Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I buy this book for every designer I employ.
I buy this book for every graphic and web designer I employ. I cannot emphasizes enough how good and how practical this book is. Anyone associated with the design and advertising world should read this book; it will give you great foundation onto which to build your own strategies. In my opinion it optimizes what should be taught at Art College or University. Every...
Published on 4 Nov 2009 by Ade Wilbury

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just lukewarm
While David Ogilvy was behind some amazing and famous ads, I didn't really enjoy this book. If you work in the ad industry, perhaps this will be a book you enjoy, but if you're looking for copywriting insights and tips, it's lacking. Perhaps useful as a retrospective on advertising from an earlier era, but not that relevant now.
Published 6 months ago by Eric Moeller


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I buy this book for every designer I employ., 4 Nov 2009
This review is from: Ogilvy on Advertising (Paperback)
I buy this book for every graphic and web designer I employ. I cannot emphasizes enough how good and how practical this book is. Anyone associated with the design and advertising world should read this book; it will give you great foundation onto which to build your own strategies. In my opinion it optimizes what should be taught at Art College or University. Every creative should be accountable for their work and that means the results their work generates, this book goes along way into explaining the facts of life in the real world. Some of the research in this book is as relevant today as the day it was published. For you web designers out there, you know you can't hide for much longer due to tools like Google analytics, get yourself a head of the game and read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read with plenty of good 'meeting jargon', 20 July 2011
This review is from: Ogilvy on Advertising (Paperback)
This book will give you the vernacular to sound excellent in meetings. you'll find yourself 'extolling virtues' in no time at all.

My only argument with it is it's lack of a digital angle (which is understandable, it's over 30 years old). For example, Ogilvy claims that serif copy reads better than sans serif. Whilst this may be true, it's probably only true in print and not in digital (often, you don't have a choice in digital). Equally, his main reasoning behind the serif font being better is that the eye is better trained to reading it. In the internet age, this is perhaps not always the case any more.

There are a few other instances where the age of this book does show, but fundamentally, what made good advertising 100 years ago still makes good advertising today. And, more importantly, reasons behind bad advertising 100 years ago will continue to be the reasons behind bad advertising today and tomorrow and the next...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, although a little dated, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ogilvy on Advertising (Hardcover)
Ogilvy presents his life's work in this book with such enthusiasm that it made me want to keep reading. The subjects of advertising style, research, copywriting execution, the use of creative images, and much more, were all covered, and covered very well.

However, the one problem I found with this book is that the material is very dated.

On subjects of market research, split testing and copywriting style, Ogivly discusses the way in which he improved the sales of literally thousands of different product-lines through successful advertising campaigns, but I couldn't help but to compare Ogilvy's dated methodology with the modern - and proven - methods which exist today. And some of Ogilvy's are wrong. For example, Ogilvy talks about the length of copy used in his ads. He states that longer copy works best to generate more sales revenue. Of course, this statement simply isn't true in today's world and is very much dependant on dozens of factors including medium of advert, product being advertised. The list goes on.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone working in advertising and/or marketing, as the book provides some deep and meaningful advice for even the experienced marketing professional, but the reader should bear in mind the year in which this book was written before using some of the advice in his next advertising campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Master Copywriter book, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ogilvy on Advertising (Paperback)
David Ogilvy the worlds most successful direct sales copywriter takes you through the process of crafting great sales copy.With many examples of legendary sales copy written for American Express Card.Who hasn`t seen Oglivy`s work in their letter box
David explains the principles in easy to understand language.From people need to justify their purchases to p
eople don`t like being sold to
Fantastic book worth it`s weight in gold
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The definitive book on how to create great, simple, highly effective advertising, 10 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ogilvy on Advertising (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic book on advertising and learning what works due to, ultimately, human habits and behaviour. I first heard of Ogilvy when I saw a Tweet by Rory Sutherland, who is hilarious and works for this advertising agency (check out his videos on YouTube by the way). It is amazing that in this book the author says that almost all of the things that work in advertising are well known, have been for some time (all methods are explained here too) and most of the creative people who work in Ad agencies all over the world ignore these principles and keep trying to reinvent the wheel. This frustrates the author more than anything! I also didn't know how to distinguish advertising between agencies. However, through illustrations of Ogilvy's big clients and campaigns over the years, this has increased my awareness from absolutely zero to quite a decent level. This was a great educational book to read and great to put ALL of these principles into practise if you want to promote your own business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best marketing book for beginnners I read, 7 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Ogilvy on Advertising (Paperback)
The tips and strategies make it a book that everyone interested in markting should read. Ogilvy turn marketing in an even enjoyable subject. As a pionner in the field, he selects the best stories and examples to ilustrate the development of marketing in this century. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book that should on every Marketing persons bookshelf / coffee table, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ogilvy on Advertising (Paperback)
Full of great ideas and inspiration. Loads of classic advertising campaigns highlighted and explained. If ever you find yourself needing some inspiration or motivation - turn to this book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth is like God - there is only One, 29 Aug 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Ogilvy on Advertising (Paperback)
An outstanding book, more interesting to read than any best-seller romance. The author reveals the truth about advertising. When you read the book, you agree with every word and say to yourself: it's obvious, I have always known this. But could not remember
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ogilvy, THE GENIUS on Advertising, 17 Jan 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Ogilvy on Advertising (Paperback)
An outstanding evergreen book! Every single phrase tells you something USEFUL about Advertising: a 224-page book WORTH BUYING, believe me.
Incredible, so uniquely clear and clever!

David, you have sign-posted THE Job of my life
(Michele Re, an Italian lover of Copywriting - and Ogilvy, naturally).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Ogilvy is my agency's master., 22 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Ogilvy on Advertising (Paperback)
The most valuable tool for any creative thinker. As the owner of an ad agency, I read this book once a year and keep important excerpts for reference at desk, briefcase and home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ogilvy on Advertising
Ogilvy on Advertising by David Ogilvy
£6.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews