Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Novel of Menace
The Steel family live in Canning Town. Sandra, the house-proud matriarch, has three strapping boys. The oldest is Kenny, closest to his mother, Vic married to Deidre with a son 'little Vic' and Charlie. She has one daughter, Michelle. Kenny runs a company, 'Steel Security', with his brothers that operates 'below the law'. Kenny, ex-army, is the brains and the...
Published 6 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not a very good story line
I felt that this book was very rushed. The characters were very muddled. I have rad better from essays my children have written.
Published 6 months ago by J K GRINHAM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Novel of Menace, 29 Jan 2014
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EAST END A FAMILY OF STEEL (Kindle Edition)
The Steel family live in Canning Town. Sandra, the house-proud matriarch, has three strapping boys. The oldest is Kenny, closest to his mother, Vic married to Deidre with a son 'little Vic' and Charlie. She has one daughter, Michelle. Kenny runs a company, 'Steel Security', with his brothers that operates 'below the law'. Kenny, ex-army, is the brains and the steroid-fuelled heavy who hand-picks and supplies 200 'doormen' along with ketamine tablets to around 70-80 pubs and clubs mainly in Essex. Vic is weak, henpecked by his wife, her sister and mother who are all drunk most of the time. Charlie is an out and out womaniser of little use in a fight. Woe betide any one who crosses the Steel family as their revenge is swift and brutal. They have a reputation to keep and respect. Kenny is a well-known 'face' in the East End. He has a violent temper. They have a monopoly of the area and are powerful and unrelenting in dealing with protection of their territory. They run a thriving profitable operation and the family have plenty of money.

Their ketamine supplier is given a 15 year long prison term. Kenny needs a new supplier and ketamine source. This is where trouble begins to erupt. Kenny has a few secrets regarding women, Vic eventually reveals his other side and Charlie lands in deep trouble for his perpetual lies to women he uses for personal or family reasons. Michelle also exposes herself to danger. She is spoilt by Kenny who she uses as a money-bank, knowing how sweet he is on her.

Kim Hunter has written an account of the remorseless activities of an organisation that is superficially straight due to being careful but explodes into violence, graphically depicted, when faced with a threat or double-cross. This happens with regularity throughout the narrative, both to men but also with a savagery to women. Kenny's ambitious greed, Charlie's lies and carelessness are responsible for the ruination of people and families they have encountered. They show no shame or guilt for their actions until it is too late. Vic is the exception, who at least has misgivings throughout and a conscience. Sandra's 'sense of foreboding about her family' expressed early in the book was correct. The author has produced an exciting depiction of a gangland family, violent, corrupt, ruthless with vivid imagery of brutality and dialogue to match the action of which there is plenty. Captivating right up to the end even with some of the disturbing content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not a very good story line, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EAST END A FAMILY OF STEEL (Kindle Edition)
I felt that this book was very rushed. The characters were very muddled. I have rad better from essays my children have written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read. It was really good at the end ..., 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EAST END A FAMILY OF STEEL (Kindle Edition)
Got into this story right from the beginning. Couldn't put it down. You feel compelled to keep reading just waiting for what will happen next. Great read. It was really good at the end as the author gave a quick update of what is happening now in the lives of the characters. All books should have this and not keep us guessing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EAST END A FAMILY OF STEEL (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book far better than Martina Cole
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This is a good enough read, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EAST END A FAMILY OF STEEL (Kindle Edition)
Decided to try this author as I am a fan of this genre of book and a big fan of Martina Cole etc. This is a good enough read, not exactly a page-turner but interesting enough and I would give the author another chance. However, there are very basic grammatical errors and spelling mistakes in the book which to be honest are cringe-worthy such as the misuse of to and too and misuse of apostrophes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars again great read, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EAST END A FAMILY OF STEEL (Kindle Edition)
The story lines are never boring, just keep up the good work cannot get enough of kim hunter books why not try one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read!, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EAST END A FAMILY OF STEEL (Kindle Edition)
I Cannot put this book down! Second book I've read from Kim Himter and can't wait for the next read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars New author to me, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EAST END A FAMILY OF STEEL (Kindle Edition)
This was the first book of author Kim Hunter I have read. I love East End stories especially of the underworld. This was quite weak and her grammar needs some attention. She used the word excepted, instead of accepted; and tends to use the slang use of the word 'of', i.e "I should of, which should have been I should have. However, I have bought 3 more of her books, in the hope they are stronger stories. I'm giving her a chance as I've read all my favourite authors books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars East End A family of steel, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EAST END A FAMILY OF STEEL (Kindle Edition)
It was okay but definitely not a book you couldn't put down
will try another Kim Hunter just to give it a chance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to say but "excellent", 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EAST END A FAMILY OF STEEL (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book. Great author. On a level with Martina Cole. Can't wait too read some of her other books . Would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

EAST END A FAMILY OF STEEL
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews