Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Hey Nineteen..." - The Dukes Of September Live At Lincoln Centre on BLU RAY
Looking perhaps a bit more portly around the old midriff than one would like - our three ageing heroes take centre stage after the band has warmed up the crowd with a funky James Brown instrumental. And were off...

Filmed November 2012 in Hi Def and from multiple angles (UK released March 2014) - "The Dukes Of September" looks glorious - with the Lincoln...
Published 3 months ago by Mark Barry

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three great musos......who've challenged the way of playing music
Some excellent musicians and some classy numbers. Somehow, I expected more. Maybe it's the production or maybe,individually.....I expected more. Perhaps Need more listens?
Published 2 months ago by will rogers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Hey Nineteen..." - The Dukes Of September Live At Lincoln Centre on BLU RAY, 24 April 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Looking perhaps a bit more portly around the old midriff than one would like - our three ageing heroes take centre stage after the band has warmed up the crowd with a funky James Brown instrumental. And were off...

Filmed November 2012 in Hi Def and from multiple angles (UK released March 2014) - "The Dukes Of September" looks glorious - with the Lincoln Centre surely being one of the most beautiful venues in the world (and ideally sized too). You also begin to notice as the camera pans around the top notch band that the paint on the bass guitar is knackered, the sax is a bit rusted around the gills and the keyboards `White Lightning' McDonald uses has been teleported from 1976 to 2012. In other words - these are real instruments played by real musicians - so it feels like your very own "Aja" band 'live' - and that's a complaint I'll gladly put up with any day of the week.

First up is a truly classy cover of The Isley Brothers "Who's That Lady" with Boz Scaggs taking lead vocals and long-time Steely Dan guitarist Jon Herington putting in blistering axework. In fact he becomes one of the heroes of the night - playing all those Jay Graydon, Larry Carlton and Elliott Randall solos we've known and loved all these years - not just note for note - but with an added fluidity - like he in fact played them in the first place.

The first real clunker for me is an ill-advised cover of Sam and Dave's "Sweet Soul Music" (more cod Blues Brothers than a tribute to a classic) and a slightly underwhelming "I Keep Forgettin" also follows. But things explode when Donald Fagen goes into the funky keyboard opening of "Kid Charlemange" from 1976's "The Royal Scam" - and you can literally hear the entire audience thinking two words - STEELY DAN! The place erupts - because they've waited a lifetime to hear this - the real deal - live and in your living room.

It's followed by a fabulous bluesy cover of "The Same Thing" - a Muddy Waters Chess nugget from 1964 written by the mighty Willie Dixon. It's followed by another genius choice - Chuck Berry's infectious "You Never Can Tell" with McDonald playing an Accordion out front to superb effect (uses it instead of a piano for the solo giving the song a slight Cajun feel).

But after crowd-pleasing versions of "What A Fool Believes", "Hey Nineteen" and a suave take on Teddy Pendergrass' "Love TKO" - they hit the audience with a lethal triple whammy that slays them in the aisles. We get "Peg" first (Fagen on Vocals), then "Lowdown" (Scaggs on Vocals) and lastly "Takin' It To The Streets" (McDonald On Vocals) - all in a row. To hear Michael McDonald harmonize with Donald Fagen on "Peg" as he did on the 1977 "Aja" original is magical - then Boz gets fabulous and funky with "Lowdown" (people up dancing at this stage) - then a Soulful keyboard solo before McDonald goes into that "Takin' It To The Streets" opening - and I'm bawling my eyes out like a big girl's blouse. And as if that isn't bad enough - Jon Herington then launches into the blistering guitar of Steely Dan's "Reelin' In The Years" - and resistance is quite literally futile.

There's also a couple of tasty surprises thrown in: Fagen in the encore doing a fabulously slinky version of "Pretzel Logic" with Boz Scaggs taking the second verse - while midway through the set Scaggs does his own "Miss Sun" - a gorgeous yet forgotten gem from 1980. Boz cleverly duets the lovely melody with Monet Owens (one of the sassy backing vocalists) - she scatting vocals off his guitar licks towards the end. It's brilliant and more than a pleasant addition. And the band are just brilliant - all of them.

I'm 56 this year and would have given a small gonad to have seen and felt this dream band for real. The music still feels fresh to me - like it was yesterday. But in lieu - this fab BLU RAY will have to do.

And as the camera pans across the senior citizen crowd - like me - you can see that its way past their bedtime. But man - what dreams to savour...

"I have never met Napoleon...but I plan to find the time...yes I do..."

I know what you mean mate.

Set List:
1. People Get Up And Dance Your Funky Stuff - James Brown cover
2. Who's That Lady - Isley Brothers cover
3. Sweet Soul Music - Sam And Dave cover
4. I Keep Forgettin' - Michael McDonald song
5. Kid Charlemagne - Steely Dan song
6. The Same Thing - Muddy Waters cover (Willie Dixon song)
7. Miss Sun - Boz Scaggs song (sings duet with Monet Owens)
8. You Never Can Tell - Chuck Berry cover
9. What A Fool Believes - Doobie Brothers song
10. Hey Nineteen - Steely Dan song
11. Love TKO - Teddy Pendergrass cover
12. Peg - Steely Dan song
13. Lowdown - Boz Scaggs song
14. Takin' It To The Streets - Doobie Brothers song
15. Reelin' In The Years - Steely Dan song
16. Lido Shuffle - Boz Scaggs song
17. Pretzel Logic - Steely Dan song
18. Them Changes - Buddy Miles cover
19. People Get Up And Dance Your Funky Stuff/Credits - The Band

THE GROUP
Michael McDonald - Electric Keyboards, Accordion and Vocals
Donald Fagen - Steinway Piano, Vocals
Boz Scaggs - Guitar and Vocals
Jon Herington - Lead Guitar
Michael Leonheart - Trumpet
Walt Weiskopt - Tenor Sax and Flute
Jay Collins - Baritone Sax and Flute
Freddie Washington - Bass
Shannon Forest - Drums
Carolyn Leonheart and Monet Lewis - Backing Vocals

AUDIO SET UP:
Dolby Digital Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround
Dolby DTS Master Audio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incorrect information., 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dukes of September [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
always state audio content whether dts dolby or stereo.in the case of this particular disc you list the run time as 40 minutes which will make people to decide not to purchase,however the run time is in fact 131 minutes and makes it more saleable. graeme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cool Dukes, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately for English fans this is the closest we'll get to seeing the 3 Dukes of September, unless you happen to be lucky enough to catch them on holiday in the States. I found out about this tour after reading Mr Fagen's worthwhile tome Eminent Hipsters (a short but interesting read) on holiday.
Getting just one of these musicians to do a solo tour of England would be great America get all 3 sharing the stage. the music is a mixture of their own (or there associated bands) hits with a few soul songs added for good measure. There are some great performances: Kid Charlemagne, Lido Shuffle, Pretzel Logic to name but three. A strong band ably supports the Dukes and our 3 heroes show that although a little greyer the years haven't dimmed their abilities; in fact Mr Scaggs and Mr Fagen seemingly get better and better with age, is Donald actually enjoying this? you'll have to read the book to figure that out!
All for the price of 2 booking fees from your not so friendly ticket supplier!
Please come to Britain guys I am sure you could sell out a few notable concert halls Night after Night
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow 10 Stars, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So good. If you're a fan of good music you need this, looks great and with the band they pulled together, sounds even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legends!, 11 July 2014
An essential purchse for lovers of Donald Fagen, Michael McDonald and Boz Scaggs. The three "Dukes" perform their best known hits and pay tribute to other soul legends. Brilliant backing singers and musicians. My favourite is the Chuck Berry classic "You never can tell" This is 90 minutes of bliss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love Steely Dan or Mike and Boz, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love Steely Dan or Mike and Boz, this is a fantastic opportunity to hear them perform some classic hits with a scintillating band. The whole thing oozes class and these guys are music royalty, so this is a wonderful experience. Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love it. Great band and back up singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Dukes of September Live, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like all three of these artists, then buy this. You will not be disappointed! They are all so
Professional in what they do and the rest of the band are all marvellous. Great Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Isy Haiat "Isy" (Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dukes of September [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Great mix of songs
Image quality is amazing
Sound quality is amazing
Just the whole production seems a bit sterile, some "warmth" is missing, but the overall rate IMHO is 4 stars+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great concert - with I was there!, 2 Jun 2014
By 
M. Bray "Mike" (Chelmsford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dukes of September [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
If, like me, you were a fan of Steely Dan, Michael McDonald / Doobie Brothers / Boz Scaggs, then you will love this concert - which amounts to a combined 'greatest hits' of all three artists.

I'm a huge Michael McDonald fan - so I'm just jealous that they haven't brought this concert over to the UK.

The sound and video quality are great. Turn the volume up, sit back and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dukes of September [Blu-ray] [2014]
The Dukes of September [Blu-ray] [2014] by Donald Fagen (Blu-ray - 2014)
16.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews