Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Enjoyable
To my surprise - and for such a low price - this CD set is consistently excellent. Within the 60 songs there are no real duds.

Most importantly for me, these are authentic recordings from the time and the sound is very good. I share another reviewer's disappointment that there is no further information on the recordings, specifically dates of recording,...
Published 15 months ago by Stephen Morse

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The quality was not as good as I had expected
The quality was not as good as I had expected. But there again price wise it was quite a good offer.
Published 10 months ago by Joan Ewins


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Enjoyable, 21 Mar. 2014
By 
Stephen Morse (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
To my surprise - and for such a low price - this CD set is consistently excellent. Within the 60 songs there are no real duds.

Most importantly for me, these are authentic recordings from the time and the sound is very good. I share another reviewer's disappointment that there is no further information on the recordings, specifically dates of recording, but that won't stop me from giving the package 5 stars. I am 66 years old and this collection contains most of the familiar favourites plus others I found myself knowing once I got into the chorus of the song. I am very satisfied with my purchase !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
Considering most if not all these recordings are going on for 100 years old the sound is inevitably 'vintage,' but that is only to be expected. What loses a star is the total absence of any documentation! Far better to have charged another pound and included a booklet which would have greatly enhanced the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a singsong, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
Lovely to hear original recordings of theses songs, our church is having a flower festival based on WW1 songs, so this was good research material, people never remember the verses only the chorus, the verses are well worth listening too.
Be great for schools doing projects on the Great War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs from WW1, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
The collectionof songs from this era is very good and is bringing back vivid memories for my mother who is busy with the Women's Institute getting ready to celebrate their centenary next year. One slight criticism is that there should have been a bibliography included to explain the songs and list the lyrics in full. Perhaps a re-issue with these included will be a best seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and I would have liked more notes and details than just a list of ..., 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
Extraordinary value for money in this evocative set of songs from the era. Some familiar, some less so. Interesting to see how some genuinely tug at the heartstrings while others are clearly bandwagon jumpers. The mocking of the conscientious objector as a camp 'pansy' is a truly chilling moment. Original recordings, so don't expect hifi sound, and I would have liked more notes and details than just a list of songs and artistes, but still a very worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars World War 1 comprehensive musical catelogue of recordins., 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
Comprehensive original artist recordings of the most played songs in WW1. Nothing unfamiliar but amazingly fresh for such early sound recordings. Extremely good value considering the number of tracks and the fidelity achieved for the sources available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
Perfect for what it was intended.. Back up to the World War One Anniversary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Studying WW1 with Open Uni-this cd helps as the lyrics ..., 25 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. John Thompson "john80c" (Otley,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
Studying WW1 with Open Uni-this cd helps as the lyrics of the songs encapuslate the optimism of men marching to certain death-it is a salute to their bravery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Songs of World war 1, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
Purchased for a relative who appreciated it greatly, especially the authentic sounding scratchiness. Will be used at local rememberance exhibition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what was wanted, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Of World War 1 (Audio CD)
Just what was wanted for a World War One exhibition to be held next year. Good background music to create a suitable atmosphere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs Of World War 1
Songs Of World War 1 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews