Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A serious piece of awesomeness
I am a huge fan of Durarara and when I saw it was being released on blu ray I pre ordered right away. The series is fast paced with numerous characters and storylines. If you don't keep up you won't have a clue what's going on and that's what's great about it, it gets you thinking and is in no way predictable. It has mystery, action, supernatural elements, romance,...
Published 4 months ago by k allen

versus
9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Errors in sub-titling
Due to errors in the sud-titling and translation of signs, Anime Limited have announced they will be issuing replacements for this set in September. Best to wait on purchase unless you really don't care about this.
Published 3 months ago by nickg


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A serious piece of awesomeness, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Durarara!!! Limited Edition Blu-Ray Set (Blu-ray)
I am a huge fan of Durarara and when I saw it was being released on blu ray I pre ordered right away. The series is fast paced with numerous characters and storylines. If you don't keep up you won't have a clue what's going on and that's what's great about it, it gets you thinking and is in no way predictable. It has mystery, action, supernatural elements, romance, comedy and much more. I've watched it through three times (just once on blu ray) and could watch it many more. The animation is beautifully crisp and clear and I love the soundtrack too, I saw another reviewer said the sound wasnt very good but I thought it sounded brilliant on my surround sound and most defiantly not dull. If you only buy one anime this year I recommend it to be this one. Oh and if your a Baccano fan keep an eye out for a promo poster in the backround and two characters who pop up to say a few words :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unconventionally interesting, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Durarara!!! Limited Edition Blu-Ray Set (Blu-ray)
Several characters' stories brooming in one city intertwine to give a dark dense plot that provides a thrilling ride. A must watch for any anime fan.

From the creators of Baccano. The studio likes to create a story surrounding many characters whom interact throughout the entire show which is difficult to do however Brains Base pull this off beautifully. Its interesting and complex enough to make you want to keep watching without falling into disarray due to the many sub plots going on. There's enough of a balance to develop each character so it doesn't feel like it veers into one protagonist.
Limited edition set came with a first print run of limited signed art cards of the cast and the box is sturdy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars were the head, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Durarara!!! Limited Edition Blu-Ray Set (Blu-ray)
Durarara!!! i love watching it and it shows you different character perspective there are tone off miss able anime reference from other anime ie spice wolf and baccano are the easiest to spot and i harder one to spot is the shana no shakugan hint ( keep an eye out for the episode were there in a shop that sells anime figure they pick up a shana figure) plus get story line all low you never she doe not find her head yet it a story to laugh and try not to lose year head
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Errors in sub-titling, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Durarara!!! Limited Edition Blu-Ray Set (Blu-ray)
Due to errors in the sud-titling and translation of signs, Anime Limited have announced they will be issuing replacements for this set in September. Best to wait on purchase unless you really don't care about this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rushed Release with Consequences., 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Durarara!!! Limited Edition Blu-Ray Set (Blu-ray)
The release date on this product was pushed forward from April 30th to March 26th, and sadly this was apparently not a wise idea.

Firstly: I just tested it on my 5.1 soundsystem, and I must say, the songs sound very dull. I also have the original Japanese BDs and there are big differences in the sound. The conversations were okay, and pretty clear. It says that the audio is Linear PMC/stereo, so I don't get why it sounds so dull.

Secondly: The specials on disc 1 are jumbled. You can choose between textless opening 1 and 2 and textless ending 1 and 2...and if you want to play opening 2 you have to go on "textless ending 1"...they somehow screwed up the order, which is the second reason why I think they should have done it right instead on pushing the release date forward.

So the minus points are for:
- bad sound encoding
- mistakes in the menu

If you really want Durarara on BD that bad, I advise you to buy the (very good) US release, and not the UK one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another botched Anime Ltd release, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Durarara!!! Limited Edition Blu-Ray Set (Blu-ray)
Durarara is an excellent series - unfortunately subtitle issues mean that this edition is unwatchable, as you cannot tell when the main character is saying. Was any quality control done prior to bringing this out to market?

Fans who coughed up the cash for the Limited Edition must now wait until the end of the year in the hopes that replacement discs are issued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its okay, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Durarara!!! Limited Edition Blu-Ray Set (Blu-ray)
this limited edition was all right but lost me in parts but i think a lot of people will like this dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Durarara!!! Limited Edition Blu-Ray Set
Durarara!!! Limited Edition Blu-Ray Set by Takahiro Omori (Blu-ray - 2014)
56.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews