Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Science Fiction Time Travel!, 1 April 2014
This review is from: Dragon Dawn (Dinosaurian Time Travel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A powerful and malevolent reptilian being, The Keeper, awaits his reawakening to change the course of history. His aim is to change the course of history to enable the evolution of a race of intelligent dinosaurian creatures over whom he will rule.

A beautiful, cloned dinosaurian female, Dawann Dracon, has been created as the consort of the Keeper, who rules the planet Moozrabian (the old Mars). However, she has been implanted with the soul of a human, Dawn, and Dawn’s memories start to return to her. She is now compelled to risk death by attempting to regain her memories as a human and find the only secretly cloned human still in existence.

Dawann/Dawn’s journey takes her back through time, to the Cretaceous period before a massive comet collides with Earth bringing an end to the age of the dinosaurs and threatening the lives of Dawn and her fellow astronauts, stranded on Earth at the time.

I cannot begin to give a simple précis of this novel. It is so complex, fascinating and incredibly well researched, the story had me riveted from the first page to the last. In my opinion it takes a brilliant mind to create a story of this magnitude. I am in awe of this author’s ability to present science fiction bolstered by robust facts, vivid characters and superbly intricate plots. Deborah O’Neil Cordes takes the reader into two completely different worlds – a cretacean world of lush, green vegetation and dangerous, predatory creatures, and a future world of manufactured climates and cloned inhabitants – both equally believable. Even the fictional dracons with their pale green skin, feathered heads and golden eyes are presented in such rich detail, their images are graphically implanted on my mind.
I am an avid and eclectic reader, reading up to four books a week – not many books remain vividly in my mind unless they are exceptional. This book is just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Destiny up for grabs., 7 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Dragon Dawn (Dinosaurian Time Travel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The rich detail in this sci-fi fantasy both feed and starve the underlying mystery at the heart of the story. Across time, space, and species, things are comforting and familiar— yet eerily different.

Dawann-dracon finds herself intimately connected to divergent potentials, straddling both worlds without belonging in either. Her need for answers to settle the gnawing disquiet inside her leads Dawann to peel back the layers until she learns even she isn’t who she seems. Stirred to respond, she risks it all for an outcome that’s far from assured.

If sci-fi fantasy is your genre, don’t miss this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic new series - I loved Dragon Dawn, 1 April 2014
This review is from: Dragon Dawn (Dinosaurian Time Travel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a fantastic tale Deborah O'Neill Cordes has woven and I want more. I so want to find out what happens next. Be prepared to be swept into a complex time-travel all the way back to the early dawn of time to the intelligent life form of dinosaurs, wormholes and a disaster that could possibly change history as we know it. This is a tale that is includes well researched science, history and evolution. The astronauts, including Dawn and Gus, the protagonists in this story are swept into an alternate universe to another place and time, with a thread of romance woven seamlessly into the plot. I need to find out what happens to them and will be waiting anxiously to read the next book. The story is entertaining and informative from beginning to end. I love a bit of science fiction, history and time-travel. If you do to, then read this book. It's fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, complex, wondrous, 1 April 2014
By 
Serena Clarke (NZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragon Dawn (Dinosaurian Time Travel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Wow. Dragon Dawn is smart, complex, wondrous and absolutely fascinating – I loved it. Deborah O’Neill Cordes weaves an amazing tale that encompasses paleontology, space travel, history, paleobotany, time travel, zoology, romance and more. It’s rich in scientific detail, without for a moment weighing the story down. From the biggest of big picture stuff, to the intricacies of human (and dinosauroid) relationships, this magical, thought-provoking book carried me along effortlessly, leaving my head spinning in the best possible way. It would make an incredible movie - but in the meantime, I can’t wait for book two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking Time Travel, Mind Boggling Sci-Fi-A Triumphant Story, 31 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Dragon Dawn (Dinosaurian Time Travel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
In Dragon Dawn, Deborah O’Neill Cordes creates an amazingly intricate story in which intelligent dinosaurs evolve in a manner that parallels human evolution, but changes its course significantly. I’m not a dinosaur person; I’ve never watched Jurassic Park all the way through, never thrilled to the time travel that introduced me to the cumbersome and stupid reptiles of the B movies.
Dragon Dawn, on the other hand, captures the imagination and asks what would have happened if reptiles, not mammals, had risen to rule planets, travel through space, and dictate the course of history.

Dawann-Dracon, the Royal Consort, wakes from submission and acceptance as The Keeper’s mate to question her existence—from the memories of a human past to an understanding that the Keeper’s rule is unjust and cruel, denying a real life to the residents of Moozrab, known to humans as Mars. She risks her life to make connections to her human counterpart, Dawn, and to understand Dawn’s love for the human Gus.

In epic books such as Dragon Dawn, I have trouble limiting all I want to say—there’s so much. I love the characters, with their unique histories and purposes. Dawn and Gus struggle for love that is snatched away—this first book focuses on establishing the worlds and motives of the players, and not on romance, although love exists in all worlds, and is not absent either on Moozrab/Mars or Shurr/Earth.

The past and future worlds that the author creates are incredible in their detail. The reader doesn’t need to ‘suspend belief’; he or she is just there, in the moment. In the excitement,or the devastation.

Hollywood has optioned a number of Deborah O’Neill Cordes’s previous works. They should not pass on this big screen novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of research here., 31 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Dragon Dawn (Dinosaurian Time Travel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I don't read a ton of sci-fi, so I'll let others describe the plot. What struck me was the incredible amount of research that went into this book. Wormholes, DNA, Marconi, the list of what the author had to go through to create an accurate book boggles my mind. I am a sucker for time-travel, though, and once that kicked in, instead of being only hinted at, the book really soared. Ms. Cordes has done sci-fi fans a favor by writing this book. Can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Rate Science Fiction Debut!, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
Erin Richards (California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragon Dawn (Dinosaurian Time Travel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Being a fan of time-travel and light science fiction, I was instantly drawn into the exciting and imaginative worlds Deborah O’Neill Cordes created in DRAGON DAWN. From Moozrab (Mars) to a slice of modern Arizona to the Cretaceous period of Earth, the author enthralls the reader.

Interweaved in the unfolding story between pre-historic Earth and Moozrab are two impeccably drawn species: humans and dinosaurians. My favorite character was Dawann-dracon. I loved her fierce innocence and curiosity as she discovers surprising and mysterious things about herself and her world…thoughts and emotions that belong to someone else. Underlying the time-traveling mystery is an enticing and malevolent being called The Keeper, who moves the beings around these worlds and time periods like pawns on a chessboard.

DRAGON DAWN is a multifaceted and fascinating mix of science fiction, history, and fantasy. It was obvious that Ms. Cordes spent a great deal of time researching planet Earth and its various time periods, pre-historic dinosaurs, the solar system, Mars, even DNA! Her expert research, awe-inspiring details, and lush descriptions (whether real or fictional) brought the story to vivid life from manufactured life on Mars, to the dinosaurs and verdant Cretacean period and even on a dig site in present-day Arizona. I can’t wait to read what happens next with Dawann-dracon, Dawn, Gus and the crew of the Destiny. First-rate plotting, research, characterization, and writing will make DRAGON DAWN a story for your keeper shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll freely admit to not liking time travel, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Dawn (Dinosaurian Time Travel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
or so I thought. Turns out I love it :). Dragon Dawn is a multi-layered and complex book that is nigh on impossible to put down. The descriptions of life on Mars and a Cretaceous Earth were evocative and spell binding, the characters (both humans and other-wordly) immediately likeable, the premise totally believable. I have often wondered about the K-T event and how it would've looked, now I need wonder no longer as Ms O'Neill Cordes has placed great images in my mind. No mean feat to pull off, that, and no doubt had Ms O'Neill Cordes not already established her expertise throughout the book through the use of extensive archaeology, paleo-archeology (I'm sure I'm missing an 'ology' here!) and scientific knowledge and vocabulary, then perhaps the climax wouldn't have been so credible. As it was, it was perfect!! Very much looking forward to the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a well researched story, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Dawn (Dinosaurian Time Travel Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I do love a good story that has been well researched. The thing about dinosaurs being the intelligent species was really good. I am now looking forward to the next instalment. Hope there will be one. Want to see if Dawann Dracon succeeded in her quest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book. Very clever and thought out, 25 Jan. 2015
By 
S Darby (,Hampshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book. Very clever and thought out. A non stop page turner from the start. Can't wait for the second one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragon Dawn (Dinosaurian Time Travel Book 1)
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews