Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unwitting Advocate
As a nurse during the AIDS crisis in the 1980's, it was one of the most frustrating experiences of my career. Dying men, families and friends who rejected them. Homemade signs as anyone entered town saying "BillyBob is a f*****, and he has AIDS. Funeral homes who would not take a person who had died with HIV. I could go on and on, but this film gives us a first hand...
Published 5 months ago by prisrob

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch
Not something I would watch again, but the Mathews acting was absolutely amazing. Interesting, frustrating, scary, and gut wrenching story.
Published 1 month ago by Kat


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I PREFER TO DIE WITH MY BOOTS ON, 20 Jan 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
In 1985 Redneck rodeo hand, Ron Woodroof (Matthew McConaughey) contracts HIV and is given 30 days to live. Ron takes matters into his own hands and researches treatments. He travels to Mexico and meets a disbarred doctor who helps him obtain a treatment that fights off the disease better than anything approved by the FDA. He cannot legally sell the drug in the US, so with the aid of Rayon (Jared Leto in drag) forms a buyers club to skirt the law.

The film touches on the relationship between pharmaceutical companies and the FDA that fought against Ron's attempt to help people as clearly the law was designed to support them. The acting was top notch. For those who like true life the one man against the system might also like" Extraordinary Measures."

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex, nudity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank god things have changed!, 16 July 2014
This review is from: Dallas Buyers Club [DVD] (DVD)
I rented this from Lovefilm and thankfully, didn't have to wait an age to see it.

Matthew McConaughey was brilliant. I've never seen him in a role like this before, so it was a real testimony to his versatility as an actor. Jared Leto was fantastic in it too - I didn't recognise him at first. He has a good pair of legs for a man! I was amazed at how much weight both these actors had had to lose for these roles and would question the ethics of acting here, but I suppose one must suffer for their art.....

This film did highlight how far we've come in a relatively short time with regards to attitudes towards homosexuality and AIDS/HIV; though it is heartbreaking to think that people who were diagnosed with AIDS back then were automatically ostracised and labelled homosexual and it is heartbreaking to see how homosexual men and women were treated as if they were some sort of parasite and deserved their suffering. Thank god times - for the best part - have changed.

I think what was most horrendous about this film was the lack of safe treatment and treatment on the whole for AIDS/HIV sufferers and how they used them as guinea pigs, not caring about the side effects of these treatments simply because those suffering from the disease were already dead as far as the medical profession were concerned. Things have changed a great deal in the 21st Century, but we all know what huge profits are made by pharmaceutical companies and how much American people must pay for medical insurance and thus treatment, if they can get insurance and thus treatment at all.

Anyway, all in all, this is quite a heart wrenching film and while the main character, Ron Woodroof, is not so likeable, one can't help feeling desperately sorry for him and what he went through and to feel a sense of admiration for the courage he showed in putting up a fight for himself and for others to get the treatment they needed in order to prolong their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars McConaughey and Leto at their very best, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely love this film. Matt and Jared give outstanding portrayals of their characters. Based on the true story of Ron Woodman's fight to be able to treat himself with non FDA approved medication. Ron discovers he has developed AIDs and has trouble accepting the information and his 30 day time line until he starts reading and realises he had unprotected sex with a woman who had needle tracks up her arms. He meets Rayon (Jared Leto) whilst in hospital following a collapse and is downright rude to the transsexual character, you can hear the accusation in his tone and see it in his body language. Rayon is a lovely character and is flawlessly and sympathetically delivered by Leto.
Rayon and Ron meet again later in the film as Ron starts up his "Dallas Buyers Club", where people pay for membership but not for the non FDA drugs he is supplying. They are more vitamin and mineral supplements that have shown to help AID's sufferers but because they are non FDA approved they are classed as illegal. Ron and Rayon are basically persecuted by the FDA but he fights on.
When Rayon dies I dare you not to have tears in your eyes, his weak and breathy "I don't wanna die" is enough to make you grab the tissues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars film of the year, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dallas Buyers Club [DVD] (DVD)
I had almost given up on so called films of the year having been unable to get through first American Hustle and then the even more laughable Rush so my expectations were very low . But from the first moment I was hooked and the hustle rogue Ron Woodroof totally lived up to the hype. Both McConaughey and Leto are brilliant and I loved how the film dared to show the fiasco of the drug giants/ hospitals and the need for all to be included . A brilliant brave film , all the better for showing the sleazy rather than a more sentimental approach to illness .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT AN AMAZING FILM ..., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dallas Buyers Club [DVD] (DVD)
.

GOSH - what an amazing film. Was away when it came into the cinemas and so pre-ordered it from Amazon.

I'm a Matthew McConaughey admirer (also loved and recommend 'The Lincoln Lawyer' another brilliant MMcC film, albeit VERY different).

Didn't think I would be able to cope with the continuous VERY foul language at the beginning but glad I stuck with it. ABSOLUTELY AMAZING PERFORMANCES FROM ALL ACTORS. Not always easy to watch but a film that stays on your mind a long time after you've finished viewing.

MMcC lost so much weight for the film that he looked like an old man in his 60's and I'm not sure that I would have recognised him if I hadn't known that he was in the film. The only identifying thing about him was his Texan drawl.

FANTASTIC. RECOMMENDED

..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must See!!, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dallas Buyers Club [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic film and acting from Matthew McConaughey & Jared Leto. A great adaptation of an amazing true story! This will make you both laugh & cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dallas Buyers Club, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good film, superbly acted, Matthew was superb, everyone was well cast . Would recommend to most people, worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant acting, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant acting but a bit it slow at times still worth a watch though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dallas buyers club, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dallas Buyers Club [DVD] (DVD)
really enjoyed this film. It was funny and sad. most enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dont be put off, 27 Jun 2014
This review is from: Dallas Buyers Club (Blu-ray)
I wasnt sure what i was going to make of this movie, but at the end of the day I was glad I booked it out.

It wasnt a pitiful, tear jerker that i was expecting, lambasting society and blaming everyone but themselves. But a matter of fact and at times poignant tale, well put together and well acted.
It glossed over some of the fundamentals that it portrayed, be it the world wide research or the business side of the venture which would have given the movie more depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dallas Buyers Club [DVD]
Dallas Buyers Club [DVD] by Jean-Marc Vallée (DVD - 2014)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews