Customer Reviews


234 Reviews
5 star:
 (215)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant, rich drama
Oh, no! Is this really the final series? There is so much mileage left in it! The final episode seems to suggest that it is ending, but I am consoled by having read that the BBC has commissioned a fourth series to be shown in 2015. Phew- thank goodness!!
The nuns find themselves in new and better accommodation and the private lives of the midwives develop movingly as...
Published 9 months ago by Aletheuon

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
bought as a present
I don't watch this
Published 4 months ago by P J CLEARY


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant, rich drama, 17 Mar 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Oh, no! Is this really the final series? There is so much mileage left in it! The final episode seems to suggest that it is ending, but I am consoled by having read that the BBC has commissioned a fourth series to be shown in 2015. Phew- thank goodness!!
The nuns find themselves in new and better accommodation and the private lives of the midwives develop movingly as Jenny Lee recovers from her bereavement and finds new love, Chummy loses her mother and finds herself, Trixie loses her heart and Shelagh and Patrick Turner finally achieve a family. (I have to admit to finding Shelagh and Patrick a tiny bit wet).
I was amused by the review suggesting using the dvd as a coaster, because I know a few men who find the childbirth aspect of the series distressing and have to leave the room. My pre-teen grandkids of both genders, on the other hand, take it all in their stride and are addicted to the programme. It is one of the best ever made by the BBC, in my opinion, and its popularity is richly deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great series, 1 Feb 2014
Series 3 is again proving to be a great success and a joy to watch. Great Sunday night viewing without the need for the usual array of bad language and violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heartbreakingly beautiful series, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again we are invited into the lives of the Midwives who served the people of the East End of London in the 1950s. And as we follow these wonderful women to the homes of expectant mums we enter a realm that tugs at our heart strings and causes torrents of tears. We visit Mums who live in direst poverty with limited amenities, little food yet are filled with cheerfulness and optimism.
We battle on with them through struggles and strife and share their joy as a new life is brought into the world. Their stoicism when faced with disaster their acceptance of conditions that are unthinkable today is admirable.They have this attitude of shrugging things off and simply 'get on with it'. As for the midwives, I adore them absolutely. Gathered from different class structures and backgrounds their upbringings were totally different from the women they serve. But they cope with the dirty beds, the filthy tenements and often abusive partners to deliver their babies with much love and sympathy. The midwives provided a much needed service to most of the women of the East End who before their arrival had their babies without medical help.
Please keep making more series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The heart of humanity, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the other series and specials before it, this third series of Call the Midwife did not disappoint. This has been a story that touches the very heart of humanity and what it means to bring life into the world and care for it in a world that was different from our own modern day, technologically advanced society. But having said that, the themes that run through it are timeless and are as true for one generation as they are for the next......

As always, there were moments when I laughed out loud and moments where I cried (like a baby) at the trails and tribulations of this group of female characters who were each so delightfully different and complex and who brought, to each episode, the joy of watching a really excellent and endearing story unfold. Some could argue that the ending was a little 'too perfect' - life working out the way everyone wants it to - but this is the joy of TV - a happy ending!

It was so lovely to watch something so uplifting and hopeful and not constant misery, swearing, violence and/or gratuitous sex. This is the kind of drama the BBC should be spending our money on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Par Excellence, 20 Jun 2014
By 
Helen Kelley (Pleasantville, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Living in the USA, I could not wait, so I pre-ordered Series 3. This program touches heart in a very different way than most TV programming. The stories are drawn from real life experiences of what women went through giving birth in the East End of London during the 50's. It shares the struggles, the challenges, the hopes and the lives of real people (names changed of course). Her frankness about birth and death are real. The author, Jennifer Worth, wrote a compelling best seller. So sad to realize Jennifer did not live to see this extraordinary TV program.

Will be interesting to see how they continue story line development after the departure of Jessica Raines who played the lead character. They have a very strong cast (Pam Ferris, Jenny Agutter, Miranda Hart, Helen George, Judy Parfitt, Bryony Hannah, Laura Main, Stephen McGann, Cliff Parisi, etc.). I am trusting that this quality production will continue to excel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entertainment quaranteed!!!!, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every member of a minute english-speaking community (there's just 5 of us) are have become addicted to this wonderful series.
Actually, our TV-evenings are much like they used to be back in the late 60's and early 70's when only a single person on the block had a TV-set and everyone would drop in to watch. What else is to be said about the Calling the Midwife? We just want to express our appreciation of a series absolutely perfectly made - starting with the research of that particular time in history, the props, the actors/actresses - perfectly chosen - every role is filled with life by just the right person. We are all extremely sad that Jessica Raine is leaving the "Midwives" but still ecstatic that the show will still go on for at another season. Sadly, all good things must come to an end, I suppose. Recommended highly ba all 5 ex-Pats plus foreigners! There's no better way to spend a great evening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars charming,funny, sad, British, gripping, unmissable romp., 25 May 2014
By 
someone (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This item arrived punctually and as described by seller. I have thoroughly enjoyed the show and have watched all the available seasons. The acting is superb: everyone is good, but the cast had a head start as it includes Jenny Aguter and Miranda Hart. Each character has it's day and you will fall in love with them all. The action is set in a convent where nuns, nurses and midwives support a community in the East end of London. It's based on the diary of a real midwife, who is touchingly played by Jessica Raine. Vanessa Redgrave narrates the memoires, lending the narrative depth and gravitas. Each episode contains at least one gripping story. It's supposed to be suitable for"twelve years and over" although I would say it's suitable for anyone who can endure graphic sights and sounds of childbirth, which arrise frequently and may be more difficult for men than children. A charming, funny and sometimes tragic romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves Its Passionate Fan Base, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never having been interested in midwives, hospital dramas or doctor romance, I really took a gamble buying the first series without having seen more than a YouTube preview. The reviews and passionate fan base persuaded me to risk my money, but now I am into my third box set and would recommend this to anyone. It's a very special series, from the first moments you hear the narrator's voice, to the extraordinary scenes with Miranda Hart delivering babies. I found it hard to get through without crying, but it's mostly just the best, life-affirming, fascinating, spirits-restoring drama you've probably seen for years. Jenny Agutter sets a very high bar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This long-anticipated third series exceeded my greatest expectations., 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This long-anticipated third series exceeded my greatest expectations... it is wonderful, and far beyond a five star rating!

'Call the Midwife evenings' have become a weekly highlight for three generations of nurses and midwives in my family, and Series 3 was a delight. The story weaves together every precious thread of human experience, from the depths to the glorious heights. Joy, peace, and the reason for living are discovered even through the deepest sorrow. This depiction of life in the East End of the '50s throbs with reality.

We can't wait for Series 4! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never dreamed that my husband would enjoy this as it is mostly about birth and babies ..., 16 Nov 2014
Waiting for the last series, the Dvd is on its way. Never dreamed that my husband would enjoy this as it is mostly about birth and babies but he loves it. It is so human, the characters are so real and heartwarming, It gives an excellent impression of the east End in the fifties. It also shows that how poor the people might be, there was so much quality to their lives and the world was such a better place with real normal people and familylife.
This series is a big suprise, one of the best I have seen. Look forward to the third one and may the BBC continue with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call The Midwife - Series 3
£0.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews