Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spacey delivers after the first season taster
I've been a big fan of the original House of Cards when it arrived in 1990, and watched it many times since then. Once you accept the updated version, set in America isn't the same experience as Ian Richardson portrayed (both fine actors but have their own take on the role) you'll get along well with it.

House of Cards (USA) as I call it is slick and modern,...
Published 2 months ago by Mr Baz

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be warned - it would be a good idea to rewatch the end of Season 1 before ...
Be warned - it would be a good idea to rewatch the end of Season 1 before launching into this as I couldn't remember a couple of the characters nor what on earth they were meant to be doing in this rather convoluted season. Excellent acting but either I have lost the plot or the plot got itself a bit tangled. And another pretty unbelievable and unconvincing President...
Published 1 month ago by hh


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spacey delivers after the first season taster, 20 Jun 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
I've been a big fan of the original House of Cards when it arrived in 1990, and watched it many times since then. Once you accept the updated version, set in America isn't the same experience as Ian Richardson portrayed (both fine actors but have their own take on the role) you'll get along well with it.

House of Cards (USA) as I call it is slick and modern, but well cast and whilst clearly based on the original has it's own twists and theme.
Cast wise I like Spacey and his understated Francis J. "Frank" Underwood, devious and cunning, clever and manipulative. Robin Wright also does a very good job as his wife. I am quite happy with the cast overall.

Season two heats things up more, after the first season set the groundwork (some complained the first season was a bit slow partly down to I think laying out the characters more for viewers) Frank's lined himself up to be the Vice President..one step closer to his ultimate goal of grabbing the top job in the Oval office.

I won't ruin it with spoilers, but things do really come to a head with Zoe Barnes and Frank in a fairly dramatic way. The rest of the season shows Frank's continued cunning in destabilising an already weak President. Some complain it's a bit predictable plot wise, but then from day one we've known Frank is ambitious and wants power for himself. It's a slick production that's well directed and has some excellent performances even from supporting cast members, decent screenplay and script, good camera work and even the soundtrack delivers, nicely polished in every respect.

I'm quite happy to watch this, despite reservations initially how it would compare to the original 1990 series. They are different in feel and portrayal, I like both for what they offer viewers. Spacey has really grown on me as an actor, he seems very well suited to the role. One of the reasons people enjoy this so much? I think it's quite simple really, this portrays politicians in a way many feel is quite close to reality. Scheming, plotting, career motivated, and indifferent to the needs of the people..and will say anything to get their way up the power ladder. If you're a sceptical type this is right up your street.

If you are new to the series you do really need to start with season 1 to enjoy it fully (you will have missed many important events)
I was tempted to give it 4 stars, it's 4.5 overall for me so 5 grabs the spot. I like it and enjoy watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be warned - it would be a good idea to rewatch the end of Season 1 before ..., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Be warned - it would be a good idea to rewatch the end of Season 1 before launching into this as I couldn't remember a couple of the characters nor what on earth they were meant to be doing in this rather convoluted season. Excellent acting but either I have lost the plot or the plot got itself a bit tangled. And another pretty unbelievable and unconvincing President. Presume that Kevin Spacey will be a good alternative from that point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 5 Aug 2014
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Exeter, Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A sharp, American, political drama that is as good as it gets.
Kevin Spacey is chillingly brilliant as the man who wants to be President at any price.
This includes blackmail, theft, deception, duplicity and even murder.
The twists are clever and you do not see the outcome until it has arrived.
This is based upon the U.K. version of the 1990's with the same writer involved in both.
I hate to say this, but this version is better than the U.K. show which is a rare achievement.
Thankfully Michael Dobbs (Writer of the 1990 series) kept in the little asides where Spacey turns directly to camera and narrates what he is thinking.
In short this is like a spicy, Vindaloo version of the West Wing, there is even a little sex and dark humour as well.
if you have not seen this you are in for a treat, but make certain you have seen the first series before this one.
Series two is better than One, i can't wait for the third season. Great Series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 2 a vast improvement over first season., 22 April 2014
By 
Sue Kichenside - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Review of content. No plot spoilers.

I can't explain one of my main reasons for vastly preferring this over the first season without going into a pivotal plot point that occurs early on in the proceedings.

What I *can* say is that in season 2, Spacey settles down and grows into the role of Frank Underwood, playing the part in a far more nuanced, far less hammy way. Fans of his Machiavellian methods will be delighted to hear that he is still as devious and as ruthless as ever. Ditto his wife Claire (a compelling performance from Robin Wright).

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable exploration of ambition at the heart of power in the company of the Underwoods who never once take their eyes off The Ultimate Prize. Unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars US House of Cards Series 2, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant series- as good in a different way from the UK series. Kevin Spacey is a fantastic actor- he has a compelling stillness in his two very different roles in 'The Negotiator' and' the Usual Suspects' he can be chilling- as in 'Seven' or touching 'The Shipping News' . As Frank in 'The House of Cards' he is truly evil yet there is sometimes a spark of humanity and as he raises and eyebrown in a playful aside the audience is drawn in. Robin Wright is also brilliant- again there is sometimes a vulnerability but the way she manipulates those around her and uses her ex-lover to protect her then ruthlessly destroys him by turning the tables to make him the fall guy. These two have reached the peak in the White House- I can't wait to witness their destruction in the final series. The audience cries out for come- uppance.

When I saw there was an American series I wondered why-and how it would match up. Michael Dobbs and the writers have delivered in spades- buy the two series and prepare for an epic viewing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Here we are again, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No it isn't more of the same. It has gone up several gears. Some stories from the first season continue, develop and are then knocked on the head, and many more stories are introduced. They are bigger stories, more dramatic. It is war on all fronts: but there is very little violence, it is all done with words. Kevin Spacey is a master of word acting, as is Robin Wright as his wife. Here is a snippet 'What are you going to do?' 'Tell the truth....selectively.' There is a lesbian sex scene and a tease into a three way sex session. A Civil War re-enactment group takes us away from indoor Washington into the wooded countryside. The colours are still sophisticated and mellow. Robin Wright appears to be poured into her dresses - but then she is very elegant and beautiful, and Apple computers are still in evidence. However, whoever redesigned the packaging is an absolute disaster. It is extremely difficult to get the discs out of the cardboard cases. Could we have series 3 in the normal holders please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Absolute gem but poorly packaged., 1 Sep 2014
Kevin Spacey's version of House of Cards is excellent and a fitting adaptation of the original UK series of the same name from the 1990s. I shan't waste your time with a long, gushing review because other people have said all there is to say about the show.

Watch and enjoy, you won't be disappointed.

Why only 4 stars? That is entirely down to the packaging. The DVDs are well presented and easy to navigate and the packaging looks very plush and sleek at first glance, but the whole product is spoilt by the cheap shoddiness of the physical packaging. The individual discs are held in rounded, flimsy, cellophane sleeves, which just fall out and/or tear easily. The card backing is cheaply glued and very flimsy. Maybe later releases will address this issue, but overall it spoils the product. It's only the sheer quality of the show itself that stops the rating being lower. Much lower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my new favorite show., 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just as good as the first season, maybe even a little better as some shocking and surprising stuff happen in this season. Kevin Spacey and Robbin Wright are brilliant in this and have gotten even more evil in this season. Can't wait till season three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...that it will probably be months and months before series 3 comes out on DVD. I was ecstatic when series two was available after waiting a couple of months after finishing seeing the equally brilliant series 1, and it did not disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Deal, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If the first series was marvellous this is even better. From Kevin Spacey and Robin Wright the whole cast is nothing short of superb. If this was a movie Oscars would be a foregone conclusion. Lets hope for another series and soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews