Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Werther of my dreams
I love all (well, most) operas, French operas in particular, and Massenet is one of my favourite composers. I have lots of CDs, and several DVDs of his operas. Among the latter, two give me particular pleasure. There's 'Manon' from Barcelona, with Dessay and Villazon, lovely production which I remember from ENO years ago. Now there's this 'Werther' from Paris. The title...
Published on 17 Dec. 2010 by lyricomane

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great performance ruined by tricksy camerawork
I seem to be adding to other comments here, but I had to put in my couple of penceworth. I was so looking forward to seeing this. I'm a big Massenet fan, and for me, Jonas Kaufmann is currently the best tenor around (apart from being astonishingly good-looking - in operatic terms at least). The production looked promising too, no crass updating or 're-imagining'...
Published 22 months ago by Nico W


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars, 22 Mar. 2015
By 
A. Refael (Haifa , Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good video, perfect audio & excellent singing.
I enjoined this production very much despite the camera defaults.
Albert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wether, 22 Mar. 2014
By 
Maura Devine (Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kaufmann and Koch were vocally excellent but did not like the production. Far too stark, did not do the beautiful music justice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely outstanding, 20 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD is definitely a must for opera lovers, certainly for those who relish in the French repertoire. Difficult to imagine a better production in every aspect. I remember attending the first performance of this opera production at Covent Garden in 2004. But this recent Paris revival is an absolute marvel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful singing spoilt by awful and distracting camerawork, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massenet: Werther [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
How I agree strongly with those who have railed against the filming and camera production of this Manon, wonderfully sung by all the principles, but almost unwatchable because of the distracting camera work, sometimes filmed backstage, sometimes from the wings where singers are seen before they actually come on stage. sometimes from the flies in long shot so that all one sees is a vast empty stage with a small unidentifiable head top somewhere in the middle! It is also extremely distracting to see conductor and orchestra in the middle of a scene for no particular reason. All dramatic tension and concentration are totally dissipated as a result.
A wonderful Metropolitan opera production of Manon with Kauffmann and Koch has just been shown on screens live around the world, and was so compelling to watch. I can only hope that some enterprising publisher will release this on DVD, and capture these singers in a production worthy of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Makes you dizzy, 17 Mar. 2014
Reminds me of a BBC history documentary about ancient Britain during which there was over five minutes of footage of the presenter's legs and shoes. (I'm honestly not joking.). Camerawork ruins this great production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exeptional, 27 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this opera, Massenet's music is lovely, allthough there are a few unnecessary characters in it. But Kaufmann and Sophie Koch are both superb ! The subtelty of Kaufmann's singing and acting is quite wonderful They are both equally admirable . All the other characters though very good, fade next to these two. The sister was a little bit " over the top " and her voice a bit shrill.
The pruduction is very effective and the last act highly moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kaufmann excells, 20 Mar. 2011
I did not know this opera before I purchased this but I am a fan of Kaufmann and thought it was worth a try. It is one of the best dvd opera I have watched marred only by some rather silly camera work - shots from above for example. They irritate a little but still leave five stars from me. The setting is simple and effective and the singing is delivered in spades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Opera based on Goethe's Novel., 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massenet: Werther [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Having recently watched the LIVE broadcast of WERTHER from the MET at a local cinema, I was pleased to be able to get to know the opera in this fine recording from the Paris Opera. Jonas Kaufmann is the star attraction here, singing with fine tone and clarity. His French words are clear as well. Massenet's opera is more dramatic than a lyric score, but it brings Goethe's novel to the stage in a thrilling manner. The sets and costumes aid the setting of the story -which is not always the case in modern opera productions, but is most definitely the case here. A treat for the eyes as well as the ears! The Lotte of Sophie Koch is also very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Mar. 2015
By 
Jim Ross (Colwyn Bay, Conwy United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massenet: Werther [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Great dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb DVD., 19 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absolutely terrific interpretation of Massenet,s Werther.Everything about this dvd is top class,principal singers, chorus,children,orchestra,conductor,stage production & costumes a
a must have for real opera lovers & a steal at the price.
Decca are to be congratulated on marketing this exellent dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Massenet: Werther [Blu-ray] [2014]
Massenet: Werther [Blu-ray] [2014] by Kaufmann (Blu-ray - 2014)
£21.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews