Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Social History
I really don't watch a great deal of television drama. I work strange hours in my job as a Community Development Worker, often having evening meetings that finish quite late and I never seem to be at home on the same evening each week. However, I watched the first episode of Call The Midwife and was hooked. I have no idea why, I'm not a mother, I've never been interested...
Published 5 months ago by Lincs Reader

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BORING
I bought this on the strength of the first few reviews. Whilst initially I enjoyed it, by the half way mark I was finding it repetitive and quite frankly boring. Letter after letter praising JW, and a forum for people to talk about themselves. Frankly, all this goody goody stuff really got on my nerves. I didn't finish the book, just couldn't take any more!
Published 3 months ago by Flappit Witch


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Social History, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I really don't watch a great deal of television drama. I work strange hours in my job as a Community Development Worker, often having evening meetings that finish quite late and I never seem to be at home on the same evening each week. However, I watched the first episode of Call The Midwife and was hooked. I have no idea why, I'm not a mother, I've never been interested in nursing, or in being a nun! There's just something about the programme that entrances me for the full hour that it is on.

When Letters to the Midwife popped through the letterbox, I was intrigued by it, and started to read straight away, and could hardly put it down. The book is introduced by Jennifer Worth's family; her husband Philip and her two daughters and Miranda Hart has written the foreward.

This book is a real piece of social history, with stories from people who would probably never have been able to tell them so widely if it were not for Jennifer Worth. So many people wrote to her after she wrote her books; people who recognised the places that she described and the people that she worked with. Some people even recognised Jennifer herself. It is clear from the amount of correspondence she received, and the fact that she took the time to answer the letters, and that she kept them all, that Jennifer Worth was a lady of compassion and depth, and was much loved by all who came into contact with her.

This is a fascinating look at Jennifer Worth's 'other' side too - the time she spent in Paris in the 1950s is especially interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insight into a wonderful life, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters to the Midwife: Correspondence with Jennifer Worth, the Author of Call the Midwife (Kindle Edition)
Jennifer Worth didn't leave a minute of her life to waste away, she had a clear understanding of many things and used this to give help hope and joy to many people. Her memories made other people who had done midwifery about the same time as she did recall their own memories and feel glad that they had done so
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So moving, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters to the Midwife: Correspondence with Jennifer Worth, the Author of Call the Midwife (Kindle Edition)
Having enjoyed all Jennifer Worth's books this was a book i just had to read. It was so moving. I could not put it down. Jennifer obviously enjoyed receiving the letters from her readers and it was wonderful that so many people took time to correspond with her. She was a caring person and i feel all medical trainees should read her books as part of their courses. Times might have been hard and living standards poor but the level of care delivered to her patients were far better than some people receive today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Letters to the Midwife, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. Margaret E. Bridger (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting and very moving reading the correspondece to Jennifer and the replies, wish I'd thought to write to her not to have my letter in a book, but as an ex nurse and midwife brought many memories back to me.
Her family have done very well in compiling this book and I highly recommend it to others, found it difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters to the Midwife: Correspondence with Jennifer Worth, the Author of Call the Midwife (Kindle Edition)
Even more enjoyable when a mutual friend's letter to Jennifer Worth has been published in the book. Very proud of her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing lady, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters to the Midwife: Correspondence with Jennifer Worth, the Author of Call the Midwife (Kindle Edition)
I have read nearly all Jennifer's books and watched every episode on the TV.
She was such an amazing lady who was determined to do good for others. Her books were so well written, what talent. I read all the letters and found a lot of them very emotional, which gave in insight to the hardship people had to endure.
Upsetting to think she was taken too soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exchange of thoughts between Author & Readers, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters to the Midwife: Correspondence with Jennifer Worth, the Author of Call the Midwife (Kindle Edition)
Yet another precious look into the Eastend of post war London. I found it very touching that people had felt moved to write to Jenny, particularly Nurses & midwives who had many similar experiences to share with her. This collection of letters, plus information taken from Jenny's own diary, make this a very interesting & informative book. Jenny always took the time to reply & even meet or speak to the people who contacted her. (Making the Call The Midwife books into a TV series was inspirational.) This book also gives an insight into Jenny before she went to the convent . She was an extremely talented & in dependant lady, who will be missed by many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters to the Midwife: Correspondence with Jennifer Worth, the Author of Call the Midwife (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read. Love the book and love the era it is set it. And learning about years before us is highly interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters to the Midwife: Correspondence with Jennifer Worth, the Author of Call the Midwife (Kindle Edition)
Have thoroughly enjoyed reading this letters to the midwife, I cried and smiled while reading it and have enjoyed the series which recently finished
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 23 April 2014
This review is from: Letters to the Midwife: Correspondence with Jennifer Worth, the Author of Call the Midwife (Kindle Edition)
Very good if your a fan of Jennifer worth this must be bought .it is one which a would suggest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews