Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Winner!, 9 Mar 2014
By 
Pavel Tsvetkov (Bulgaria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audio-Technica ATH-M50X Studio Monitor Professional Headphones - Black (Electronics)
PROS
1. Sound quality. Highs are crisp, but not too bright; mids are good; bass is punchy and tight. It is difficult to find *better* sounding headphones in this price segment.
2. Build. They are very solidly built and ergonomics are great. There is no complex suspending system, so there is nothing to break.
3. Very comfortable. These are over the ears (as opposed to on-ears) headphones, so there is no unpleasant pressure. The new ear pads are very soft, and the headband is enveloped in the same soft material.
4. Portability. Both cups rotate horizontally 180, and they fold vertically, to make the headphone's dimensions quite small and portable-friendly. The supplied pouch comes in handy.
5. Unlike their predecessors, the ATH-M50X arrive with three detachable cables: a long straight one (you can use it to connect to a source that is further away), a short straight one (very handy when connecting to a smartphone, or if your computer is located very near to where you sit), and a medium-length coiled one (for mixed purposes). The insert-and-turn locking system secures the cable to the left cup.
6. No sound leakage. These are closed-back headphones, so you can use them in a room, filled with people, or while commuting, without the need to worry that you might disturb someone.
7. With an impedance of 38 ohms you do not need a headphone amp to drive them.

CONS
1. Cable connectors are proprietary. But then again you get three cables in the box, so it is unlikely that you will be looking to buy new cables any time soon.
2. At 285 g (10 oz) plus the cable, the ATH-M50X are a little heavier than similar-sized headphones I have owned. But making them lighter would most probably affect build quality.
3. I have watched video reviews, making the argument that the ATH-M50X are not exactly audiophile quality (that is, their response is not as 'flat' and 'neutral', as it should be). This could indeed be the case, as Audio-Technica has other models (like the ATH-A900X), positioned in the higher and more expensive segment, but the latter are not meant to be carried around or enjoyed in the street. In my opinion ATH-M50X have been built to produce enjoyable (rather than analytical) sound. Consider this carefully.

CONCLUSION
When all of the above have been taken into consideration, Audio-Technica ATH-M50X might be the best value for money headphone on the market today.
1. They may not sound as neutral as AKG 702 (but the latter are not portable, there is serious sound leakage, and you cannot drive them adequately with your smartphone).
2. They are not cable-free or as light as the Bluetooth Sony MDR-1BT, but the ATH-M50X sound much better.
3. Audio-Technica ATH-M50X is the overall winner if you are looking for enjoyable full-bodied sound, sturdy build, detachable cables, and a no-nonsense look. You simply cannot go wrong with them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Premium Headphones, 14 May 2014
By 
A. Camilleri - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Audio-Technica ATH-M50X Studio Monitor Professional Headphones - Black (Electronics)
The ATH-M50X really ooze quality. Their sleek design, top notch build quality and performance reflects great attention to detail.

These studio headphones deliver amazing crisp sound with excellent balance from treble to bass whilst retaining loads of detail. I particularly find the bass sounds so deep and only matched by much more expensive headphones. And be it classical or rock, these drivers will handle anything you throw at them with ease, rewarding you with an immersing musical experience.

The ATH-M50X are built to last, thanks to the sturdy materials and solid build quality. The 3 supplied cables are reinforced at the extremities and fit snugly and securely to the headphones.

The other two variants have a non removable cable and are the ATH-M50 which comes with a coiled cable and the ATH-M50s, where "s" means that the cable is straight. All 3 versions produce identical high quality sound.

I simply love these headphones! And at this price, they definitely don't come any better.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audio-Technica ATH-M50X Studio Monitor Professional Headphones - Black (Electronics)
Superb in every way. Clear top end, great vocals, deep and crisp bass. At this price point they are a must have. Worth the extra 20 over the ATH-M50 as the changeable cables are great for a variety of uses.

Reading this is now wasting your time, you could ordered them by now :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! High Hopes Exceeded., 25 July 2014
By 
J. Saunders "Supplanter357" (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audio-Technica ATH-M50X Studio Monitor Professional Headphones - Black (Electronics)
I had to write up about these, like everyone else! I was really expecting something from these and I had mega hopes. I ordered the original model first and then cancelled for these. I plugged in to my Mac, opened Spotify (I stream in extreme) and then played a random track.. I was utterly like WTF! I was not expecting this. The sound is incredible to me. So clear and crisp, I don't know why people moan about the bass! These are finally something that make the bass sound part of the music and not boom boom over everything else. There is so much more detail in music now its unreal. I then plugged in a DacMagic XS which I got at the same time and I can't even put it in to words. I have always been really in to my music and had no idea how much I was missing out on. Best money I have ever spent! I am now going to carry on getting merry... Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audio-Technica ATH-M50X Studio Monitor Professional Headphones - Black (Electronics)
Amazing headphones with great sound quality and good build quality, keeping the price in mind. Some thing to keep in mind is that this is a balanced headphone, bass heads might not approve of it, but i love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great headphones., 4 July 2014
By 
William A. Sarginson "gojira1975" (Ipswich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audio-Technica ATH-M50X Studio Monitor Professional Headphones - Black (Electronics)
These are awesome. I'm no audiophile, but these are a world apart from my old headphones and the difference was phenomenal. For the price, these are absolutely awesome. No complaints here whatsoever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars big up, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audio-Technica ATH-M50X Studio Monitor Professional Headphones - Black (Electronics)
bangin headphones for producing + very strong, removable cable is even more useful than I thought it would be, straight up really good buy and will keep these for a long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly clear headphones, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audio-Technica ATH-M50X Studio Monitor Professional Headphones - Black (Electronics)
I purchased these headphones after much consideration. I read and watched many reviews before deciding on this particular pair and I'm glad I did. My music has never sounded as good as it does through these headphones.

They do not exaggerate your music in any way, the low tones the mid tones and the high tones are all as perfectly recreated by these headphones as the source. It's really remarkable how high quality the sound is from these considering their price.

I would not hesitate to recommend these to anybody. I bought through Amazon and if you're on the fence about these buy it, try it out and if you're not amazed you can return them, I bet you won't return them though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audio-Technica ATH-M50X Studio Monitor Professional Headphones - Black (Electronics)
In one word, amazing. I owned the ATH-M50 for roughly 6 months before these were released, I decided to sell my M50 and purchase these for the 1.2m straight cable. A great buying experience, arrived very quickly. I bought these for around 5 less than the M50 which is good.

The ATH-M50X feels softer than the M50. The ability to swap the cables is fantastic. The earcups are softer and have more padding. They feel quite a lot better than the M50. The cables also look and feel a little bit better than the one on the M50. The sound is just as incredible as the M50. If you don't own a pair of M50s then you should definitely go for this. ATH-M50X is a polished version of the M50. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid Cans..!!!, 27 Jun 2014
This review is from: Audio-Technica ATH-M50X Studio Monitor Professional Headphones - Black (Electronics)
This is an audiophile headphone for the masses, you'll not likely believe the sound quality your device is actually capable of until you try these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews