from: Sorpasso (Il) (DVD)
this is a masterpiece of Italian cinema , and also one of the few films where you can see the beautiful smile of an astonishing actor like J.L. Trintignant. Gassman is superb as an actor, coming from the old school of theatre, one of the few great that a small amount of people know outside Italy , but a legend for the few, just like Anna Magnani, Toto, De Filippo and many more. This dvd is essential for the serious collector, and also for the people who study the art of cinema .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Trintignant and Gassman are a great team. Takes you back to the booming Italy ..., 21 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. G. J. Fisher (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very entertaining. Trintignant and Gassman are a great team. Takes you back to the booming Italy of the sixties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware, this DVD is in Italian and has NO English subtitles!, 26 Feb 2014
By 
PhillyJQ (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorpasso (Il) (DVD)
Saw the film over 40 years ago, and loved it! Very funny, but poignant. A tour-de-force by Vittorio Gassman, and a marvelously studied, developing role by Jean Louis Trintignant. Some day I'll find "Il Sorpasso" (or "the Easy Life") with English subtitles! Or, I could learn Italian just for the sheer joy of that language!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Criterion Collection: Il Sorpasso [Blu-ray] [1962] [US Import]
24.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews