Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good story well researched
I enjoyed this book, with its premise of a cabal of disaffected descendants of the Plantagenets plotting against the state

At times too wordy and would have benefited from some editing

but worth 4 stars!
Published 4 months ago by Rob

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Historical Hokum
Bit disappointing in the lack of historical background, book cover is maybe a bit misleading. Interesting idea to have an ex army Royal as the action man (could he be based on anybody "real" - surely not!) Best read as a straightforward thriller and don't expect to learn anything new about the Plantagenets.
Published 1 month ago by A. E. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good story well researched, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plantagenet Vendetta (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book, with its premise of a cabal of disaffected descendants of the Plantagenets plotting against the state

At times too wordy and would have benefited from some editing

but worth 4 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of The Plantagenet Vendetta, 2 April 2014
By 
Dr. R. A. Jackson "Rob Jackson" (Keele, Staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plantagenet Vendetta (Kindle Edition)
This is another exciting book by John Paul Davis, and like his previous books, I found it compelling reading and hard to put down. The plot centres on present day descendants of the Princes in the Tower, suggesting that they actually survived, rather than the popular assumption that they were murdered. These present day descendants still resent the fact that their ancestors were denied the throne of England, and over the centuries since the time this happened, have plotted against the monarchy in a bid to reclaim their (perceived) birthright. The book explains the historical context well, and then moves to the present day, where the death of the current King is linked to their activities. It centres on investigative work by a TV journalist who uncovers both tombs of Plantagenet ancestors and the activities of their present day descendants. It is also apparent that the plotting will continue, as not all those responsible are arrested, and their sons will take the place of those now behind bars.

As I said at the beginning of the review, I really enjoyed this book, and give it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good once you get into it, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plantagenet Vendetta (Kindle Edition)
I really liked the story behind this novel and got engrossed once I was into it. I found the early stages a bit distracting when the author used different styles of referring to people i.e. by surname for some and first names for others. It may be a bit pedantic but it distracted me initially from the flow of the story.
Having said that it is a really gripping story and well worth reading and I would certainly read other books along this theme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good story with a twist, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plantagenet Vendetta (Kindle Edition)
Very entertaining and worth some late nights reading this book I would recommend it to my friends got a wee bit heavy if you're history is not up to scratch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book I, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plantagenet Vendetta (Kindle Edition)
Was spellbound with the story line. Could not put the book down excellent.Recommended to anybody. Left a bit of avoid to fill. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So, what did happen to the Princes In the Tower?, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plantagenet Vendetta (Kindle Edition)
The story centres around the Royal Family, but does not try to incorporate any of today's real family. The king has died, but it appears that foul play was involved. Other deaths in high places have also occurred, and tenuous links start to appear. A young woman reporter is sent to a Yorkshire village to research a follow-up story about a girl's disappearance. As other historic families become involved, the Cousins' War starts to replay, causing confusion to the reporter who realises that the girl's disappearance is somehow linked to the current dispute. This is quite a fast paced story, so concentration is needed to keep track of the different characters. Historical background is given via monologues from various members of the Royal Family and professors, which can slow the flow of the plot but are worth sticking with as they help to make sense of actions that ensue. The authors' notes are worth reading, especially if the reader doesn't have a grasp of medieval English history. An interesting, if highly unlikely, twist on an historical mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars royal intrigue, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plantagenet Vendetta (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating story looking at the twisting fates of the various protagonists of the war of the roses combined wth a ripping yarn, easy to read but interesting too, the characters are well drawn and the pace fairly relentless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The concept was quite good, but the execution execrable, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plantagenet Vendetta (Kindle Edition)
The concept was quite good, but the execution execrable. I'm seldom tempted to give up on a book but, having a keen interest in the Plantagenets generally, and Richard III in particular, I wanted to know the ending, and so laboured my way through dreary conversations, highly unlikely scenarios (especially those featuring the so-called Royal Family), and frequent misuse of the English language. I found myself mentally rewriting virtually every sentence as I read - not a great recommendation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars dreary, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plantagenet Vendetta (Kindle Edition)
dreary. he proceeded drearily. I drearily read it to the dreary end. Needs to spend some time writing short stories and get a more ruthless editor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the Plantagenet vendetta by John Paul Davis, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plantagenet Vendetta (Kindle Edition)
An exciting and thoroughly entertaining book. Obviously completely fictional and brings up again the mystery of what happened to the Princes in the Tower.

Enjoyed it and would recommend this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Plantagenet Vendetta
The Plantagenet Vendetta by John Paul Davis
0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews