Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore sci-fi and then some
Brilliant, stunning, innovative, creative, cohesive... staggered. Just finished reading this third instalment and I think the author has addressed all the weak point in the previous two books and come up with a true bit of hard core sci fi space opera with computronics, game theory, quantum mechanics, astrophysics and even a bit of biomechanics. Gone are most of the new...
Published 4 months ago by EvilEdna

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Answers a lot of questions, but could have been a lot more 'grounded'
I was wondering how Rajaniemi was going to pull this one off. I think he managed it, but only just, and this is something he seems to acknowledge after the books ending by thanking fans for sticking with him.

The book flits from location to location in virtual space far more than I would have wanted it to. In the first book we get to spend time really getting...
Published 5 months ago by L. J. Frost


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore sci-fi and then some, 26 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Causal Angel (Jean le Flambeur Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant, stunning, innovative, creative, cohesive... staggered. Just finished reading this third instalment and I think the author has addressed all the weak point in the previous two books and come up with a true bit of hard core sci fi space opera with computronics, game theory, quantum mechanics, astrophysics and even a bit of biomechanics. Gone are most of the new age hippy magics and the really, really bad science. Whats left is at the edge of possibility - as it should be!

OK - this is not for the faint hearted. It could be read in isolation, but you would gain a lot more from reading the first two. The universe Hannu Rajaniemi is a complex one with many competing factions, and it is very difficult to either (a) get your head around it or (b) let it flow around you and see it as a backdrop to the main text (I choose this because it would take me too long to do (a)). In parts it can be a REAL struggle to get through, but persevere and you are rewarded with some enlightenment (on entanglement) at the end (usually).

Much as I hate to say it, I hope this story line ends here. The character of the thief Jean le Flambeur should carry on with different adventures, different stories and different heists, bit I feel this novel represents a closure of the main plot. Personally I would like to see Pixel brought back (she was sooo cute).

Summary: Great story, but reading books 1 and 2 woud increase your enjoyment signifcantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for fans, but only after parts I and II!, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Causal Angel (Jean le Flambeur Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent and well worth waiting for, the final instalment in the Le Flambeur saga. For fans of the first two parts, this book is probably required reading, but as a stand-alone piece of writing, you'd probably find it confusing to say the least. This isn't Elric of Melnibone, where each story stands on its own two feet, this is a highly complicated denouement of a fairly complicated trilogy.
So, does it work? In parts, I would say yes, but I would also say that the requirements of the plot tend to dictate what happens to a much greater extent than in the first two episodes, which gives it for me less exuberance than the first and second sections of the story. Nonetheless, this is operatic scale sci-fi at its best, and I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Answers a lot of questions, but could have been a lot more 'grounded', 20 July 2014
By 
L. J. Frost "hmmery" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Causal Angel (Jean le Flambeur Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I was wondering how Rajaniemi was going to pull this one off. I think he managed it, but only just, and this is something he seems to acknowledge after the books ending by thanking fans for sticking with him.

The book flits from location to location in virtual space far more than I would have wanted it to. In the first book we get to spend time really getting to grips with the Oubliette on Mars, and in the second the city of Sirr on Earth. I was hoping for the same treatment with Supra City on Saturn, but it doesn't really feel like Rajaniemi gave the location enough time to develop and impose itself on the reader in the same way that Sirr and the Oubliette did thanks to the constant switching between characters and locations in the 'spimescape', 'virrs' and various other digital locations.

The important questions are answered, but while Rajaniemi managed to avoid infodumps in the past it does feel like he's had to resort to using them for some of the really big answers that have been building up over the series, and it would have been nice to have seen these resolved more gradually throughout the book.

All in all I did really like it but I couldn't help but feel that Rajaniemi was trying desperately to do the fans of this series a service by wrapping up rather than weaving a more focused story, which could have been a lot less 'flitty' and a lot more grounded in a new location like Supra City.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars still confused, 16 Nov 2014
By 
Mr. K. H. Cobb (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having found the first two books rather impenetrable, and being greatly irritated by their meaningless scientific pseudobabble, I wasn't intending to get this. But I did, and read it, and found it a bit easier going and interesting. than the others. But it didn't help to sort out my confusion, and I'm no nearer to understanding what it's all about. A pity - the three books would probably condense into one good one with a believable scientific basis and stronger characters. There is definitely something happening here. If only I knew what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable incomprehension, 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Causal Angel (Jean le Flambeur Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
East to read and good fun. Can't say I understood much of the convoluted science and fantasy hybrid plot. I liked the characters and the quantum soup of their internal and external lives. My only criticism would be there seemed to a lot of loose ends at the end. Another book perhaps?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great finale, 22 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Causal Angel (Jean le Flambeur Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A thrilling and rewarding payoff for fans of the series. Questions are answered and loose threads are neatly tide together. I hope this wont be the last visit to Hannus future worlds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent stuff - the ideas will stay with me for a long time, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Causal Angel (Jean le Flambeur Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Perhaps, however, not a universal appeal -
It helps to have an interest in game theory, philosophy of mind and MMORGs! But it is phenomenally well written too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very original science fiction exploring the consequences of mind/body separation ..., 8 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Causal Angel (Jean le Flambeur Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Very original science fiction exploring the consequences of mind/body separation in a fast paced dystopian narrative. What more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
By 
M. Lindroos (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic reading experience. Beautiful language, great thinking and the new physics of the imaginatively. Five stars + from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A shame it had to end, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Causal Angel (Jean le Flambeur Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Hannu hits the spot again for the third time around in this closing book of the trilogy. Excellent thought provoking sci-fi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Causal Angel (Jean le Flambeur Book 2)
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews