Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great modern take on a wonderful classic
Fabulous drama, perfectly cast and set. Locations are very atmospheric and the costumes are beautiful. It is a great escapist romp. So pleased the BBC have announced a second series........cannot wait!!

Would like to correct M. Evans who seems to have ethnic issues of his own. Firstly the actor who plays D'Artagnan is not of Asian origin but British born of...
Published 1 month ago by eva ciechonska

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some fun
The BBC take on a classic story and give it a neat spruce up. The Musketeers may not be historically accurate or totally true to the original book but it is gloriously good fun.

This interpretation has action by the bucket load and a smattering of mystery to hook you to the end. In fact this is exactly what a dull Sunday evening line up needed. An injection of...
Published 15 days ago by T. Cosens


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great modern take on a wonderful classic, 7 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Musketeers [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Fabulous drama, perfectly cast and set. Locations are very atmospheric and the costumes are beautiful. It is a great escapist romp. So pleased the BBC have announced a second series........cannot wait!!

Would like to correct M. Evans who seems to have ethnic issues of his own. Firstly the actor who plays D'Artagnan is not of Asian origin but British born of Italian parents and secondly I am sure Alexandre Dumas (pere) would have applauded the choice of a mixed race actor playing Porthos. After all his own father, Thomas-Alexander Dumas, was mixed race (French father Haitian mother) and a highly decorated general in the French Army. Could be the BBC are paying homage to that......and why not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Modern' Musketeers!, 17 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Musketeers [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
This is a wonderful production - carefully and effectively filmed so that it looks the real thing. I can almost smell the filth of the streets of Paris or the Court of Miracles. The casting is excellent - the different characters and back stories of the 4 musketeers beautifully exploited by the different actors and Peter Capaldi's Cardinal Richelieu takes me back to my A-Level history studies. I know it's not entirely historically accurate, but somehow that doesn't matter as it is so well done. The dialogue is fast, witty and very funny and I like the use of 'modern' language. I laugh out loud and there are not many occasions where TV does that for me. Sunday evenings are great and I can't wait to get the DVD and watch the episodes all over again. Well done BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, swashbuckling escapism, 9 April 2014
By 
Aine (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Musketeers [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
The critics in Britain were a bit sniffy about this series, unfairly I think. It isn't Sherlock, or Game of Thrones or Broadchurch, but it isn't trying to be.

It is solid mainstream drama, but with a lightness of touch. While clearly inspired by the book, purists won't like it: but the characters have much more back-story. Peter Capaldi's Richelieu is less a pantomime villain, and actually more frightening as a result. The actors generally are very high calibre - for instance Howard Charles is an RSC veteran, Tom Burke is an award-winning stage actor. The women who appear are more than mere window-dressing, thankfully: if you object to that and to the casting of a mixed-race actor, you're living in the wrong century and the wrong country. It's supposed to be entertainment for a multicultural audience - especially as Dumas himself had a part-African heritage.

The locations are at times breathtaking, and the lighting and direction invoke such atmosphere.

The DVD extras are limited, but of interest: behind-the-scenes of the "Boot camp", watching the actors being trained in swordsmanship etc; costume; set design; and practising a key scene in the final episode.

I do hope future releases will have a bit more - directors' and actors' commentaries would be fascinating; and surely there must be some cracking out-takes...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action Packed, 6 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Musketeers [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Excellent version of the Musketeers,In fact the best I have seen.All the actors are very well cast,The stories are intriguing and exciting and each episode is a real treat,I look forward to the dvd release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Sunday entertainment, 25 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Musketeers [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
To me, Atlantis was a 'meh' BBC show, failing to live up to the standards of Merlin, Doctor Who and Robin Hood. However, I was very interested in the new 'Musketeers' series advertised- and on a Sunday 9'o clock slot. The first episode converted me- the plot was great, the characters interesting and I am a staunch supporter. As the series continues, the characters are developing and getting an episode each- now making it hard to choose a favourite! The casting is excellent, Capaldi is getting some screen time before he takes up the role of the Doctor, and the other Musketeers are well-portrayed. The writing is both funny and gripping, and the show really shines.

I will be sad when the series ends, but I hope series 2 will live up to the (so far) high standards of the first. It's great to watch and I advise buying this as soon as it is released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun drama of the more old fashioned variety, 8 Feb 2014
By 
Ms. K. M. Shand (Derby, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Musketeers [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
If you enjoy watching sexy guys engaging in sword fighting, romancing women, cracking a few jokes and getting themselves into trouble with the bad guys - and all of it set within 17th century France - then this is the show for you..

It's a series of stand-alone episodes but with a long-term storyarc happening in the background, which finally comes together by the series final. It's not a drama that has complex story lines or anti-heroes and it doesn't stick faithfully to the original book source, which may annoy purists - though all the main characters are present - it's just a 'lighter' drama for those who want to watch a more old fashioned drama that has an even mix of the fun and the serious and is a bit different to the almost constant dark and gritty crime dramas that are popular today. It does have a modern twist, issues such as slavery and women's rights come up in two episodes and even Constance is a bit of a modern girl at the side of many previous incarnations of the character - and this time she's married, as the books author originally intended.

The four main characters are well cast in my view and distinctive from one another in a realistic fashion, from a young and hot-headed D'artagnan ( Luke Pasqualino does a good job of bringing warmth and humour but also immaturity to a character who's often the dullest of the main characters or too boyish for some viewers to take seriously. At 23 years of age, he still makes a young D'artagnan but one who's clearly growing to be a man and the greatest Musketeer of all ) to brooding Athos to ladies-man Aramis ( though he does show other more serious and even dark aspects to his character l ) to a Porthas who's clearly Porthas buf not as cliché or OTT as previous incarnations. The characters feel a bit darker, three dimensional and more 'real' than some past incarnations.

Peter Capaldie plays a villain who is far from pantomime, very much lingering in the background during the first half of the series, only to gradually become more power hungry and unstable as the series goes on. Peter does a fine job of portraying a character who's clearly changing throughout the course of the show, from a character who's a bit charming to begin with to one who's definately not be crossed. He doesn't dominate the show too much during early episodes.

There is a lot of violence in the show, which you'd expect with a drama that involves lots of sword fighting, guns & knives but there's no sex scenes ( only bed scenes, like the kind you'd get in a James Bond film ) and very little swearing, which means you wouldn't be embarrassed to watch it with your parents and you could allow older children to watch it, as long as you were comfortable with the level of violence that's not too graphic.

The show isn't perfect - some elements are rushed ( such as how quickly D'artagnan is taken in by the 3 Musketeers as part of their group and the fact that most of the time, D'artagnan seems to be a Musketeer in all but name) some scenes are cliché ( in episode 1, Aramis has to quickly escape his lovers bedroom via the window ) I'm not sure the character of Milady has the 'vulnerability' needed of her character to draw in both Athos and D'artagnan, though she is certainly sexy ( I like the actress ) and whilst Constence is a likable, fun and strong female character ( even sounding a bit 'modern day' at times ) she becomes attached to D'artagnan quite quickly, which might be an issue for some viewers. On the other hand, whilst her attraction to him is almost instant, his attraction to her is more of a slow burn ( though he likes her a lot ) and this benefits the relationship in the long term because their feelings are growing from friendship and respect as well as physical attraction. This is still very much a show where the boys rule but there are good and strong moments for the female characters.

This is definitely a fun show but still with serious and intense moments ( especially as the series goes on, so you need to stick with it for several episodes, instead of judging it on just the first ) and whether you stick with it largely depends on whether you warm to the show's main characters and are longing for something 'lighter' than the dark dramas of modern times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful series!, 16 April 2014
This review is from: The Musketeers [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I loved this series and confess to being madly in love with each and every one of these musketeers, especially Aramis. The hint of a love story surrounding Athos really stuck with me. I did wonder at the start why Porthos was of mixed race, unlikely given the era, but it worked out well particularly in one episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Musketeers [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
God this series is fantastic and the four hot Muskateers help a lot. I love the romance element that runs through it, and some of the banter between the Muskateers is very funny. The action scenes are well thought out and you get a real feeling of the tawdry side of Paris. Can't wait for series 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous Swashbuckle, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Musketeers [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Well I grew to really enjoy this series. The theme music is by the great Murray Gold (dr Who) so up to the standard you expect and the era is brought to the screen excellently. Didn't realise they would use guns so much, but made it all the more exciting. I took time to warm to it, but it became a must have for future viewing. It could have been a bit more ruthless in its story lines but it IS family viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some fun, 3 April 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Musketeers [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
The BBC take on a classic story and give it a neat spruce up. The Musketeers may not be historically accurate or totally true to the original book but it is gloriously good fun.

This interpretation has action by the bucket load and a smattering of mystery to hook you to the end. In fact this is exactly what a dull Sunday evening line up needed. An injection of fun.

It's not particularly clever or ground breaking but it does entertain which on a basic level is all a program like this should do. The actors are game and with a few well known cameos littered throughout there is plenty here to like.

It also doesn't follow the same rigid formula the BBC likes to settle into with the likes of Robin Hood, Merlin and to some extent Doctor Who. Each episode offers something new.

The Musketeers offers plenty of bang for its buck and if it isn't as finely crafted as some of the aforementioned shows it certainly has potential to grow. Another series would be most welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa218c174)

This product

The Musketeers [Blu-ray] [2014]
The Musketeers [Blu-ray] [2014] by Saul Metzstein (Blu-ray - 2014)
21.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews