Customer Reviews


190 Reviews
5 star:
 (165)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great modern take on a wonderful classic
Fabulous drama, perfectly cast and set. Locations are very atmospheric and the costumes are beautiful. It is a great escapist romp. So pleased the BBC have announced a second series........cannot wait!!

Would like to correct M. Evans who seems to have ethnic issues of his own. Firstly the actor who plays D'Artagnan is not of Asian origin but British born of...
Published 9 months ago by eva ciechonska

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some fun
The BBC take on a classic story and give it a neat spruce up. The Musketeers may not be historically accurate or totally true to the original book but it is gloriously good fun.

This interpretation has action by the bucket load and a smattering of mystery to hook you to the end. In fact this is exactly what a dull Sunday evening line up needed. An injection of...
Published 8 months ago by T. Cosens


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great modern take on a wonderful classic, 7 Mar 2014
Fabulous drama, perfectly cast and set. Locations are very atmospheric and the costumes are beautiful. It is a great escapist romp. So pleased the BBC have announced a second series........cannot wait!!

Would like to correct M. Evans who seems to have ethnic issues of his own. Firstly the actor who plays D'Artagnan is not of Asian origin but British born of Italian parents and secondly I am sure Alexandre Dumas (pere) would have applauded the choice of a mixed race actor playing Porthos. After all his own father, Thomas-Alexander Dumas, was mixed race (French father Haitian mother) and a highly decorated general in the French Army. Could be the BBC are paying homage to that......and why not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great example of the swashbuckler genre., 14 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Musketeers [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
The perfect gift to compliment this wonderful series is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Every episode brings something new which is mixed with the original story-line. It's interesting to see some references from the old movies as well. The production values and cinematography are superb, also there is an innate sense of the period.

This is a great example of the swashbuckler genre with the aid of some digital details(the Notre Dame seen from Richelieu's window or The Louvre seen from the river's sewers). Details very well used that are important to the dimension of the story.

The characters are very well developed and the writers use the well known background to give further intriguing story lines about them. Porthos (Howard Charles) is a good example of this. Athos and Aramis are more like we are used to see but there's a much stronger and emotional perspective. Specially with Athos' past and the intense way Tom Burke portrays him. Aramis (Santiago Cabrera) has a new love in this story, Queen Anne (Alexandra Downling) and I'm curious to see how it is going to end.

D'artagnan (Luke Pasqualino) and Constance (Tamla Kari) have a great chemistry. They say more to each other with the eyes than with words.

Villains are very important to a story and this adaptation doesn't fail in that. They are not the stereotyped villains we are used to. Of course Milady de Winter (Maimie McCoy) is an evil character but there's a whole metamorphosis process behind her complexity. Richelieu (Peter Capaldi) is a more down to earth antagonist and as cold and ruthless as Milady can be, he is still the better player. Vadim was another surprise and Jason Flemyng's intense performance makes us surrender to the new addition to Dumas' classic tale.

A great show. Congratulations to all the team involved with this series. BBC at its best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some fun, 3 April 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The BBC take on a classic story and give it a neat spruce up. The Musketeers may not be historically accurate or totally true to the original book but it is gloriously good fun.

This interpretation has action by the bucket load and a smattering of mystery to hook you to the end. In fact this is exactly what a dull Sunday evening line up needed. An injection of fun.

It's not particularly clever or ground breaking but it does entertain which on a basic level is all a program like this should do. The actors are game and with a few well known cameos littered throughout there is plenty here to like.

It also doesn't follow the same rigid formula the BBC likes to settle into with the likes of Robin Hood, Merlin and to some extent Doctor Who. Each episode offers something new.

The Musketeers offers plenty of bang for its buck and if it isn't as finely crafted as some of the aforementioned shows it certainly has potential to grow. Another series would be most welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern take on a classic, 8 Feb 2014
By 
Ms. K. M. Shand (Derby, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Musketeers [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
If you enjoy watching sexy guys engaging in sword fighting, romancing women, cracking a few jokes and battling the enemy - and all of it set within 17th century France - then this is the show for you..

It's a series of stand-alone episodes but with a long-term story arc developing in the background, which finally comes together by the series final. It's not a drama that has complex storylines or anti-heroes and it doesn't stick faithfully to the original book source, which may annoy purists - though all the main characters are present - it's just a 'lighter' drama for those who want to watch something different to the almost constant dark and gritty crime dramas that are common today. It does have a modern twist, with issues such as slavery and women's rights coming up in two episodes and even Constance is a bit of a modern girl at the side of many previous and dull incarnations of the character - and this time she's married, as the books author originally intended.

The four main characters are well cast and distinctive from one another in a realistic fashion, from young D'artagnan ( Luke Pasqualino does a good job of bringing warmth and humour but also a little darkness to a character who's often the dullest of the main characters or too boyish for some viewers to take seriously. At 23 years of age, he still makes a young, immature and cocky D'artagnan but one with hints of the handsome man and great Musketeer he will become ) to brooding Athos to ladies-man Aramis ( though he has dark aspects to his character as well, crucial to a character who could so easily be 2 dimensional ) to a Porthas who's clearly Porthas but not as cliché or OTT as previous incarnations, making him just as handsome as the other three musketeers. The characters feel a bit darker, three dimensional and more 'real' than some past incarnations.

Peter Capaldie plays a villain who is far from pantomime, very much lingering in the background during the first half of the series and gradually becoming more unstable as the series goes on, as he tries to prevent Queen Anne and others from having too much influence over the good natured but child-like King Louis. Peter does a fine job of portraying a character who's not really a villain in his own mind because he genuinely wants what's best for France. He's even charming before his need for control becomes more dangerous.

There is a lot of violence in the show, which you'd expect with a drama that involves lots of sword fighting, guns & knives but there's no sex scenes ( only bed scenes ) and very little swearing, which means you could watch it with your parents or older children, as long as you were comfortable with the level of violence.

The show isn't perfect - some elements are rushed ( such as how quickly D'artagnan is taken in by the 3 Musketeers as part of their group and the fact that most of the time, D'artagnan seems to be a Musketeer in all but name) some scenes are cliché ( in episode 1, Aramis has to quickly escape his lovers bedroom via the window )and whilst Constance is a likable, fun and strong female character ( even sounding a bit 'modern day' at times ) she becomes attached to D'artagnan quite quickly and it makes her vulnerable in her actions, which might be an issue for some viewers, though it wasn't for me - she's hard on the outside but soft on the inside. D'artagnan's attraction to her is more of a slow burn and this benefits the relationship because their feelings are growing from friendship and respect as well as physical attraction. Whilst Athos and Milady are very much enemies, they still have a lingering attraction, which argubly makes them the sexiest couple on the show. This is very much a show where the boys rule but there are still good and strong moments for the female characters.

This is definitely a fun show but still with serious and intense moments ( especially as the series goes on, so you need to stick with it for several episodes, as episode 1 is generally regarded as the weakest of the series ) and whether you stick with it largely depends on whether you warm to the show's main characters and are longing for something 'lighter' than the dark dramas of modern times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Sunday entertainment, 25 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Musketeers [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
To me, Atlantis was a 'meh' BBC show, failing to live up to the standards of Merlin, Doctor Who and Robin Hood. However, I was very interested in the new 'Musketeers' series advertised- and on a Sunday 9'o clock slot. The first episode converted me- the plot was great, the characters interesting and I am a staunch supporter. As the series continues, the characters are developing and getting an episode each- now making it hard to choose a favourite! The casting is excellent, Capaldi is getting some screen time before he takes up the role of the Doctor, and the other Musketeers are well-portrayed. The writing is both funny and gripping, and the show really shines.

I will be sad when the series ends, but I hope series 2 will live up to the (so far) high standards of the first. It's great to watch and I advise buying this as soon as it is released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Modern' Musketeers!, 17 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Musketeers [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
This is a wonderful production - carefully and effectively filmed so that it looks the real thing. I can almost smell the filth of the streets of Paris or the Court of Miracles. The casting is excellent - the different characters and back stories of the 4 musketeers beautifully exploited by the different actors and Peter Capaldi's Cardinal Richelieu takes me back to my A-Level history studies. I know it's not entirely historically accurate, but somehow that doesn't matter as it is so well done. The dialogue is fast, witty and very funny and I like the use of 'modern' language. I laugh out loud and there are not many occasions where TV does that for me. Sunday evenings are great and I can't wait to get the DVD and watch the episodes all over again. Well done BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action Packed, 6 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Musketeers [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Excellent version of the Musketeers,In fact the best I have seen.All the actors are very well cast,The stories are intriguing and exciting and each episode is a real treat,I look forward to the dvd release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musketeers, the new hit for me, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Musketeers [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
after the version from the '70, which i loved since being allowed to watch TV, I announce this version as my new favourite!
can't wait until the DVD is out, is already on my wish list,
loved Michael York's d'Artagnan then and love Tom Burke's Athos now, broody, troubled and dangerous, I'm already in love, only 4 parts in, can't wait for more,,,easy watching and enjoyable

the series is not strictly following the novel, the writers just added some stories, So, just imagine it as the in between adventures of what you know,
The main characters are all there, with some twists and more depth,
After the first 2 parts, which are mainly the introduction of the characters, the story is unfolded bit by bit. The thick of the plot is of course in the finale, and as this is not in the novel you would guess for a while, although for my taste the suspension could have lasted until after the "funeral", why they revealed it long before is a mystery to me, nevertheless it kept thrilling to the "show down" where the Musketeers prevail yet again another evil by Milady and safe the damsel in distress with a lot of shooting,
I hope they will produce season 2 soon and that the waiting for it won't be too long
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite show!, 4 Oct 2014
This series was great fun and I can't wait for the next one to come out. Each episode was full of action, unexpected twists and laugh out lous moments. I enjoyed all of the episodes and there were lots that really stood out, espeically the last episode which was brilliant.
There is some great acting too. My favourite musketeers is Aramis, Santiago Cabrera. Peter Capaldi (Dr Who!) is an amazing actor and you could really see how talented he was here. My most watchable character, however, is Milady played by Maimie McCoy - totally evil, totally awesome! I loved the fact that the bad guys (Cardinal Richelieu and Milady) weren't just evil but you could understand them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling to the Max!, 20 Feb 2014
I enjoy most of the dramas which the BBC shows like these, Robin Hood, Merlin, Atlantis, they were/are all good..but this one i think is going to be my favourite so far, 4 episodes in and i am hooked.
The casting is fantastic, they have got four really contrasting yet complimentary actors in the main roles, ( i love Aramis/Santiago the best!) and the episodes are fast, fun and feel like a mini movie each week.
Well worth a watch i say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Musketeers [DVD] [2014]
The Musketeers [DVD] [2014] by Saul Metzstein (DVD - 2014)
£10.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews