Customer Reviews


609 Reviews
5 star:
 (373)
4 star:
 (153)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best British Military Sci-Fi That I've Read
Nuttall is a bit of a find I'm glad to say in this sub genre. Sci-fi has a huge range of styles and genres with hundreds of authors - sadly most of them punting out utterly unreadable pap. The military sci-fi seems to be particularly badly affected with the majority of (American) authors punting out risible garbage. I've started many books only to give up in dispair after...
Published 7 months ago by M. G. Chisholm

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars By far the best self published novel I've read - but really needs a good editor
As the title says, this really is the best self published novel I've ever read - most of those don't even deserve a 1 star review.
It is a good read with a well thought out, gripping storyline but the lack of an editor - or even a really good proofreader - is glaringly obvious at times and keeps throwing me out of the story.

Couple of examples;...
Published 7 months ago by Pb


‹ Previous | 148 49 5061 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 7 Jun 2014
This review is from: Ark Royal (Kindle Edition)
a read of not to much concentration or thought provoking.yet is readable when nothing else is available at substance of the story poor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ark Royal (Kindle Edition)
Badly written, poorly plotted, with cardboard characters. Here are some more words to complete the review. Even more words, OK?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 Aug 2014
By 
Simon Prior (Plainfield, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ark Royal (Kindle Edition)
If you like good old fashioned space opera you'll enjoy this book and it's sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ark Royal (Kindle Edition)
Loved it! This reminded me of the film master and commander. Cracking read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nice length for the price given it is a, 31 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ark Royal (Kindle Edition)
An average space romp, nice length for the price given it is a ebook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ark Royal (Kindle Edition)
Great book currently on the 2nd one you will read that as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a good book, need to read the next, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ark Royal (Kindle Edition)
took this on spec, what a good book, need to read the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OK, so it needs another edit...., 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ark Royal (Kindle Edition)
I would encourage readers to concentrate on the story rather than the composition. Yes there are typos and repetition that would get picked up by an editor but in the context of a KDP offering I can't fault it. It has all the elements of a stonking good yarn and Mr Nuttall delivers. I found it pleasingly unpredictable and a serious screen toucher (page turner?). I honestly cannot wait for a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 5 April 2014
By 
Aldebaran (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ark Royal (Kindle Edition)
If Mr Nuttall cannot write a decent Sci-Fi novel without fourletter words and sex then he take lessons from other writers of the same genre. Azimov and Clarke never had this problem!
The plot was all "Shoot 'em up" with no proper depth to the story. Don't know if I will read any more of his books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Struggling to complete, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Blackcatpc - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ark Royal (Kindle Edition)
A bit reminiscent of Heinlein's Starship trooper, I'm not too keen on the Earth Space Navy fights aliens kind of Sci Fi, the only author who seems to do it well with title after title is Jack Campbell with the Lost Fleet series. I'm sure this is worth a read if you are new to the genre. Just not really for me or maybe I should have written this after finishing the book though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 148 49 5061 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ark Royal
Ark Royal by Christopher Nuttall
£1.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews