Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars adventure and good solid story telling with good, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Refuge (Kindle Edition)
I started reading Refuge hoping to be entertained. Instead I was not only entertained, but also thrown into a world of excitement, adventure and good solid story telling with good, strong characters that you could connect to.

The authors promised us five books that would comprise of a "first season" if this were made for television, and you can tell that was their intention when you read this book. From the start you are thrown into an intriguing mystery of mysterious church bells, changing landscapes and all manner of monsters.

But that's not all. The characters feel real as well. You feel that, somehow, you know people in your own life that are like the characters in this book. You can connect to them. They don't just help the plot to move forward. They also have their own little personal stories going on. That is the glue that holds these five books together. The characters. And just when you think you know everyone there is to know in the town, Bishop then introduces more to get to know and become involved with.

If anything "Refuge" reminded me a little like Stephen King's "Under the Dome", featuring a town isolated from the outside world, full of mystery and intrigue, but, thankfully, with some answers as well. It's funny, scary, exciting and at some times terrifying.

Each book is co-written by different authors, but they all connect to each other seamlessly as if written by one. By the end of the book I was crying out for more. I'd definitely recommend "Refuge" to other readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Any where but here., 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Refuge (Kindle Edition)
The name of this small town suggests its a safe place to be,but after an event happpens,its the last place on earth you would want to be.The town and those inside on the 4th july end up on a tour of something like Dantes 7 visions of hell.Part sci fi/horror that would be enjoyed by those who enjoyed tv shows like lost and the dome,although the book takes nothing much from these.Jeremy bishop states that the book pans out like a tv series,and this it does very well with the bonus that you dont have to wait until next week for the next episode.The fact that the 5 sections of the book were co written with other writers did not spoil the style-you would assume it was written by one.My opinion,it was a great read and did so in 3 nights.It was the kind of story one would expect from mr king.More like this,please mr bishop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown Away, 26 Jan 2014
By 
M. Marchant (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Refuge (Kindle Edition)
Like another review on here I was a little sceptical about reading 5 books by 5 different authors, most who I have read individually.
These guys are genius it absolutely works, I quite literally could not put these books down!

I can not recommend this series highly enough and for books 1-5 it's a bargain price too, so what more do you need?
A fantastic read, by some truly great authors, for a great price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you want a fun, fast paced, 3 July 2014
This review is from: Refuge (Kindle Edition)
I could not put this book down, I don't know if I could have waited for each book to come out (even though it was only a couple weeks between each release). If you want a fun, fast paced, insane nightmare filled book, this is the one for you. Robinson and crew did an amazing job on this series and you will not be disappointed. This would make an awesome movie or mini-series, as long as Robinson was involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Refuge is superb!, 27 Jun 2014
By 
NITSUD! "Dustin Dreyling" (White Bear Lake, MN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Refuge (Kindle Edition)
The town of Refuge is a relatively nice little small town, until the church bell rings and suddenly everyone in town wishes they had left the day before. Never in the same place twice, this book takes you to some strange places and you meet some frightening monstrosities along the way, with sci-fi twists and action turns right up to the end of this powerhouse.
The mix of sci-fi/action/horror is something rarely done good, let alone right and Jeremy Bishop and Company all did a very good job. They and other authors like them are the ones who should be in charge of what's on our idiot boxes and movie screens. Instead of the special effects laden, story deficient drivel and "Reality" TV that has replaced most of our serial TV shows, except for Lawyer/Crime dramas- because there aren't enough of those, right?
If you like anything I've said here, read this omnibus. You will enjoy it.
Then tell Jeremy Bishop, Jeremy Robinson, Daniel Boucher, Robert Swartwood, David McAfee, and of course Kane Gilmour you want more like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Refuge (Kindle Edition)
How to put all your nightmares in one story. Sends a tingle down your spine. Excellent book, well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book 6 please?, 15 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Refuge (Kindle Edition)
If you are anything like me, you are looking at this and thinking.....five parts and five different authors, this is not going to work. But like me, you would be very wrong. It worked wonderfully, the authors really complimented each other and the story flows pretty flawlessly. Jeremy Bishop has once again created great, memorable characters and brought together a group of talented authors to tell an interesting tale.
This series captures your attention and imagination, you cannot help but wonder what is happening to the town of Refuge. I couldn't put the book down, I refused to sleep until I had finished. What a wild ride!
The only negative thing I can say is that it ends, like all good things. But I really hope we will see more of Refuge in the future, fingers crossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars why did it end????, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Refuge (Kindle Edition)
Great great book, but don't leave us hanging like this!!!! More please (NOW) there's got to be more please please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book and a Great Idea, 3 Sep 2014
By 
A. J. Facey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Refuge (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book. Can't wait for the next season / sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Refuge
Refuge by Jeremy Bishop
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews