Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Embrace are back-but not as you might remember!
After 8 years away, Embrace have returned with this album and it is simply stunning. Whereas some bands might have tried to stick to the blueprint that made them famous to make sure their album sells, 'Embrace' is the work of a band who are clearly now in the place of wanting to just make great music rather than compromise just so they can get massive radio play or...
Published 4 months ago by Paul Noyce

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A long time in the making...maybe not long enough
A change of direction for Embrace but not always successful.I loved all their previous albums and appreciate the intent but it is nothing new.
Published 2 months ago by Mrs E Locke


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Embrace are back-but not as you might remember!, 28 April 2014
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
After 8 years away, Embrace have returned with this album and it is simply stunning. Whereas some bands might have tried to stick to the blueprint that made them famous to make sure their album sells, 'Embrace' is the work of a band who are clearly now in the place of wanting to just make great music rather than compromise just so they can get massive radio play or guarantee a run at The 02.

The album opens with Protection, sounding distinctly like Embrace of old but with added electronic sounds in the mix. A real attention grabber and a track which sets the tone for what follows. 'In The End' continues to make the listener sit up and re-evaluate whatever their preconceived ideas about Embrace are before comeback single 'Refugees' comes in to hammer home the point that there is no phoning it in or taking a lazy route here. This band are progressing and producing something that sounds relevant and fresh.

'I Run' is fantastic, a wonderful melody and heartfelt lyrics making it an instant future classic, Follow You Home's chorus destined to be sung along to by thousands at gigs and football stadiums around the country. Quarters is another double-take moment. If you ever wondered what disco-Embrace would sound like and whether falsetto would be good, here is your answer. 'At Once''s guitar work reminiscent of early U2 complements another stunning lyrical achievement and emotional vocal performance before the 'Self Attack Mechanism' and 'The Devil Looks After His Own' come next in a double frenzy of in your face rock. Album closer 'A Thief On My Island' is perhaps the most apt final track on an album in recent years, confirming this collection of songs has not been slung together but crafted together with the utmost care. A six minute masterpiece, 'Thief' is the perfect blend of everything that has gone before. Lyrics, electronics, piano, bass, drums and guitars all playing their part as if to prove how vital each aspect is in creating the Embrace sound.

So has the eight years been worth the wait? Absolutely, and then some. 'Embrace' is worth anyone's time and attention and it really is great to have them back. There is no filler here and track adds something to the collection.

Let's not wait another eight years before another album though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triumphant return with updated, darker, rockier, more electronic sound., 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
After 8 years away Embrace needed to produce something special to get people to pay attention again. They do not disappoint. If you're already an Embrace fan you will love this record as there are enough nods to their familiar sound to satisfy ('In the end' with it's triumphant chorus and 'I run' and 'At once' are beautifully poignant Embrace ballads). If you aren't a fan of Embrace then you will like this record. Their updated sound throws off the shackles of their well known 90s/00's hits and they come back darker, rockier and more electronic (Protection, Refugees, Quarters, Self attack mechanism). Thief on my island is an epic way to conclude what is a triumphant return and i can't wait to hear it live in May. There is not a bad track here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I could have imagined, 29 April 2014
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
I've been a big Embrace fan for a number of years but I admit to being worried about how this new album was going to sound when I heard talk of it being darker, rockier, techno, I wondered if it was going to have moved so far away from the Embrace I loved that I wouldn't have liked it. I needn't have worried. It is still Embrace but so much more. Everytime I listen to it I hear something different. The dual vocals (Danny and Rik together) work a treat and it's good to hear bassist Steve Firth showing what he can do.
Play it often and play it loud to really appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRULY BRILLIANT!, 29 April 2014
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
After 8 years away the Embrace are back..and they don't disappoint!

This album is amazing...and having played it several times already my favs are 'Quarters' and 'I Run'.

Buy it..Play it..Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Embrace return with trademark honest songwriting, improved by bruising personal experience and production craft, 28 April 2014
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
This is an album Embrace couldn't have written 8 years ago. After Out Of Nothing propelled them into the upper charts with its (mostly) optimistic ballads the forced follow-up with its under-written selection (the repetitive The End Is Near a low point) seemed to spit them out of the industry machine, fragmented and disillusioned.

This album gives a voice to the experiences they've clearly endured, equal parts melancholy, uplifting anthems as you'd expect but infused with electronic production drawing on New Order, Depeche Mode, The Cure, the buzzsaw post-punk of Joy Division (the riff of Self-Attack Mechanism in particular sounding like 'Dead Souls' played at 100mph) and chiming guitars the Edge would be proud of. A new deal seems to have freed them from throwing mid-tempo rock/ballads out in quick succession and allowed them to channel their influences.

The album centrepiece, though, is the epic closing track Thief On My Island, starting as gently as their classic Drawn From Memory but enhanced with haunting echo effects, lamenting a disintegrating, acid-tainted relationship through several lushly instrumented verses before exploding in an assault on the senses clearly as brutal as its subjects death throes. It's up their with their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Return To Form., 28 April 2014
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
Embrace are back and sounding as good as ever. Every track on the album gets better with each listen. From turn it up to eleven rock to arms in the air anthems this has it all. Great to have you back just don't leave it as long next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Embrace are back!!!!!, 28 April 2014
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
And what a return! This album is as every bit exciting as their debut and well worth the eight year wait! When most bands produce two or three outstanding tracks then reel out album fillers, I find it difficult to pick a weak song from this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In response to a negative review, 28 April 2014
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
I've just read a rather stinging review from a certain Colin Charteris and felt the need to respond. I'm not a member of any fanclub either so hopefully I can give a balanced, honest review as the album sounds to me. Firstly I much prefer the tracks such as "Quarters" and "At once" where they veer from the quiet start leading to the anthemic crescendo finish sort of track, exemplified by "I run". Not that this is a bad track at all, it's just a bit formulaic in a Coldplay/Snow Patrol sort of way. Embrace have been off the radar for a while but this album should certainly help re-establish them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An urgent appeal for funds for Embrace, 28 April 2014
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
As a long time Embrace fan I was fortunate enough to recently go to an album playback session with a band Q&A afterwards. The band spoke openly and honestly about how hard they had worked on this new album... and believe me, the end result really is awesome and well worth a listen.

The last eight years have obviously taken there toll on all the band members both physically, mentally and financially. At the playback session it was clear just how tough things had become. Steve Firth the base player can't even afford a decent pair of jeans and had a gaping hole in one of the knees. It transpired that Danny is now living in a shed, in his brother Richards back garden, and he looks in desperate need of a good meal. There were pictures of Richard on Facebook wearing the same clothes two days running. Mike Heaton the drummer has had to work in a pub to make ends meet. The poor keyboarder lives next door to neighbours from hell and can't even afford a decent car.

All these revelations bought a tear to my eye. This great band responsible for some of the greatest songs of the last 18 years are obviously down to their last pennies and have gambled everything on the success of this album.

If you have been moved by these stories of hardship in anyway, please do not hesitate to click on the 'add to basket' button...you can make a donation to the Embrace fund which will go some way to finally giving these guys the rock'n'roll lifestyle they deserve.

As a reward for your donation you will receive a free copy of their latest album....which just so happens to be bloody awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The water has frozen to ice, 3 May 2014
This review is from: Embrace (Audio CD)
by Anna Kavan. Wait a minute, where am I? Oh yeah, providing some feedback on the new Embrace album. Well, it's a grower that am looking forward to getting into more. 'At Once' is traditional vein, old soul Embrace as is the aforementioned 'I Run' with a bit Verve-ish tinge to it, but I also like the grand falsetto departure surprise of 'Quarters'. I'm playing it, which says something now-a-days, so here's to the future. Salud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Embrace
Embrace by Embrace (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews