Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant, rich drama
Oh, no! Is this really the final series? There is so much mileage left in it! The final episode seems to suggest that it is ending, but I am consoled by having read that the BBC has commissioned a fourth series to be shown in 2015. Phew- thank goodness!!
The nuns find themselves in new and better accommodation and the private lives of the midwives develop movingly as...
Published 1 month ago by Aletheuon

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon failed to inform propect buyers that this DVD can only be watched in UK
I love the series but are disappointed that I can't view them in Holland where I live
for the DVD does work over here....so it s not the contence of the dvd I am disappointed about
but the fact that Amazon failed to inform people when they purchase this product that it can only
be viewed in UK.
Published 2 days ago by La Carolina


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant, rich drama, 17 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Call the Midwife - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Oh, no! Is this really the final series? There is so much mileage left in it! The final episode seems to suggest that it is ending, but I am consoled by having read that the BBC has commissioned a fourth series to be shown in 2015. Phew- thank goodness!!
The nuns find themselves in new and better accommodation and the private lives of the midwives develop movingly as Jenny Lee recovers from her bereavement and finds new love, Chummy loses her mother and finds herself, Trixie loses her heart and Shelagh and Patrick Turner finally achieve a family. (I have to admit to finding Shelagh and Patrick a tiny bit wet).
I was amused by the review suggesting using the dvd as a coaster, because I know a few men who find the childbirth aspect of the series distressing and have to leave the room. My pre-teen grandkids of both genders, on the other hand, take it all in their stride and are addicted to the programme. It is one of the best ever made by the BBC, in my opinion, and its popularity is richly deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great series, 1 Feb 2014
This review is from: Call the Midwife - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 3 is again proving to be a great success and a joy to watch. Great Sunday night viewing without the need for the usual array of bad language and violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Sandra Guilfoyle "Sandy" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I am completely hooked! I would recommend anyone to buy the whole three series. It is rare that a TV series gets better & better but in this case it does. I throughly enjoyed it and looked forward to watching each epsiode. Delighted to hear that a fourth series has been commissioned there is so much more story to be told. The character are great and the stories tackled are harrowing and relevant. I love Miranda Harts character 'Chummy' and also Helen Georges character 'Trixie' loved her style in the the third series.
It is just fabulous and refreshing viewing to watch as opposed to the overdose of gritty crime dramas on tv.
Can't recommend enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Birthday pressie, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect birthday pressie for my daughter-in-law. She loves it, will be watched a lot. I'm sure I'll be roped in to watching it with her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blissful viewing, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Adore the books and have loved the extras put into the DVDs - these have not detracted from the tone of the written word. Another wonderful series which has brought to life the essence of real nursing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this series, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
loved the series on television
now gone my own copy will be able to watch it over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series!, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this series in one day! I could not wait to get onto the next episode! Loved it! Arrived on time and was well packaged. Well worth getting these series as you can watch it over and over and still enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story lines., 18 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I love this series even though storylines can very sad on times. Love all the characters esp chummy alias Miranda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another heartmoving season of Call the Midwife, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved every episode of season three of Call the Midwife. It is astonningly moving and realistic, yet poetic and delicate. I can only recommend it and regret, that Jennifer Worth did not write more. Possibly not all in in is tru to life, since not all in Jenifer worth books has been verified, but it all rings true, from the graphic biths with infants looking like the were really just born to all the perfenalia of the time. Watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent DVD. Just as good as the first series, just brilliant. Miranda Hart and the other actresses and actors make this series live, they make it feel so real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaef50d68)

This product

Call the Midwife - Series 3 [DVD]
Call the Midwife - Series 3 [DVD] by Miranda Hart (DVD - 2014)
13.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews