Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and insightful
This is a wonderful album for so many reasons. The album's enigmatic title is explained in a word spiral that is revealed when the CD is removed from its container. I found these words and their meaning to be, in their own right, rather lovely and moving. The album itself is staggeringly beautiful and I have increasingly fallen in love with it on each play over the last 2...
Published 9 months ago by Mark

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed
Disappointing. Musical tastes vary dramatically but, even so, I struggle to concur with the previous reviews here. Unremarkable music and several bum notes from one of the two singers.
Published 1 month ago by C R Bough


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and insightful, 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Hum (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful album for so many reasons. The album's enigmatic title is explained in a word spiral that is revealed when the CD is removed from its container. I found these words and their meaning to be, in their own right, rather lovely and moving. The album itself is staggeringly beautiful and I have increasingly fallen in love with it on each play over the last 2 months. Many of the songs unfailingly send waves of shivers up my spine, such is the quality of the songwriting, singing, musicianship and connection with humanity. The songs explore an extraordinary range of topics with great sensitivity. Who could fail to be moved by the poignancy of, for example, Two Mothers, or be uplifted by Summat's Brewin's celebration of real ale and home brew ? As with O'Hooley and Tidow's previous albums, the lyrics are profound and powerful. The Hum is an album of exceptional beauty by top-notch musicians and writers who understand what life is about and convey their insights brilliantly in song. You can buy it for the same price from their website (ohooleyandtidow.com/shop/) and society benefits from the tax too :-)

P.S. after 10 months or so of listening to this album, I feel compelled to update this review to say just how good the final track "Kitsune" is. Over time, the power and depth of this song have grown on me immeasurably. It is akin to folk opera: massive scale and impact and very, very, original and innovative. If you give this track time, you'll be amply rewarded. It is very special indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent material, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hum (Audio CD)
If you like folk, or you don't like folk....or you haven't quite decided....or you don't really care. Buy this great CD, its a really great piece of work by 2 very talented musicians who work hard and really care. Warm, beautiful and real songs written about life seen through the eyes of the great Belinda O' Hooley (who worked solo and with the Unthanks, The Lucy Ward Band, Chumbawamaba) and the wonderful Heidi Tidow (Lucy Ward Band, Chumbawamba). Great sound, great lyrics, beautifully produced. If this doesn't see them nominated for a BBC folk award this year, then there's something strange brewing......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars West Yorkshire Gentlewomen's duo produce their finest album to date, definitely one of the best folk albums of 2014, 5 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hum (Audio CD)
This fine female duo from West Yorkshire have really hit their stride on this, their 3rd album. The songwriting is stronger, more distinctive and memorable, the production is clear with a few special little embellishments here and there, the singing and instrumental playing are consistently fine and accomplished. There are no duff tracks or filler, everything on here is of a high standard. My 2 favourite tracks are Summat's Brewin' a great tribute to the current strength of home brewing and Microbreweries producing distinctive quaffable real ale around their home locality which has lots of knowing references if you are into your beer, being witty, and topical; and Like Horses, a lovely calm reflective song based around the gentle calming nature of the beautiful equine animals. The title track is also particularly memorable , a great album opener. If you get the chance to see them live locally then do grab it, as they are an entertaining duo who have a witty banter between them, nicely setting the context for the songs they play, and can be guaranteed to give a highly enjoyable performance in concert. I saw them at the Met in Bury earlier in the year, and look forward to them playing their again next year to celebrate International Women's Day along with the excellent Lady Maisery , what an exciting and memorable concert in prospect. Having played this album over much of the year, it gets better with repeated listening and is definitely one of my favourite albums of 2014, and deserves to be highly placed in end of year best album polls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's got to be Folk Album of the year 2014 !, 9 Mar 2014
By 
P. Lee (South West UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hum (Audio CD)
Brilliant from start to finish.
O'Hooley and Tidow are wonderfully sensitive and accomplished musicians... and social commentators.
They are fabulous both live, and on cd.
Buy it ! You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unmissable, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hum (MP3 Download)
Beautiful songs and music, I bought this after hearing two previous albums by them. It doesn't disappoint--love the vocals, piano and violin. Lyrics interesting and moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hum (Audio CD)
This album is thoughtful, memorable and features some very engaging songs. Beautiful singing - their voices work so well together! The Hum is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 8 Sep 2014
By 
D. Prescott (Hereford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hum (Audio CD)
Fab production shows off their lovely harmonies perfectly. Two mothers is just beautiful, as is Like horses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Yorkshire Duo!, 23 Feb 2014
By 
S. Hawkins "Hawk8" (North East) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hum (Audio CD)
O'Hooley and Tidow are a talented pair of musicians. Absolutely love their talent, wit and honesty. This album is growing on me after their last album Fragile was constantly playing in my car. Excellent folk!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hum (Audio CD)
Just what I need to calm me down so that I can function as an artist when in the studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hum (Audio CD)
Disappointing. Musical tastes vary dramatically but, even so, I struggle to concur with the previous reviews here. Unremarkable music and several bum notes from one of the two singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hum
The Hum by O'Hooley & Tidow
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews