Customer Reviews


308 Reviews
5 star:
 (201)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robert Burns
Once more the immortal words of Robert Burns ring true: "Mans' ihumanity to man makes countless thousands mourn" in the never ending atrocities which continue to the present day, Colin Firth and Nicole Kidman are superb in the leading roles of this harrowing true story from the war in the Far East. Well worth watching BUT extremely sad.
Published 4 months ago by An Old Greybeard

versus
81 of 91 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Off the rails
Based on the 1995 memoir of Eric Lomax, the Royal Signals Officer who was tortured by the Japanese when deployed on the construction of the infamous Burma railway, this film uses flashbacks to show the reasons for his emotional repression with violent outbursts of post traumatic stress decades after the event. Colin Firth, a master in this kind of role, plays the older...
Published 7 months ago by Antenna


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robert Burns, 8 May 2014
This review is from: The Railway Man (DVD)
Once more the immortal words of Robert Burns ring true: "Mans' ihumanity to man makes countless thousands mourn" in the never ending atrocities which continue to the present day, Colin Firth and Nicole Kidman are superb in the leading roles of this harrowing true story from the war in the Far East. Well worth watching BUT extremely sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to watch but a wonderful ending, 26 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Railway Man [DVD] (DVD)
As the daughter of a Far East POW I was wondering how close to the 'real thing' this film was going to be. Dad had told me a little of what happened so I knew it wasn't going to be easy viewing. I would absolutely recommend this film to anyone who wishes to find out more about that time - there is so little compared to other WW2 experiences. It also shows the amazing ability to be able to forgive and so move on. It has made me want to visit the area myself which isn't something I could have coped with before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgiveness., 2 July 2014
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Railway Man [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent film in all aspects.

At its core it is the story of forgiveness.

Based on the true life story of Eric Lomax who was captured by the Japanese, forced to work on the impossible to build Burma Railway and tortured severely.

The movie is told in Flashbacks with Eric being played by Colin Firth as the older Lomaz whilst Jeremy Irvine puts in a stellar performance as the younger.

I was pleased Irvine looked like he was from the 1930s. If this were Holywoodized the actor would have looked ripped, tanned and from the 2000 and 10s.
I do think Colin Firth, although a great actor should have been made up to look less young and prettified- but this is a minor quibble.

Nicole Kidman is wonderful in her support.
She too does not look like a blonde bombshell but in this performance she demonstrates what a good actress she is- a pleasant surprise.

The torture scenes and beatings are brutal.
But then they were in real life.
The savage beatings with a pick axe handle the crunch of the broken bones and body hit hard- but then they should to convey the horror of just how the Japanese treated their prisoners who they considered to have 'No Honour' because they surrendered.
the film could have been longer - easily but it does not waste a second in its narration of the film.

I wanted to see the picture for two reasons.
Firstly I am of that generation were all our dads fought in the Second World War- the Granddads had fought in the First World War. Both my father and Uncles never talked about it. They would never give much information away about the war.

My Uncle was captured by the Japanese and forced to slave in a salt mine- it ruined his eyes. BUT I never realised that he had in fact fought in the War- it was never mentioned. Seeing this film I can understand why they never wanted to talk about it.

The other reason is that my Christian Men's Group are studying the Ten Commandments. The question of Forgiveness came up and as group we decided to watch the film which portrays forgiveness well.
At the end of the film there was silence.

It is a thoughtful film, well made and Worthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Saga of Suffering and Redemption, 28 July 2014
This review is from: The Railway Man (DVD)
Okay, this film sometimes departs from the book by Eric Lomax but it's still a masterpiece in its own right and one well worth seeing. Lomax suffered horribly, along with a great many
Allied and Asian prisoners who were forced to work on Japan's infamous 'Burma Railroad' in World War II. His tormentor was an intelligence officer and interpreter in the Imperial Army, although the actual torture meted out to Lomax was ordered by the members of the Kenpeitai or Japanese Military Police. The interpreter merely spoke for those men, probably fearing that if he not intimidate Lomax as the Kenpeitai wanted, in their desire to know the whereabouts of a radio hidden among the prisoners, he, too, would feel the crack of the whip. Lomax himself did not crack, despite unimaginable pain, and lived o see the war end with Japan's surrender and for many many years after that. But his postwar life was constantly plagued by nightmares of what he had endured long ago and it was not until he was able to return to the scene and meet the interpreter, ironically employed as a tour guide of the prison camp, that he achieved a sense of peace. This was possible not only because of his own strong humanity but also because the interpreter, struggling with demons over what he had done, was open to and indeed
keen to reach, reconciliation with Lomax. There are other instances of similar reconciliation involving Japanese and Western veterans of the Burma Road, Iwo Jima and other such hells from the War, but the story of Eric Lomax is especially moving. Colin Firth does well as the older Lomax; Nicole Kidman, likewise, as his wife. The are some problems with the scene depicting
the prisoners slaving away on the railway under the close supervision of Japanese guards. But that kind of scene would be almost impossible to create in any case. What counts in a film like this is the underlying message: that hatred born of war and suffering can be overcome if there is a will to forgive, if not forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 91 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Off the rails, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Railway Man [DVD] (DVD)
Based on the 1995 memoir of Eric Lomax, the Royal Signals Officer who was tortured by the Japanese when deployed on the construction of the infamous Burma railway, this film uses flashbacks to show the reasons for his emotional repression with violent outbursts of post traumatic stress decades after the event. Colin Firth, a master in this kind of role, plays the older Lomax, with Jeremy Irvine putting in a strong performance as his younger self, earnest, floppy-haired and prepared with quiet bravery to take the rap for the assembly of an illicit radio receiver. Nicole Kidman assumes a convincing English accent to play the sympathetic new wife who is determined to extract Lomax from his mental agony. When Lomax discovers in the 1980s that Takashi Nagase, the young interpreter who played a key part in his torture, is still alive, working, of all things, as a guide at the Kanchanaburi War Museum (close to the famous bridge on the river Kwai) he is initially bent on revenge as a means of exorcising his demons.

I was disappointed by the first half: dialogues often seem stilted as in the "Brief Encounter" style meeting on a train between Lomax and his future wife Patti. Lomax looks much younger than the fellow officers with whom he has kept in contact, and he could have done with a few more scars and grey hairs. The sets "back home" have more of a 1950s feel than the 1980s as I remember them. Worst of all, the earlier scenes in the jungle are often confusing or hammy, apart from the final harrowing torture in the dreaded hut. Overall, the script and direction often appear wooden until the final resolution.

The film was saved for me by the second part of the film which is unpredictable, moving and well-developed. Throughout, the scenery is beautiful, both in the Kwai valley, despite the horror of the slave labour and brutality, and in the scenery around Lomax's stark grey house overlooking a golden beach and the sea at, I think, Berwick-upon-Tweed.

I have read that, in fact, Lomax had a first wife for the best part of forty years, whom he left for Patti, and two daughters, all largely omitted from his memoir. I understand why the director let this stand, in order perhaps to create a tighter and more focused drama, but this has been at the price of concealing and neglecting other lives directly blighted by what Lomax suffered.

The film may not do justice to the highly acclaimed autobiography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surreal and emotive., 9 May 2014
This review is from: The Railway Man [DVD] (DVD)
An acutely moving and nightmarish portrayal of the brutality suffered by POW's at the hands of their Japanese captors during world war 2. I see no point in adding to other reviewers comments, however, I will simply say that at the end of this harrowing and beautifully made homage to suffering and the utter futility of war... I was in tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerul portrayal of a man's refusal to surrender., 24 July 2014
By 
M. J. Ingram "mosieposie" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Railway Man [DVD] (DVD)
A top quality film with a stellar cast. Having read Eric Lomax's book some years ago, the harrowing record of his treatment by the Japanese as a POW stayed with me for months afterwards & still comes to mind. When this film was released I felt unable to watch it in a cinema and have only just steeled myself to watch it on dvd knowing that Colin Firth would give a true representation of Eric Lomax's experiences rather than a dramatic portrayal. With a horror of violence, I could not bring myself to witness the brutality meted out to the POWs and expect the usual accompanying nightmares, but having had them for over 50 years, consider them a small price to pay compared to the suffering of the men & women living through the reality of war.This film should be mandatory viewing for senior students, to bring home this reality, but also the message that reconciliation is possible if both parties can bring themselves to let go of hostility & hatred. A sobering & powerful experience; I feel a better person for facing up to my fears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two former enemies, who became great friends!, 21 July 2014
A former British Army officer,(Colin Firth) who was tormented as a prisoner of war at a Japanese labor camp during World War II, discovers that the man (Hiroyuki Sanada) responsible for much of his treatment is still alive and sets out to confront him.

Very well directed throughout, Colin Firth and Nicole Kidman are great in the leading roles and with a great supporting cast as well, difficult to watch at times, gripping story that keeps you watching, unpredictable, moving and well developed.

Overall a very good film. Would recommend this to anyone who likes war films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great a expectation...., 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very intensive great movie about a dark period of WW2 in Asia....the film is set in Thailand and shows the brutality of being a POW under Japanese rule....both main actors Colin Firth and Nicole Kidmen performed outstanding..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is a must! The horrors of the infamous "Burma Railway" retold through the memories of a survivor., 6 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. D. Surrey "Castell" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man [DVD] (DVD)
The Burma railway was also known as the "Death railway!". It was 258 Miles and stretched from Bangkok to Burma . It was constructed in 1943 by forced labour consisting of 180,000 Asian civilians,and 60,000 allied prisoners of war.Of these 90,000 Asian workers died and 12,399 Allied prisoners died.The line was closed in 1947 but partly re-opened in 1957.The majority of the dead allied soldiers were British,but there was also Dutch,Australians and Americans with 20 other from the commonwealth countries.
This is the story of one man's fight to regain inner peace and sanity after he returned home at the end of WW2.

During the harrowing scenes in the film,it shows "Hellfire Pass".This was a particularly difficult section of the line due to it being cut out of sheer rocks,all by hand.Sixty Nine men were beaten to death by the Japanese Guards and many more died from Cholera and Dysentery and starvation...

In the film our hero (Colin Firth) recognises a Major from British Forces.The Major sadly was in a shocking state and on the point of death by exhaustion.

It is pointless me going over the storyline as others have beaten me to it,however,Nicole Kidman played a stellar role as the new wife of the mentally broken Eric Lomax..It was she who helped him on the road to recovery,although for most of the film she was locked out of his mind.After Eric found out that the worst of the brutal Japanese Officers was still alive,he planned to kill him.Finally he made peace with the Officer,and indeed they then became the best of friends that carried them into their old age together.

A memorable film that puts into context the famous saying of "Lest we forget!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Railway Man [DVD]
The Railway Man [DVD] by Jonathan Teplitzky (DVD - 2014)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews