Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful heartwarming
This excellent series continues on this complete third season set of 4 DVDs. This set is the complete 3rd season, including the second Christmas special (2013).
DVD1:Christmas Special;
DVD2:Series 3 Ep1-2-3;
DVD3:Series 3 Ep4-5-6;
DVD4:Series 3 Ep7-8
Published 3 months ago by Wajon of Maine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
bought as a present
I don't watch this
Published 5 days ago by P J CLEARY


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful heartwarming, 28 April 2014
By 
Wajon of Maine (Portland, ME USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This excellent series continues on this complete third season set of 4 DVDs. This set is the complete 3rd season, including the second Christmas special (2013).
DVD1:Christmas Special;
DVD2:Series 3 Ep1-2-3;
DVD3:Series 3 Ep4-5-6;
DVD4:Series 3 Ep7-8
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant, rich drama, 17 Mar 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Oh, no! Is this really the final series? There is so much mileage left in it! The final episode seems to suggest that it is ending, but I am consoled by having read that the BBC has commissioned a fourth series to be shown in 2015. Phew- thank goodness!!
The nuns find themselves in new and better accommodation and the private lives of the midwives develop movingly as Jenny Lee recovers from her bereavement and finds new love, Chummy loses her mother and finds herself, Trixie loses her heart and Shelagh and Patrick Turner finally achieve a family. (I have to admit to finding Shelagh and Patrick a tiny bit wet).
I was amused by the review suggesting using the dvd as a coaster, because I know a few men who find the childbirth aspect of the series distressing and have to leave the room. My pre-teen grandkids of both genders, on the other hand, take it all in their stride and are addicted to the programme. It is one of the best ever made by the BBC, in my opinion, and its popularity is richly deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great series, 1 Feb 2014
Series 3 is again proving to be a great success and a joy to watch. Great Sunday night viewing without the need for the usual array of bad language and violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blissful viewing, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Adore the books and have loved the extras put into the DVDs - these have not detracted from the tone of the written word. Another wonderful series which has brought to life the essence of real nursing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this series, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
loved the series on television
now gone my own copy will be able to watch it over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful series, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have bought this for my Daughter as she just loves call the midwife. We have all watched the series on TV but she collects the DVD's and watches them all again. This one is great as it includes the xmas special. Get your hankies out for the last episode and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars midewives., 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have now purchased the whole series. It has been one of the best dramas on tv. I hope there are more to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
IT LIVES UP TO PREVIOUS SERIES AND IS EXCELLENT, I HAVE WATCHED AND LOVED THEM ALL. LETS HAVE SOME MORE PLEASE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This long-anticipated third series exceeded my greatest expectations., 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This long-anticipated third series exceeded my greatest expectations... it is wonderful, and far beyond a five star rating!

'Call the Midwife evenings' have become a weekly highlight for three generations of nurses and midwives in my family, and Series 3 was a delight. The story weaves together every precious thread of human experience, from the depths to the glorious heights. Joy, peace, and the reason for living are discovered even through the deepest sorrow. This depiction of life in the East End of the '50s throbs with reality.

We can't wait for Series 4! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great, it finishes off the series and complete s my series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call The Midwife - Series 3
0.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews