Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars acer iconia b1-720
having just got this tablet I have found it to be superb & quite fast on wifi I have down loaded loads of free apps & have added a 32gb micro sd card full of my films which I can watch when ever I like & change etc.
I only have one problem hence the 4 stars instead or 5 stars, in the adverts on here regarding the use of this tablet it says you can upgrade to...
Published 6 months ago by druid

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unhappy
Bought 4 of these for Christmas last year and now none of them work. They do not charge and they do not accept the San disc in them. If you do manage to get them charged they do not switch on without constantly setting the reset button.

Would not recommend to anyone
Published 3 months ago by Diane B.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars acer iconia b1-720, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
having just got this tablet I have found it to be superb & quite fast on wifi I have down loaded loads of free apps & have added a 32gb micro sd card full of my films which I can watch when ever I like & change etc.
I only have one problem hence the 4 stars instead or 5 stars, in the adverts on here regarding the use of this tablet it says you can upgrade to kitkat.
I have gone into the system software upgrade & it just says your tablet is up to date, & will not upgrade to kitkat.
can anyone on here let me know if there is another way to upgrade this tablet to kitkat.
the acer website says nothing about upgrading to kitkat.
other than this I am pleased with my purchase.

update: I have now managed to upgrade to kitkat 4.4.2 so everything is now fine & it is a superb tablet for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bargain Buy., 25 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. J. Main - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How on earth can you buy this much technology for the price you pay? My only problem is learning how to use it to its full potential. Instructional documents are non existent, and even the manual on the Acer website is not particularly comprehensive. Trial and error has got me so far, but I think I will need to look for a book on tablets and/or Android operating systems to get to better grips with it. It is an attractive object, and easily portable, so should be more than adequate for non computer geeks. Highly satisfied, except for the absence of clear instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for me, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only wanted a tablet to use as a secondary device to my main DT PC and this is great for that, i dont bother with music or movies - just mail, game companion apps, internet searches, FB etc and i have had no problems at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Acer Iconia b1 720, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was a gift for a friend who has no IT skills and has found it very easy to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good easy to use clear screen reasonable battery life just ..., 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good easy to use clear screen reasonable battery life just remember to switch off wi fi when not in use also remove all apps you don't use as they can run In background and use power
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent competition for Kindle Fire HD, 3 Aug 2014
This device is a close rival to the slightly more expensive Kindle Fire HD, with the added bonus that the Google Play Store is available. If you're serious about processing power, though, look for a quad core device like the Google Nexus 7 (quite a bit more expensive) or consider the Tesco Hudl (same price as the Kindle Fire but much better spec.). Having said that, the Acer copes fine with Asphalt 8 and similar power-hungry games. It's absolutely fine as a PC replacement for writing, reading, and Mahjong! I purchased a refurbished unit for half the price here, to carry around instead of taking my ultra-expensive 10" tablet out of the house regularly.

The device comes with lot of stock apps, which I think a novice would find really useful (if not slightly overwhelming). As a power user, this 'bloatware' is an irritation and I don't believe there's anything here that you can't get for free from the Play Store if you desire. Here's what's included:

- 'Standard' apps that come on most devices, mainly Google products - Chrome (unnecessary as standard Browser app is just fine), Calculator, Calendar, Camera (note only front-facing 'webcam' is available) , Clock, Gallery, Gmail, Email, Maps, Play Movies/TV, Google Search, Google Translate, People (contacts), Google Photos, YouTube.
- Acer apps - AcerCloud offers free storage and links easily to their other apps on the device: Music, Photo, Docs and Video. There's also a Remote Files app that needs your AcerCloud login to work. These appear on the Play Store as abDocs, abFiles, abMusic, abPhoto, abVideo.
- Music/audio stores/players - overkill here, with Google Play Music and 7digital both offering a store and player, plus the Acer Music app above. Also on the device is the Audible and TuneIn Radio.
- online storage - despite giving you their own AcerCloud noted above, Google Drive and Dropbox are also preinstalled.
- reading - duplication seems to be the thing here, as you have Play Books and Kobo, and Play Newstand and Zinio.
- social - Google+ and Hangouts only. I'd prefer to choose to (not) install these rather than have them stuck on the device. There's also Skype for video calling, although you can do that in Hangouts (more duplication).
- ASTRO File Manager seems decent (mind the adds) and has the handy function to connect with many online storage facilities, making some of the Acer apps seem superfluous.
- Movie Studio - tends to appear as standard on a lot of Android devices. Not used yet, but looks like a decent tool for editing and splicing together video.
- Play Games (Play Store add-on to record game achievements), Games (an alternate store - why?!) and Top HD Games (just a URL that eventually takes you to the Play Store - pointless).
- AccuWeather - possibly one of the best weather apps if you want lots of info.
- Evernote - arguably the best of the bunch, and free too.
- McAfee Security - first device I've come across that includes any security/antivirus product. Looks ok, but they want an annual subscription to enable a lot of the features.
- Agoda Smarter Hotel Booking - total random addition!

While you can't install unwanted apps, you can disable them. Acer don't seem to have particularly customised Android either, which is a relief.

A final note for power users - this device does work with Helium and adb generally, although you need to download the driver from Acer's website. It is quirky and sometimes takes a few attempts to restore larger app data files - the only way I could get Asphalt 8 restored onto the device was to make it the first app I installed and restored. This seems to be an Acer issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So far it has operated fantastically and he (8 yrs) has had no problem using it and is delighted. It was very easy to initially, 12 Dec 2014
Ordered for my little mans birthday and it arrived in original packaging as advertised on the date it was due. So far it has operated fantastically and he (8 yrs) has had no problem using it and is delighted. It was very easy to initially set up and slave to my Wi-fi. Miles better than the Galaxy Tab 3 7" tablet I got for the wife which has failed utterly after 11 months in that charging it regardless of what cable or adapter used is just not happening get the Acer its far better value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing product, 16 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this product on Friday and was delivered on Saturday, I bought this product as a gift for my mother as she has had a stroke 4 years ago and found it hard using the laptop she's absolutely frilled with this product its very easy to use and to learn I've used this seller quite alot and couldn't praise them enough will be buying from you again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, 19 Dec 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a present for my son's 8th birthday. Of my three children, all of who now have tablets, this is the best of the lot. It has a crystal clear screen, is the most responsive and the best quality. I wouldn't hesitate to buy another if the need arose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice tablet for my 8 year old, 1 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice tablet for my 8 year old.Very lightweight.Very long charger wire which i liked alot. Clear screen and plenty of storage for films and games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews