Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back on form after season 3 - almost!, 7 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: The Big C - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Four hour-long episodes (or eight half-hour episodes as I saw them on BlinkBox). As I said in my review for season 3, this final season would have been better if following on directly from the end of season 2. That way, we wouldn't have had to put in so much effort suspending our disbelief regarding the truly bizarre storylines of season 3.

Facing the inevitable, Cathy starts putting all her affairs in order. Starting with sorting out her job, then her family, acting on her wish not to die at home and, finally, her estranged Father. All sensible stuff to do, but the scriptwriters set her about these tasks in some rather ridiculous ways, which leave you thinking "well what on earth did you expect to happen, Cathy??"

Fortunately, the final episode truly redeems the series, and allows the show to bow out with you remembering the great aspects of this show. It is very moving, as expected but, surprisingly, it wasn't Cathy or Paul that made me cry - it was Adam! You'll see why when you watch it, bless his cotton socks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watched this on the US Import!, 7 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Big C - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Only 4 hour long episodes in the final season. The acting is superb, among the best I've ever seen.(Linney being the best of a strong cast) The US release is a manufactured on demand DVDR with professinal looking packaging.Seems like they didn't plan on selling many copies.No worries if you can't wait for the local release though -the quality (video and audio) is outstanding and no blue ray is planned.Just don't missthis entire series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute must see, 23 Feb 2014
By 
P. Gray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big C - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The complete 4 seasons are a complete roller coaster of emotions. One minute you're nearly choking from laughing so hard. Next minute you're sobbing you're heart out! Incredible acting from all involved. They'll find it hard to better this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Amazon!, 26 Jan 2014
It appears these final episodes of The Big C are to be available on a
DVDR print on demand version only.Amazon US has done a fine job of making these dvds w/ a very good quality video and audio transfer.No extras , the 4 hour long episodes of the finale and a menu to select play all or individual episodes.I'm wondering if this will ever be availabe in a non import version.(Doesn't matter much as I think this is actually region free)Content wise I can only echo the other reviews -maybe the best tv I have ever seen .The best by far of the series with amazing acting all around and some very intelligent scriptwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW what a powerful great ending to a super programme, 25 Oct 2014
wow. what an amazing finale to this incredible 4 series programme.
I cried my eyes out on every episode of this series.
so heart wrenchingly good, with superb acting,
cathy is an amazing character.
I think it really sheds light on what the dying and their families have to go through and in the end enough is enough.
just amazing, brilliant........ a MUST watch.
I would recommend this entire series to everyone.
you will not laugh or cry as much with any other programmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it - one of the best series ever!!!, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big C - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Superb - nothing tops series one and two (which had some of the most wonderful scenes i've ever seen on tv, especially the last 2 episodes of series 2) -------- but if you have loved Cathy (and i have) then you will love this final series - how could you not. Personally i'd love a 5th series ------- cathy in heaven keeping an eye on her family surviving without her!! BUT then this is one of my favourite shows ever - love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It made me laugh and cry..., 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this series and it was a fitting final season. The cast throughout were superb but leading lady, Laura Linney, proved that she is one of the finest actresses around. This season made me laugh and cry with equal measure. So if you haven't watched this series , please do. It is worth getting to know Cathy and her friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing more to say...one of the best series ever made. Nothing has made me laugh and cry as much at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just watch it, 7 Sep 2014
By 
Abi "were_walsh" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
A really emotional, and yet lovely ending to a fantastic, underrated programme. I have never swung so much from being annoyed by a character, (Adam) in series 1 to loving him in series 4. I know it's the end of this story, but I wish it could somehow continue. Would love to know how it pans out with Cathy's brilliant lefty brother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 6 July 2014
Emotional Roller Coaster, great acting, storyline and truly gripping. A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big C - Season 4 [DVD]
The Big C - Season 4 [DVD] by Laura Linney (DVD - 2014)
£16.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews