Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars40
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2014
Moonfleet was a good, not great, but good, Sky1 mini series. It's very similar to another recent Sky1 mini series, Treasure Island. The acting was good and the story was exciting. Worth watching.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
Adaptations of books onto the big screen always tend to disappoint, but not in this case. Having recently read Moonfleet a few months ago, I found that this version is pretty much faithfully to the book. Anuerin Barnard was a bit weak, but Ray Winstone as Elziver Block was a delight to watch. Overall an enjoyable 90 minutes.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
well written well acted well produced most very good but seems lot of story not on screen/explained e.g how did heroine get back home to be reunited with hero spoilt film for me
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
I had greatly enjoyed Treasure Island from Sky and had similar high hopes of this, but it isn't in the same league. The story is told passably enough but none of the characters particularly engaged me, nor was the action particularly exciting. As far as I remember the book it was a reasonably faithful adaptation. So it passes the time, but isn't one of the greats.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
I eventually lost count of how many times I read Moonfleet as a child. Therefore I was really looking forward to seeing this adaptation. However, I found the first half rather long-winded, leaving the second half rather rushed. For me it just lacked the excitement and momentum that the book always had.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
J. Meade Falkner’s popular 1898 adventure story of smuggling and a fabulous lost diamond has been previously dramatised for the radio, the stage, the cinema and television. This latest version follows the essential storyline but could not be said to be a faithful adaptation, even though it does not insert an extraneous adult hero in the way that the 1951 film did.

The 1750s story is set in an English coastal village, where young orphan John Trenchard lives with his aunt but ends up moving to Elziver Block’s inn. Block’s son has been killed by Magistrate Maskew during an attack upon local smugglers and he subsequently loses his lease on the inn to the magistrate, whose daughter, Grace, John is in love with. When Maskew is killed Block becomes the prime suspect. Together, he and John seek out the lost diamond and take it abroad to sell it but they are double crossed by the merchant and thrown in jail. Despite being separated their friendship endures and is put to a final test when the ship in which they are both being transported is struck by a violent storm.

Versatile actor and screen tough guy Ray Winstone’s previous appearances in costume roles include The Proposition (2005), Sweeney Todd (2006), Tracker (2010) and Great Expectations (2011). Here he is well cast as the rough and ready smuggler “Elziver Block.” Handsome and accomplished twenty-seven year old Welsh actor Anuerin Barnard will be familiar to viewers of Ironclad (2011) and The White Queen (2013). He is, however, a decade older than the “John Trenchard” of the book. The two of them are aided by a reliable supporting cost and enough has been invested in the production to deliver an effective look and feel to the story. Sadly, the same cannot be said of the DVD, which is penny plain and lacks both chapter selection or extras of any kind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
So-so DVD. I'm not usually moved to remark on poor discs but really feel the need to do so on this hunka ham.
The original script was probably good but the resultant production not quite so - this is a potentially good adventure yarn for adults or kiddies.
Winstone however mumbles all the way through this as if bored with the whole proceedings and the 'regional' accents are laughable. The sound is also muffled and there are NO subtitles to help out. WHY? Not even any extras on the disc - nothing at all ! Talk about cheap ! Thank goodness it was on Lovefilm. Would otherwise have felt I was ripped off.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
If HBO had produced I am sure it would have been better done. Classic story let done by script work. Ray Winstone is a great actor who should be getting better offers of work than this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
I enjoyed the DVD as much as I did the book. There were some slight differences in the storyline of the film, from the story in the book, but I still found the DVD very enjoyable. The film was well made and the actors were very well suited to the characters they played. Ray Winstone with his character, Elzevir Block, I feel stole the show. My wife watched it with me to see what the story was about as I'd mentioned it quite a few times over the years. She enjoyed it and said the actors were well chosen for the parts they played, it took you there, into the film, you could imagine you were a part of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
I have not read the original book so came to this as just a viewer and I did enjoy it in a "Sunday afternoon teatime serial" kind of way. However, my husband who has fond memories of reading the book in his formative years was disappointed at the deviations from the original and the "sexing up" of the story and characters in general. Overall the DVD is a modern take on an old favourite which is watchable rather than memorable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£17.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)