Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Enjoyable
To my surprise - and for such a low price - this CD set is consistently excellent. Within the 60 songs there are no real duds.

Most importantly for me, these are authentic recordings from the time and the sound is very good. I share another reviewer's disappointment that there is no further information on the recordings, specifically dates of recording,...
Published 8 months ago by Stephen Morse

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Songs WW1
The songs are recorded from the original - I found some of them rather difficult to listen to as they are not too clear - I want to use them for some events we are providing and would have preferred a recording that we could just have playing in the background - but this will not be possible to do with most of the songs on the cd as they are just too crackly etc...
Published 6 months ago by lynfordlady


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Enjoyable, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Stephen Morse (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
To my surprise - and for such a low price - this CD set is consistently excellent. Within the 60 songs there are no real duds.

Most importantly for me, these are authentic recordings from the time and the sound is very good. I share another reviewer's disappointment that there is no further information on the recordings, specifically dates of recording, but that won't stop me from giving the package 5 stars. I am 66 years old and this collection contains most of the familiar favourites plus others I found myself knowing once I got into the chorus of the song. I am very satisfied with my purchase !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
Considering most if not all these recordings are going on for 100 years old the sound is inevitably 'vintage,' but that is only to be expected. What loses a star is the total absence of any documentation! Far better to have charged another pound and included a booklet which would have greatly enhanced the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a singsong, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
Lovely to hear original recordings of theses songs, our church is having a flower festival based on WW1 songs, so this was good research material, people never remember the verses only the chorus, the verses are well worth listening too.
Be great for schools doing projects on the Great War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs from WW1, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
The collectionof songs from this era is very good and is bringing back vivid memories for my mother who is busy with the Women's Institute getting ready to celebrate their centenary next year. One slight criticism is that there should have been a bibliography included to explain the songs and list the lyrics in full. Perhaps a re-issue with these included will be a best seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Songs WW1, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
The songs are recorded from the original - I found some of them rather difficult to listen to as they are not too clear - I want to use them for some events we are providing and would have preferred a recording that we could just have playing in the background - but this will not be possible to do with most of the songs on the cd as they are just too crackly etc. Otherwise they are obviously a true listening experience from back in the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars World War 1, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
I should have read all reviews before purchasing this item. As one review states - all appear to be original recordings and very difficult to listen to. I had wanted to use this for exercise session as part of commemorative event, but sound not good enough.. Has anyone purchased C.D. of music of this era which is better quality?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
Perfect for what it was intended.. Back up to the World War One Anniversary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Songs of World war 1, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
Purchased for a relative who appreciated it greatly, especially the authentic sounding scratchiness. Will be used at local rememberance exhibition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what was wanted, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
Just what was wanted for a World War One exhibition to be held next year. Good background music to create a suitable atmosphere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WWI songs, 10 Jun 2014
By 
C. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
The CD is just what we wanted for playing over the audio system as background music for an exhibition commemorating the centenary of WWI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs Of World War 1
Songs Of World War 1 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews