Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

  • Pilot
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars53
4.1 out of 5 stars
Price:£1.89
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 February 2014
the delivery after a few episodes just didn't match up. I haven't watched the entire Season 1, but that may have been because the dvd Amazon sent had 2 x Disc 3 and no Disc 4 - make sure you check what you're sent, I didn't bother until I got to the relevant episode! The Glades episode plots are fairly typical for a detective show, it isn't trying to break new ground, but I'd really been hoping for the biting wit and repartee the characters had been throwing about in the trailer, but I found the dialogue pretty flat in places and the characters a bit two dimensional... I think I've been spoiled with Breaking Bad and Hannibal, so my expectations for shows are that much higher now. Entertaining, but I'd only go back to it when I didn't have anything better to watch...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
clever and well put together with a good story line
and great locations
will stand the test of time like columbo
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Purchased for me by my sons. I love this series and wanted to start my collection. Love it. Good story line and a even though a cop show a nice light hearted series to follow.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
After watching and enjoying it on tv I decided to buy the series, well worth watching again. Anyone who enjoys a good who dunnit with a bit of comedy thrown in should enjoy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 March 2013
Matt Passmore (McLeod's Daughters) stars as homicide detective Jim Longworth, whose issues with a fellow colleague in Chicago, landed him a big cash settlement as well as humiliation, finds himself relocating to the sunshine state of Florida to start fresh.

Overall the show is an interesting detective drama with a touch of humor, and given it's setting, comes about the right time as CSI Miami came to a finish, so if you liked the Florida-esque setting of CSI Miami this will sate your appetite. You'll also be pleased to hear that it is better than that show as well, while having some lighter coroner investigations similar to CSI, it has some very surprising outcomes with it's cases, sure some are easier to crack than others for us couch potato Colombo's, but some that even i had trouble solving & i watch a load of these shows that i usually know who the killer is within 5 minutes. Being a drama, the personal lives of the main characters also yield some interesting diversions in combination with the body count.

The acting is pretty good overall, Australian actor Matt Passmore's main character is a bit of an odd one, in that he isn't an overly likable person per se, he is a good detective, but a bit prickly with a rude & pushy attitude when going to any lengths to get the results, much to the dismay of his boss. Sort of a more rugged & unlikable chap, unlike fellow Aussie Simon Baker's alter ego Patrick Jane in The Mentalist. He has a good humorous chemistry with his main co stars, particularly coroner Carlos Sanchez (Carlos Gómez -The Negotiator) whom is Jim's closet friend & confidant since moving to Florida. His love interest with forensic nurse Callie Cargill ((Kiele Sanchez-30 Days Of Night: Dark Days]) & her situation as a single mom to her son Jeff (Uriah Shelton-Alabama Moon) and husband whose in jail to complicate matters flutters in & out of the series. Jim's suffering boss, Colleen Manus (Michelle Hurd-Law & Order: SVU) acts as a good buffer to rein him in when he goes too far & supports him when he has convincing hunches , lastly Daniel Green (Jordan Wall-The Sacred) as a trainee coroner who looks up to Carlos, is easy prey for Jim & Carlos to mock, in a loving way of course.

In conclusion, The Glades is a good detective series, that offers up some interesting episodes to deduce. The only make or break decision to enjoying it, will likely be your own deduction on love/hate lead, Jim Longworth. Recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
This is a great series, absolutely can't wait to start season 2. If you like detective shows give it a whirl.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
I love this show! The cases are interesting, the relationship between the main characters interesting and funny.
Can't understand, why the show has been cancelled after season four.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2011
This series is made by the same team that produces Burn Notice and airs on the Arts and Entertainment network on U.S. basic cable. It was originally slated to film and take place in the Tampa Bay metro area, but was moved four and a half hours South to Cocunut Grove, (Miami area), to be shot in the same convention center turned makeshift film studio used by Burn Notice, (Coconut Grove Convention Center).

It's about as fun to watch as Burn Notice, but it's more of a cop show than Burn Notices is. As a Floridian, it's nice to see a series that acuuratly reflects the landscapes and urban area of Florida, unlike C.S.I. Miami which is mostly filmed in Southern California. The mysteries are entertaining, and the story arc is engaging.

As someone who lives in the Tampa Bay metro area, I have to admit, it would have been cool for the series to continue here, not to mention the boost it would have given to our local economy. But, I've personally personally spent enough time in the Miami metro area to say that this program looks like what South Florida looks like.

If you like Burn Notice, you'll like this. If you are looking for a mellow slightly more realistic version of C.S.I. Miami, then check it out.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2016
Slow, predictable(out of the 13 episodes I had guessed 11 of them in the first 15 minutes), with a male lead who has zero charisma, and a delivery of his lines which is flat. The inevitable "romantic interest" is a nurse whose ne'er do well husband is in jail- cue long suffering single mother angst and rebellious brat son.
Yawn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2016
I really did not like this show, its superficial, the "main "character is to my opinion, shallow and superficial, the script is poor and on the whole, i could not persevere to watch more than 2 episodes, not to recommend !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.