Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition?
Wonderful book that I would love to re-read on Kindle. Please please make this happen. It would make the book available to the Kindle owning public!
Published 20 months ago by James

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The resilience of a man
Interesting insight into human nature and how people react in different/ difficult circumstances
Published 5 months ago by michael mcadam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition?, 13 April 2013
Wonderful book that I would love to re-read on Kindle. Please please make this happen. It would make the book available to the Kindle owning public!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This should be required reading..., 8 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. Vincent Moran-mchugh (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If This Is A Man/The Truce (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
These books are quite simply..well what? What word to use to describe them? Great? Wonderful? Stunning? None of those words work as they sound too crass.
Quite simply they should be read as history, as a story and as a testament to man's capacity for evil but also as man's ability to survive as a human being.
I don't have the capacity of language to review this book as i would like but Primo Levi certainty can write (could write) with great skill about his visit and (slow) escape from hell.
As an educational tool, forget getting children to just watch Schindler's List but also encourage them to read these books.
Not a happy read but not depressing. I am so glad i have read them. You should too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If This Is A Man/The Truce (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
I am not Jewish but feel that everybody should read this. When my daughter is older I will make sure she does, as I feel this is a part of history that should never be forgotten. It is a very disturbing subject but written in a factual way not with hate or anger, which i found very moving as I'm not sure I could do that if I had been through the same journey. I find it rather disturbing that just yesterday I heard on the radio 4 about increase attacks on Jewish people in France, I will never be able to understand that mindset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Human Spirit, 14 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If This Is A Man/The Truce (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
The human spirit is a remarkable thing. Yes this is a book about being in a concentration camp and surviving the Shoah but it is so much more than that. Primo Levi was a remakable writer and a man who had a real understanding of what makes us human. Painful but yet uplifting in so many ways. These books are amongst his finest works and I would recommend them to anyone. The only one of his works that beat it, in my opinion, is "The Drowned and the Saved"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If This Is A Man/The Truce (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
Everyone should read this....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing story, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If This Is A Man/The Truce (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
An incredible story, so well written and descriptive. You are left thinking about Primo and the others long after you have finished the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically educational, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If This Is A Man/The Truce (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
This book doesn't leave the reader emotionally drained by the end of it, it gives the facts and figures and really opens your eyes to the goings on inside a work camp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Mar 2014
This review is from: If This Is A Man/The Truce (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
Needed this for a uni seminar on survivor testimony and this is brilliant and very sad and moving, must read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars primo Levi, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If This Is A Man/The Truce (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
It just about breaks your heart to read this book,and then to know how his life ended is so very sad.should be read by everyone who hates cruelty and injustice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars truly mindblowing, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If This Is A Man/The Truce (Abacus 40th Anniversary) (Kindle Edition)
The most disturbing account yet of the Holocaust that I have read, and I have read a lot. You can tell ghis man was really there, I wojld recommend this book to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews