Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent read
ANother excellent book by John Nixon. I found it more complicated than the previous two books but as a family tree buff I found it very interesting,totally relating to it all. I just hope that there is a fourth book being written right now. Anyone that loves Family History will totally enjoy this book and anyone that is thinking of embarking on such a journey will learn...
Published 5 months ago by Georgina L Tinsley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow to start and 'grip' reader
Slow to draw the strands together but as a genealogists believable. Best to follow the series in order to gain the flow of the continuing story.
Published 2 months ago by Jean I Sanderson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent read, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen Futures (Kindle Edition)
ANother excellent book by John Nixon. I found it more complicated than the previous two books but as a family tree buff I found it very interesting,totally relating to it all. I just hope that there is a fourth book being written right now. Anyone that loves Family History will totally enjoy this book and anyone that is thinking of embarking on such a journey will learn the basics.
Can,t wait for for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Excellent Book by this author, 18 Jan 2014
By 
Helen "Helen" (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen Futures (Kindle Edition)
I was delighted to discover that John Nixon has written a new book as I have thoroughly enjoyed all of his other titles.

This book is also a genealogical detective story, using the same investigator (Madeleine Porter) as in his previous books. The story has interesting twists and turns and is fast moving - I was gripped from beginning to end! The characters are likeable and from my own experience of family history research the research undertaken in the book is spot on.

Its also nice to read a book written by an English author, and a well written book at that!

My only gripe is that John Nixon doesn't write quickly enough - please write a book a week!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen Futures (Kindle Edition)
I have now read all John Nixon books and enjoyed them all. Only comment as a amateur genealogist would be is that the researchers never hit a brick wall and eventually get round it. I think most genealogists hit a brick wall somewhere in their research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting better each time..., 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen Futures (Kindle Edition)
Another good read featuring Mrs Porter as a genealogical detective. The storyline was informative and inventive - a thoroughly pleasant light read for train/bus journeys to work or on your way to the nearest Record Office!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable easy reading, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen Futures (Kindle Edition)
Starting to feel familiar with the characters, as with his previous book, a nice enjoyable interesting read. I look
forward to reading other books from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable book, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen Futures (Kindle Edition)
This was an excellent book. My hobby is genealogy, and so can elate to how they do research. The book is well researched and the story is very woven, excellent read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another good one by John Nixon, 27 Jan 2014
By 
E. Cole (Tetbury, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen Futures (Kindle Edition)
A surprising tale sensitively written. A good read. As always with John Nixon books, it was gripping and difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 21 July 2014
This review is from: Stolen Futures (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book and didn't want to put my Kindle down. I loved the concept and how the research and the family story played out, but was a little disappointed with the end after all the effort and fortunate circumstances in arriving at their conclusions (if only I had their fortune in coming across the right information in my own research instead of the brick walls!). Hence the 4 star rating and not 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stolen Future, 31 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen Futures (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely brilliant - John Nixon has written a brilliant story. A can't put down book. The character and settings come to life. The reader really cares about the characters and wants to learn more. An absolute gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slow to start and 'grip' reader, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen Futures (Kindle Edition)
Slow to draw the strands together but as a genealogists believable. Best to follow the series in order to gain the flow of the continuing story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stolen Futures
Stolen Futures by John Nixon
1.53
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews