Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing disc from Grindhouse., 11 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimmer [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
Ned Merrill (Burt Lancaster) appears out of nowhere at a friends house wearing nothing but his swimming trunks. He seems to be a well liked bloke and his upper middle class friends welcome him. While they sit around the pool moaning about getting old Ned looks out across the valley and decides its possible to cross the county going from garden to garden and stopping off along the way to swim in each pool he comes across. Most of his mates think he's kidding until he ups and leaves. The film follows Ned in his journey as he encounters people along the way and as he does we learn a little more about him. The closer he gets to home the darker things become, leading to a genuinely devastating conclusion.

The Swimmer is a great example of how to deal with exposition in screenwriting. At no point does anyone sit and explain things for the audience. Instead we learn more about Ned as he travels from pool to pool through his encounters with other people. I don't want to get too into the plot however as I'm trying real hard here to give nothing away as the film works most effectively if you go into it blind.

Nonetheless The Swimmer is a clever film that is surprisingly bleak and pessimistic about human nature for a typical studio picture. It still feels like an odd selection for Grindhouse but it's a film that's well worth seeking out.

Needless to say being a grindhouse disc its jam-packed with extras including over 2 hours of documentary detailing the production of the film. As with all previous Grindhouse blu-rays it's also totally region free. The transfer is excellent and once again Grindhouse give the film first class treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's to sugar on the strawberries., 16 May 2014
By 
William Fuller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimmer [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
Frank Perry's offbeat ode to middle-class nervous breakdown is a favourite of mine, and Grindhouse Releasing have certainly done justice to it with their bluray release. Fabulous picture quality, with a wonderfully in-depth two-and-a-half hour(!) retrospective, amongst several other extra features.

If you're buying from the UK, this is coded for all regions (region free), so there's no reason not to indulge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A troubled past comes back to life, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimmer [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
Hidden Gem
I came upon this film by accident and was surprised I had not seen it before now, It is possibly one of Burt Lancaster's greater works, considering that Burt has had such a reputation of action films where the strong man was a requirement for the movie theme, here Burt completely changes himself by portraying a vulnerable confused individual who has had a troubled past that we as the audience are not aware of except by the variety of receptions he receives from each household he visits,
He Ned Merrill (Burt Lancaster) decides to swim home to his house some miles away using his neighbors pools , with each pool visit we learn something about Ned that tells us he is either in Denial about his past or plain lying to the owners who know he is. As the film moves along Ned can be seen to change to a wreck of a man as his past comes back to haunt him and he succumbs to cold and rejection by those he meets. His family whom he constantly speaks about are not at home in fact his home is locked up for some years and and abandoned and we can only imagine where his children and wife actually are.
Ned slumps at the locked door pounding in vain to get inside curled up in a heap he portrays a sad and vulnerable destroyed man. Ned Merrill has been exposed and left to his pain, we can only speculate as to what happened as the film ends here. It is to his credit that Burt Lancaster decided to play this part and portray it with such passion. It goes to show how professional and versatile he was as an actor, very few of his fellow actors of his stature would have dared to take on such a role assuming they could have portrayed such.
Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Restoration Heaven!, 6 Nov. 2014
By 
H. Hopkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimmer [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
When I first saw the movie of John Cleever’s short story “The Swimmer” in 1968, I lacked the life experience to understand what an extraordinary piece of work this is. Thankfully though, it stuck on me throughout my life, but I didn’t quite know why. Fast forward to the bog standard DVD release of 2003, and still the story didn’t really click, but its secret door was beginning to creak open. Now, thanks to Grindhouse’s incredible 4K Blu-ray restoration with amazing extras, the door has finally swung open to reveal a masterpiece of American cinema.

The key to fully enjoying “The Swimmer” is in knowing the back story of Burt Lancaster’s rich and complicated character Ned Merrill BEFORE seeing the film. That said, Director Frank Perry does allows us a slight taste of what’s happening fairly early on in the picture, but it’s rather like knowing there’s some sunken treasure in the lagoon, but not exactly where it is.

The story is about loss of power, and centers on former stockbroker and athletically charged Ned Merrill. Until recently, family man Ned was the life and soul of a small wealthy community shacked up in the swimming pooled mansions of a Connecticut valley. Loved and admired by his vacuous party loving chums, Ned’s huge financial success meant untold wealth and privilege for his wife and two wayward daughters. Additionally, a man with Ned’s physique was much sought after by the valley’s idle band of heaving bosoms, and this had encouraged our hero to deliver some interesting extracurricular services.

About a year previously, Ned had fallen on hard times, resulting in a nervous breakdown, and his release (or escape) from a psychiatric hospital is where we join him on an early morning run. Even without knowing the back-story, the sight of a man running through the autumn woods in swimwear is somewhat odd, but this is soon converted to reasonable normality when we hear of Ned’s mission to swim home to his beloved family by way of the valley swimming pools. What he doesn’t know is that his wife, stripped of the good life, sold their mansion long ago and disappeared into the ether. The former family home now lies empty and broken, a cruel metaphor for Ned’s delusional nightmare.

By knowing this background, we can now witness Burt Lancaster’s extraordinary performance in a completely new light. The off-centre energy so often seen in those with serious mental illness is so finely portrayed by Lancaster, one finds it hard to believe that this is in fact an actor at work. The character’s manic commitment to the goal ahead is laden with tension and foreboding, and the awkward bewilderment of the supporting company of players is a classic in its own right.

In the mammoth documentary extra “The Story of The Swimmer”, members of the surviving cast and crew reveal the up’s and down’s of the sometimes troubled production. However, I can’t help feeling that this probably added to the edgy nature of the performances, and contributed to what I now at last recognise as a true masterpiece. Also in the documentary, watch out for Lancaster’s love interest - the delectable Janet Landgard, quirkily beautiful then as now, and teasingly full of delicious Hollywood stories. Although she has an all knowing demeanour, that sense of youthful wonder so much a part of her role as the teenage Julie Hooper, is clearly still alive and well. A great value region free BD/DVD combo package from Grindhouse who have quietly become the Criterion of cult movies. An absolute must buy!

Roger Hopkins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Burts best., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimmer [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
One of the strangest films you will ever see featuring an A list star.A beautiful transfer,check this one out today..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Swimmer Blu Ray edition, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimmer [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
I watch this film about once a year and it gets me everytime. Multi layered and original, you can take it as a straight up 'Tales of the Unexpected' style tale or a whole life story set in an afternoon. Taking place amongst wealthy americans in the 1960's and the film stock colouring all just seem to add to the atmosphere (although Some of the filming techniques are very of it's time). The extras are probably only for fans of the film, old LA types talking about production is a bit repetitive, but the revelations about the troubled shoot are interesting and actually explain some of its very few flaws. Also the original narrated short story on which it is based is a nice addition. Wonderful and melancholic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific acting performance by Lancaster makes it believable to the ..., 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimmer [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
This is an unusual film. Burt Lancaster decides to swim home one day using the swimming pools of his friends across the county. It is initially sunny but gets darker as the underside of his life gets revealed. A terrific acting performance by Lancaster makes it believable to the end. Quick delivery all the way from Florida.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Swimming home..., 5 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimmer [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
Beautiful, imperfect film full of visual charm and human bitterness, about the end of the american myth, when superficial powder vanishes. Great performance by giant clever-athlete Burt Lancaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go swim without being wet with Burt !, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimmer [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
Magnificent transfer, those bonus are incredible 2h30 making of in HD.

even the presentation before the movie is the one ypu can see before Tarantino's killBill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully produced blu-ray with great additional documentary, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimmer [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
Films do not come much odder than this. Wonderfully produced blu-ray with great additional documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swimmer [Blu-ray] [1968]
£11.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews