Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miles at the Fillmore - March 2014 package-release
This 4-CD package is an official release of Miles' four nights at The Fillmore East rock palace between 17-20 June 1970, complete and unedited.

First, the packaging is exemplary. A 5-fold jewel case presents each performance on its own brightly-coloured CD (blue for 17th, yellow for 18th, pink for 19th, orange for 20th). Additionally you get 3x bonus tracks...
Published 9 months ago by The Guardian

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed emotions...
More than 30 years ago, I bought this record on vinyl. Although I adored the playing of Miles, Steve Grossman, Dave Holland and Jack DeJohnette, I never really liked the sound of Chick Corea's distorted electric piano, and Keith Jarrett's endless noodling on organ got on my nerves from time to time. But on the whole, the record was totally wild, it exploded with energy,...
Published 8 months ago by Jan De Meyer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It!!!!!!, 18 April 2014
By 
Mr. R. Powell (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles At The Fillmore: Miles Davis 1970: The Bootleg Series Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
This is the best of three bootlegs so far. I have to admit I was somewhat disappointed by last years Volume 2. It went too far for my tastes, too avant garde, too much aimless noodling. I liked parts of it but I couldn't cope with large parts of it and it has sat in my cd collection largely unlistened too for about 10 months. When this one was announced I checked out the original release from the 1970's to see if it was more of the same or whether Miles had tightened things up a bit. Well he certainly had. This is a much better release, yes there are parts that still go a bit too far, mainly The Mask, but other than that this is Miles and his band at the top of their game. Things are far more focused and that whole Bitches Brew vibe just shines throughout the whole album. If you're a fan of this era of Miles' music then this is a must, a real snip at £17. Over 4 hours of Miles at his incredible best, wonderfully packaged, the booklet in this package much better than the fold out poster notes in Volume 2 and the recordings sound excellent, although the three tracks from The Fillmore West are slightly closer to true bootleg quality, albeit top notch bootleg quality. This has hardly been out of the cd player for the past month and has even encouraged me to dip my toe back into volume 2 (Still a bit too out there). A classic, I wonder what else they've got in store for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More great music from the bootleg series, 28 July 2014
By 
Stephen J. Smith "Musicman" (Mexico City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles At The Fillmore: Miles Davis 1970: The Bootleg Series Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
An absolutely brilliant album! Disc 3 sticks on "Miles Runs The Voodoo Down", so I am very happy about the AutoRip facility. Not much else to say. Essential listening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles At The Fillmore: Miles Davis 1970: The Bootleg Series Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
Having already purchased “Live at the Fillmore East March 7, 1970, it’s about that time” (excellent concert, although pretty intense, a bit like a prequel to “Dark Magus”), I was quite pleased to see that it wasn’t included on this new box set (one does grow weary of re-buying the same CD’s over & over again).

So although there are four concerts over four nights in a row, remarkably there all pretty unique sounding gigs, & certainly not just carbon copies of the same show.

Interestingly they isn’t any guitar player in Mile’s band (unlike on Bitches Brew) but the sound is so complex & layered you can’t really tell the difference.

So perhaps not the best starting point for your Miles Davis “Electric Period” collection (I would suggest you first dipping you Jazz toe in with “A tribute to Jack Johnson), but still a essential series of recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't sound anything like a bootleg mate!, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles At The Fillmore: Miles Davis 1970: The Bootleg Series Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
Sounds like a dream you had seeing the early electric prince at the Fillmore. Beautiful package. Makes me want to cry. Made me cry in fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a great album, 25 May 2014
This review is from: Miles At The Fillmore: Miles Davis 1970: The Bootleg Series Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
If you love Miles, you'll love this collection. It's a brilliant listen and I've had it on repeat for over a week!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fabulous...., 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles At The Fillmore: Miles Davis 1970: The Bootleg Series Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
The edition containing the complete concert at the Fillmore East Miles is superb. Lets previous editions severely edited swallowing dust. The box is very beautiful, very colorful with an extraordinary and thick booklet that summarizes the early years of jazz fusion and its creator. Possibly the longtime fans already knew the full shows. Even so, the remastering cleared his music's genius trumpeter. These editions containing classical concerts Miles are very welcome. Especially when it comes to an arena like the Filmore East.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time!, 25 April 2014
By 
J. MILLER "JohnM" (Farnham, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles At The Fillmore: Miles Davis 1970: The Bootleg Series Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
The music here is 44 years old so it's about time it was released. This was a great period for Miles Davis and there is now quite a lot available from the 1969-1970 live line-ups. Here are 4 sets from the Fillmore, previously only released in heavily-edited form. The song titles don't vary too much from night to night but this is a very good album indeed and we can now hear at length what went on at the Fillmore East all those years ago. Davis plays very aggressively and Corea, DeJohnette and Holland by this time knew the material well - the final CD is probably the most satisfying but it's all good stuff and holds up well to this day. A very good package but perhaps it is for collectors only though - how many live 69-70 Miles sets do you need? This just might be the one to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Miles, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles At The Fillmore: Miles Davis 1970: The Bootleg Series Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
Yet some more great stuff from the Sony vaults but a day late and a dollar short. Most, if not all, of this has been bootlegged to death and sometimes in pretty good quality. Yet again the major companies do their artists no favours by letting the bootleggers get ahead of the game. Rant over. The music, which is what I am really reviewing, is exceptional and Miles showed, yet again, how he was always a couple of steps ahead of the game. Worth every penny if you haven't already got this material and there is plenty more out there!! Peace to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius at work., 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles At The Fillmore: Miles Davis 1970: The Bootleg Series Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
Studio albums are all well and good, some are even epoch making, and Miles Davis made more than his fair share of those. However the live album is something else, and the best of them are nearly as good as being there. This is amongst those and a vital documentation of that period of Miles' continuing journey into musical innovation. Play it loud, play it and feel the visceral power of genius at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miles and Miles of Miles!!!, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles At The Fillmore: Miles Davis 1970: The Bootleg Series Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
Ok, so you may have the Fillmore CD from the late 90s, or even the original LP. Fair enough. But when you hold this in your hand and see the lavish packaging, 4 CDs, great artwork, thick booklet and poster with newspaper cuttings you will be glad you bought it. This is the complete picture of the Fillmore East, June 17-20, 1970 concerts. It has been remixed and remastered for the better. There are even 35 mins of bonus Fillmore West tracks from April 11, 1970. All I can say is this, get it, get it, get it! But I guess if you are a Miles Davis fan you will have already bought it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews