Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A consistently good annual collection
The folk awards annual very rarely lets you down and this year's edition continues the trend. It appears to me that this year the judges have returned to their roots a bit more than in previous years as most of the acts features as is apparent are in the main either solo artists or duos who use traditional instruments, song structures and more often than not lyrical...
Published 15 months ago by Big Jim

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quite a departure from previous years
It may grow on me, but after a couple of listens i'm struggling to summon up the enthusiasm to give it the chance.
The previous 3 years have all had a good number of songs that draw me back time and again, this years feels like mainly filler.
Published 15 months ago by Mr P Boardman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A consistently good annual collection, 16 Feb. 2014
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2014 (MP3 Download)
The folk awards annual very rarely lets you down and this year's edition continues the trend. It appears to me that this year the judges have returned to their roots a bit more than in previous years as most of the acts features as is apparent are in the main either solo artists or duos who use traditional instruments, song structures and more often than not lyrical influences. And that's no bad thing but I do miss the odd cuckoo in the nest that previous years have thrown up so we are left with the likes of Lau and Lisa Knapp pushing the "folk" boundaries just a bit. For me, this is no bad thing though as all the tracks on here from the plaintive opener Willie of Winsbury to the majestic Lau and their Throwing Pennies have something to recommend them and everyone will have their own favourites. An essential listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, as ever., 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2014 (MP3 Download)
The genre is more exciting now than in the last 30 years and I am look forward to hearing good music by new and old in the future. This album is a good taster of this.

I have these albums from the first year and the rise of young acts over that time is heartening.

If you don't worry one way or the other, it's full of good music by the way...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2014 (MP3 Download)
I enjoyed the music on this so much I have bought the folk awards 2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2014 (MP3 Download)
Best BBC Folk Awards CD I've heard in a long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2014 (MP3 Download)
Excellent CD with a very eclectic mix of folk music. This is highly recommended. Folk music is alive and kicking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2014 (MP3 Download)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quite a departure from previous years, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Folk Awards 2014 (MP3 Download)
It may grow on me, but after a couple of listens i'm struggling to summon up the enthusiasm to give it the chance.
The previous 3 years have all had a good number of songs that draw me back time and again, this years feels like mainly filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BBC Folk Awards 2014
BBC Folk Awards 2014 by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews