Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars18
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2014
I should have looked carefully at this - I was so disappointed with the remixes. After one play, it's out of my car and destined to never be heard again. Loved the Christmas album - hated this.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
This CD could have been made wonderful if other Snowglobe tracks had been mixed too. 8 mixes of 1 track is just killing music. Mixes of Loving Man and Bells Of Love would have been great. And that's the problem with this CD: you end up half-way through begging for something different. Lazy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
The samples initially put me off, but as I wanted the Dave Aude Gaudette Club Remix I plumped for this ep anyway. Yes, as with Gaudete we get a lot of remixes/dubs of the lead track, and a rather pointless instrumental which is the backing track to the Club Remix concerned. No Erasure produced alternative mix or extended version here, which is a shame.

However the 2 Dubs are arguably better than their full vocal counterparts, as in the Club Remix case the fact the vocal treatment to speed them up is not so disconcerting as in the full vocal! Both Club Remixes suffer from this a bit, which is a shame.

The much slower Chad Valley and Bright Lights vocal remixes are probably the most successful here (though the Club Remixes serve their purpose). The Bright Lights Dub features a lot of the vocal still, and doesn't overstay its welcome.

None of the remixes are as good as the original album version, hence 3 stars. Hopefully the third single will be a remix ep of more tracks selected from the album, like they did with "Fill Us With Fire" and "Storm In A Teacup" singles/eps - there are several other songs on the album I would love to hear remixed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
I agree with some of the other posters it does get very tiresome to listen to continuously - after around the fourth remix you want to reach for the Stop button. Most of us simply don't have the time or patience to listen to all those mixes of the same song.

The mixes aren't bad if heard in isolation - it's just a case of too much of a good thing if listened to one after the other. The main riff of the Morlando Club Mix and Morlando Club Dub sound very familiar! There is an attempt to vary the mixes (tempo-wise), however the whole package seems rather thrown together by some A&R executive. The CD sleeve is a job to read.

I guess the dubs and instrumentals exist to bulk up the release and make it exempt from becoming another flop in the singles chart. Sorry to have to be negative.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
I am biased. I've followed erasure for 27 years and am never truly objective...however that said, I genuinely think this single is great. It's one of those where I can listen to it over and over again. The video is great too.....a bit Christmassy (shame the single wasn't released earlier) but a good message.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
As usual another top tune from Messrs Clarke & Bell to add to the repertoire! A must have for any fan. 8 excellent mixes plus an extra Gaudete mix that missed the last CD release.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
It doesn't have to be Christmas to play Erasure's Christmas album and to add even more spirit all year round is this 2nd release from the album. Erasure at their best yet again always enjoy to listen to something new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Although this is not one of Erasure's greatest tracks it is still a decent song.
Again full of remixes this is more for the die hard Erasure fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Plenty of good remixes here that would go down well in any nightclub, its a great song and great to see the boys can still write the poppy tunes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
A very good track from Erasure, finding their voice again after a bit of wandering around in the wilderness years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)