Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars22
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2015
I was really enjoying until Amazon pulled it from Prime package, 5* for Weeds, 0* for Amazon customer service , bad practice!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2008
"Little boxes, little boxes". "They are all made out of ticky-tacky, and they all look just the same." The title song becomes just one of those tunes that you humm to yourself while selecting cheese at the supermarket and thinking how unlucky Nancy Botwin is. Here she is, widower, mother of two, up and going entrepeneur and there just happens to be 4 other grow houses in the neighbourhood - and she finds out her boyfriend is a DEA agent. I mean seriously!!

While I don't believe season 2 has the same level of humor as season 1, season 2 is definitly incredibly funny and has more depth.

Watch it - and enjoy!!

Louise
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2009
A dark, pacy, comedy that repaid the cost of the boxed set. Well written, it never slackens pace, and the characters are fully developed and varied. My favourite is Celia (Elizabeth Perkins), difficult, emotionally abusive, and doesn't give a damn about anyone else. Such is the skill of the writing and the acting, you do like this unlikeable woman.

The story centres around Nancy Botwin (Mary-Louise Parker) an attactive widow and mother of two, who decides the way out of her financial difficulties is to sell weed. She is on a steep learning curve as she graduates from small time dealer to substantial grower, dragging her reluctant family with her. Her 'success' comes at a cost to herself and her family, and much of the interest lies in how this is shown. Nancy herself abandons one principle after another in order to survive, as she attracts unwelcome competition.

If I have a criticism, it is the implication that while dealing weed might be harmful to your health, smoking it in large quantities is not. While there is a reasonably balanced discussion on the disc, it is more than counter balanced by the grow your own tips. Modern strains aren't just higher in their strength, but are also proportionally lower in the protective anti-psychotic chemicals the plant produces.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
One of the best comedy drama series to come out of the USA for years - pity so few people in the UK have never heard of it, you will love the cast, storyline, action and one liners - highly recommended !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
GREAT ITEM, EXCELLENT CONDITION AND ARRIVED TIMELY. ABSOLUTE BARGAIN FOR THE PRICE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2016
Well, Once you have seen Season 1, you simply must see this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
Arrived on time, good quality as usual, yet to watch though,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2012
I just recently discovered this series when my cousin gave me the first season. I watched it all in the course of a couple of days, and immediately ordered this when it ended. Then this arrived, and I watched it all in ONE DAY. I'm very satisfied. I only wish I could find the series in Bluray!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
Great seller.looking forward to buying again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Brilliant comedy drama.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£9.99
£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)