Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


274 of 280 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good entry level laptop with good feature set.
I'd like to start by recommending that you pay as little attention as possible to the low rated review that was posted previously by another buyer.

This is a good entry level laptop for the price and was bought for a basic computer user. It was intended simply to be used for online shopping, word processing and emails. For this use it is perfect. It includes...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. T. J. P. Fontana

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disconnects from Wifi constantly, crashes and very slow
I would recommend that you do not buy this laptop. I bought it and after a day was so angry and fed up with it that I returned it immediately for a full refund.

I used it for a day, it started ok with WiFi connection but as the day went on it disconnected more and more frequently until it no longer had any internet connection at all, this was true the next...
Published 2 months ago by digdragons


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

274 of 280 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good entry level laptop with good feature set., 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd like to start by recommending that you pay as little attention as possible to the low rated review that was posted previously by another buyer.

This is a good entry level laptop for the price and was bought for a basic computer user. It was intended simply to be used for online shopping, word processing and emails. For this use it is perfect. It includes the latest, 4th Generation of Intel CPUs, albeit only a Pentium, but this is more than enough for this use.

While I realise that many people do not get on with Windows 8 or 8.1, there is only a small learning curve and it can easily be overcome. Windows 8/8.1 is a good operating system and more people need to give it a chance. The impact of the new style start menu is minimal, but when used correctly, allows for a much more efficient way of opening programs, searching files and using one's computer in general.

Physically, the laptop is well built. The machine is a little on the thick side but this is not a problem when considering it is simply a budget computer. If you would rather a sleeker machine, the G500s series would be more suited to you, costing a little more. The build quality of the laptop is outstanding for the price, cheap laptops are usually flimsy and creaky when used. This machine feels solid and has no annoying groans or creaks when in use. It feels as though if it were to be used outside the home or by young children, it would survive a reasonable amount of abuse (although screens are still delicate as expected)
The keyboard is nice to use offering good travel and responsiveness, however, it obviously does not live up to those of higher end laptops and when typing quickly, as I do, it can often be easy to make mistakes, although with time I feel I can probably learn to better use the keyboard and reduce the number of mistakes that are made, it's simply a case of learning the key spacings and how much pressure needs to be applied.

The screen is bright and clear although at times feels like it should be a little brighter. Text on the screen is crisp and readable.

The speakers are nothing special but for the price of the laptop are more than acceptable. They are loud enough to hear the content you are listening to but offer very little definition.

Performance wise, the laptop does what it says on the tin, it makes no promises to be any form of gaming powerhouse, nor does it claim to be a media laptop. This laptop is for simple usage and while it will most likely be able to handle the odd film and some older Direct X 9.0 game, I wouldn't count on it for anything more, if you are looking for this, you will certainly need to spend more money. After updating to Windows 8.1 and removing all the bloatware that comes on new laptops (although, Lenovo are surprisingly good at keeping this to a minimum)the laptop booted quickly and remained responsive for the duration of its use. When using the laptop on my lap or on a desk there is no issue with heat and when used simply for browsing the web, I was able to achieve in excess of 5 hours unplugged, very good for a laptop of this price bracket and almost completely down to the power saving features of Intel's latest 22nm chips.

Other user has mentioned an issue with the hard drive being only 425GB. I would like to explain this to you so as not to put you off. The hard drive is in fact a 500GB model, however, as with all drives, a little of this is lost in formatting, bringing the total size down to 465GB, as with all drives of this capacity. The remainder of this space is divided into several partitions, explaining the previous reviewer's confusion. The primary, 'C:' partition is 425GB. There are two further partitions, accounting for the remaining space, a 25GB partition labelled 'D: Lenovo' - this contains the necessary drivers in the event of one wishing to reformat the machine. This can be deleted safely with the necessary know-how, although there is little point as the 24GB of free space on this partition can still be used. The remaining 10GB is a recovery partition that contains the files necessary to reinstall Windows should the user ever encounter any issues. Since manufacturers no longer provide recovery DVDs, this is how recovery media is now given. Once again, if other recovery media is obtained (in the form of a Windows 8/8.1 DVD) a little know-how can allow you to remove this and recover the remaining space on the drive.

I hope this can help you to consider whether or not to purchase what is an incredibly good value, budget laptop. I would also be more than happy to help with an questions, please just comment and I will aim to get back to you as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


119 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice laptop, well built and fast, 12 Feb 2014
By 
I. Harden "Blue Army!" (essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lenovo G500 15.6-inch Laptop - Black (Intel Core i3-3110 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Intel Integrated Graphics, Bluetooth, Camera, DVDRW, Windows 8.1 Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
I purchased this laptop for a customer because of the brand and price and i have not been dissapointed.
It worked first time and needed the windows 8 setting up - 8.1 is not installed, you need to run windows update to update the system and then download from the app store and follow the instruction, it's simple and painless.

The processor is good for everyday tasks as is the laptop itself. Good storage and nice amount of ram but these could be bettered. if i owned it, i would do this:

*install a 240 gig solid state hard drive
*install 8 gig of ram

These would increase performance considerably, but i will say, it's not a slow machine as it is.

Aesthetically nice and feels good to use. Keys are a little flexy and will take time to get used to, but nice to type on - because of the full keyboard, you do slip when pressing return sometimes and hit a number.

Sturdy and i think well built and fairly light. it doesn't have a glossy lid or shell so finger marks can be kept to a minimum. Screen is very vivid and bright, a little to bright so needs setting up properly. i find the wireless to be very quick and strong signal anywhere in my parents house - big house, router the opposite end to the lounge, still got 4-5 bars.

overall i'm impressed and about to order a second for another customer. i'd recommend this for everyday use but it's NOT a gaming machine. A lot of kit for the cash and a brand you can trust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great laptop- shame about the installed bundle, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo G500 15.6-inch Laptop - Black (Intel Core i3-3110 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Intel Integrated Graphics, Bluetooth, Camera, DVDRW, Windows 8.1 Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
I'm starting with a (no doubt doomed) attempt to highlight our irritation with the plethora of unwanted pre-installed file back-up, anti-virus and other programs. It's hard enough to find your way around a new laptop, especially with Windows 8.1, without being exposed to intensely irritating attempts to get you to pay out yet more money.
You are pestered to buy another file backup program despite Windows 8.1 package already including free file backup. When negotiating from the Windows 8.1 start page to the control panel is confusing enough, you don't want to be tricked into buying more junkware. In our frustration, we ended up paying someone to de-junk the Lenovo.
I can now say that the laptop is a really nice, good-value machine with a pleasant-to-use keyboard, excellent screen, silent operation, and a good level of sound from the onboard speakers- not hi-fi of course, but very usable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent laptop, 7 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
appears to be an excellent laptop
excellent value for money
although still not won over by Windows 8.1 ! - prefer Windows 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far exceeds my expectations., 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite the low price, and some other reviews, this machine far exceeds my expectations. I bought this to replace my personal laptop running XP, which had run out of HDD space and it out performs my company's work machine!! I can see why some are put off by the new operating system, but it should be relatively easy for anyone who can use an iPod or smartphone. I am particularly impressed by the start up speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great laptop for the price, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo G500 15.6-inch Laptop - Black (Intel Core i3-3110 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Intel Integrated Graphics, Bluetooth, Camera, DVDRW, Windows 8.1 Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
This is a great laptop. It is well built, has the i3 CPU and 4 GB of RAM. I recommend it highly. Also not too much software pre-loaded that you shall never use or Windows does just as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
High tech spec for the price. Fast and efficient, just trying to get to grips with Windows 8, and I think I will have touse a mouse rather than the touch pad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value laptop, 11 April 2014
By 
P. Alford (Maidstone, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo G500 15.6-inch Laptop - Black (Intel Core i3-3110 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Intel Integrated Graphics, Bluetooth, Camera, DVDRW, Windows 8.1 Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
Very pleased with my lenovo laptop, runs well, very quiet and feels like a nice piece of kit. I feel like I've purchased a quality item.

Worth doing some research into the best processor you can get for what you want to spend. Use this to guide the laptop you buy.

This lenovo offered a better processor compared to others at a similar price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great lappy, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo G500 15.6-inch Laptop - Black (Intel Core i3-3110 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Intel Integrated Graphics, Bluetooth, Camera, DVDRW, Windows 8.1 Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
Works fine, boots up really quickly. Windows 8.1 is going to take some getting used to, but then so did all new operating systems before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all!, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good and cheap laptop. Good build quality, very quiet , starts up and shuts down quickly. Very pleased:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews