Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evilspeak.
By the way, in case anyone was wondering. This version by Anchor bay is uncut with all the gore left in tact. Evilspeak was a pretty decent 80's horror flick although I do think it was flawed, but I still enjoyed it. Clint Howard (Ron Howard's brother) is an orphan who attends a prestigious military school. Most of the kids hate his guts and they spend most of their days...
Published 12 months ago by Puzzle box

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When will they ever learn? Never pick on the nerdy kid...
This film made it onto the DPP's notorious list of banned films in the early 1980s. It was re-released some years later on video but in a heavily-cut version. Now horror fans can watch this film uncut thanks to Anchor Bay.

The film itself contains many of the `80s horror movie clichés - the nerdy kid who is always getting picked on, the naked girl in...
Published on 23 May 2007 by Jeremy W. Newbould


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cut to pieces, 6 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evilspeak [DVD] (DVD)
This version of the film is NOT uncut. Buyer beware. Its really not worth viewing in the cut version. Don't buy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A trip down memory lane..., 11 Feb. 2005
By 
M. Pinder (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evilspeak [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
It's strange when you see a film for the first time in twenty years, you expect it to have the same impact as it did when you first saw it as a gore-hungry teenager. And of course it can't, but it does stand up remarkably well.
The bullying & violent-revenge plot still works well because the bullies still so very much deserve what they get!
The gore is all there from what I remember of it and the performances are still cheesy, although Clint Howard's sweaty, stuttering performance as the bullied Coopersmith isn't half bad.
My only real moan about the presentation (bear in mind I only watched the UNCUT version of the film on disc 2) is the quality of the print. The UNCUT version seems to have been edited together using a patchwork of many different prints , ranging from the pristine to the power-sanded!! Some scenes look mint while some look like a video source while some look like they have just been discovered in a bin.. The sound varies accordingly, from clear to muffled, and occasionally there is no sound at all where they obviously have restored the image but could find no accompanying sound reel.
Mostly though the image and sound are ok, it just gets distracting when it chops and changes so much.
Incidentally did anybody elso spot 'LUCA BRASI' from the Godfather as the campus chef????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hacked to pieces (if you pardon the pun), 17 Aug. 2008
By 
Mr. Od Smith "d2kvirus" (Coulsdon, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evilspeak [DVD] (DVD)
If you're looking at this page, the odds are you're either looking for obscure horror films, a Video Nasty completist, or think it's ironic the kid out of Gentle Ben stars in a horror film. Or you heard Anton LaVey recommended it (true).

If you're the first option, you may just enjoy Evilspeak, as it's a bizarre combination of Carrie and The Omen, which works very well, so may just be worth picking up.

However, if you're the second option this is not what you're looking for: the film has had all the gore cut from it, as well as various other cuts to try and hide the fact - making the Carrie-esque finale unwatchable as you have no idea what the hell is going on.

Also, the picture transfer is just BAD. There's no two ways about it, it does look awful, to the point you can't actually read the onscreen text at the end. There's also a few other quibbles, such as the credits being speeded up with no thought in synching the sound (indeed, the sound comes in at the copyright warning at the start, before the title screen!), so if you are a completist look for the Anchor Bay edition.

A potentially decent film, let down by some abominable presentation. Curio value only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Movie Is The Best ever, This DVD Ruins It, 15 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Evilspeak [DVD] (DVD)
Before I bought it, I have heard very good things about this film, and this is the first dvd I got of it, and this version is absolutely terrible. There are at least 4 minutes cut, which in itself is absolutely disappointing. The picture and sound quality are absolutely terrible as well, the picture can jump from high quality to ultra low quality, and the sound can range from hearable, to absolutely quiet.
In conclusion, avoid this version of the DVD, it is pathetic, instead buy the 100 mins uncut version. It may be £[], but for this movie, it is totally worth it, this is one of the best films I have ever seen, and the 100 mins uncut does it complete justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evilspeak - not the advertised un-cut version, 25 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evilspeak [DVD] (DVD)
I have just watched what I brought what I thought was the un-cut version of Evilspeak,the review as I read it was the un-cut version, and I am disappointed that it is the cut version I had brought on VHS many years ago. I have wanted to see the un-cut version on DVD, but will have to wait a bit longer to buy another copy. It would be good to have a review about exactly what the product is. A great film which after seeing it a few times is still as good as I remember it from the 1980's, but to see the un-cut version again would be great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars after years of hype, 22 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Evilspeak [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Evilspeak is a good film. During the 1980's I would often hear about this film Evilspeak being very nasty and gory.

Watching evil speak in 2013- evilspeak is an OK film. There are some graphic gory bits at the end of this film.

Clint Howard portrays an orphan who is bullied in military school and gets redemption or is salvation?
Also There are some nasty evil pigs in this film

Evilspeak is worth having a peek at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Evil Speak, 16 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evilspeak [DVD] (DVD)
This product is a copy from the original, the version it was copied from has many censorship type cuts, not the version that I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evilspeak [Blu-ray] [1981] [US Import]
£11.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews