Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yogasmically beautiful!
Having grown up in a household of clumsy and ham-fisted cavemen, I succeeded in continuing the family tradition of witless destruction by damaging my laptop beyond repair. The old bastard's departure caused little grief, however, as the machine was starting to remind me of my father; incompetent, slow and obnoxiously loud. Fortunately, laptops are not like unwanted...
Published 13 months ago by Will

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money. Go for something more expensive ...
Not worth the money. Go for something more expensive. I have had problems with the mouse and then problems with loosing the touch screen and then problems with white blobs floating across the screen and then pc could not be used. On looking at sites, these are known problems with Lenovo on other products they sell as well as this model. I then went back to the...
Published 8 months ago by Adrian Larpent


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yogasmically beautiful!, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo Yoga 2 11 11.6-inch Touch Convertible Laptop - Black (Quad Core Pentium N3520 2.17GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Integrated Intel Graphics, No DVDRW, Windows 8.1 Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
Having grown up in a household of clumsy and ham-fisted cavemen, I succeeded in continuing the family tradition of witless destruction by damaging my laptop beyond repair. The old bastard's departure caused little grief, however, as the machine was starting to remind me of my father; incompetent, slow and obnoxiously loud. Fortunately, laptops are not like unwanted fathers, in that they can be easily replaced (I've tried adoption, believe me).

After hours browsing, (and the realisation that I was much too tight-arsed for a macbook) I settled on this little cretin for my web-browsing and time-wasting needs. Delivery was swift and competent, which is more than can be said for many of Amazon's deliverers (S***tylink, I'm looking at you). More importantly, the computer was neatly packaged in sturdy corrugated cardboard, and came completely unblemished.

But the real juicy bits came when I whipped it out and gave it a wangle. And boy did it wangle. Part metallic, part plastic, the build of this chump is sturdier than a body-building ox in a brick s***house. The only gripe I have is that the keyboard bends ever so slightly when typing.

The screen is bright and crisp as a clear winter's dawn. It's not quite a thousand suns, but it's certainly bright enough (with the minor issue of power saving when unplugged - but this can be easily turned off). There is quite a chunky margin (not distractingly so, but there nonetheless), but I suppose this comes with having a touch screen. Speaking of which, the touch is responsive and smooth, like running your fingers through warm cream or swimming in the Greek Mediterranean.

If you have apprehensions over windows 8, I don't think the touch could really work without it. Thankfully this baby comes with 8.1 installed, meaning you have a simple 7-style desktop once you navigate past the "start" menu. Operating 8.1 is best likened to undoing a woman's bra - unnecessarily fiddly at first, but with practice one hand is all you need. Once you get to grips with the whole affair, things really do show themselves to be intuitive and clumsily fun. I'm usually more cynical than a depressed librarian, but I must say I'm being slowly won over by this latest entry by Microsoft. Whether this speaks for the machine rather than the OS, I simply cannot say as I have avoided Win 8 like the plague up until now.

The three "modes" lenovo offers may all have their uses for others, but in my experience the "tent" mode is a pointless distraction. Moreover, the tablet mode does leave the keyboard exposed, but I shouldn't think this will be a problem - this sweetheart is built to take a pounding.

Web browsing is fast, especially considering the snail-pace internet that BT so gracefully provides to us country bumpkins. One annoyance I had was Macaffee, which proved itself to be the fat cousin on a family walk, slowing everything down and pissing me off to no end. As with slow cousins, I recommend immediate culling of Macafee to speed things up considerably.

Finally, a few quick points to round things off and bring an end to this dull prose:

-The speakers surprised me with their quality, which was quite pleasant as I hadn't intended for anything too brilliant. They function well even though mounted on the underside.
-Does get a little warm, and I'm sure the speaker outlets are the only cooling outlets. Stood on a desk on its little rubber feet, this machine should be fine, but I would stick to browsing if it's perching on your lap (no HD pornos or gaming sessions).
-Keyboard can be a little tight if coming from a desktop, but this is a little baby; size considering, the keys are well spaced.
-Trackpad isn't the best, but with the touchscreen navigating is a breeze.

Overall, this bullet bastard is a real cracker. Sturdy, powerful and at the price of 499, well worth the money. I have no doubt that, as the name suggests, this sleek chap will bend over backwards for you.

EDIT (12th April 2014):

As with most products, the true pros and cons of this laptop have become apparent after some weeks' usage. I'll aim to give a comprehensive list of the problems and unexpected benefits of this laptop in the two lists below:

PROBLEMS:

- I have come to notice that, especially when using Google Chrome, black squares will appear in the display when the mode is switched, e.g. from tablet to laptop. This is not enough to make it a nuisance, and they pop out fairly quickly.
- The trackpad can be bloody annoying. The cursor will sometimes drift or not follow what you want it to do. Seeing as the laptop mode is what I mostly use it for, this can be annoying. Be aware, however, that the times this has happened are few and far between (once or twice a week).
- There are a few niggling features that I had to turn off, but then I am an impatient and simple minded man. For one, I had to turn off some mouse pad features, such as swiping (when swiping in from the right of the mouse pad, a settings menu will appear on the right side of the screen. This is mostly the OS's fault)

BENEFITS:

- The keyboard is one of the best I've typed on, for a laptop (certainly does not beat a good mechanical keyboard, which are one of the most gracious inventions on God's otherwise sh**ty earth). It is almost as good as a Mac laptop keyboard.
- THERE ARE LIGHT SENSORS AT THE TOP OF THE SCREEN. When I discovered this feature I was giddy as a little boy. They cause the screen to adjust brightness depending on the ambient lighting - dark, and the screen will darken, bright and the back-light will get brighter to counter-act this. As I say I am simple minded, so I found this space age tech some what awe inspiring.
- Tablet mode is as sexy as ever. Easy to use, except for small buttons like the close or minimise ones, but a stylus will help with that.

Overall I would still recommend the little chum, and my score of 9/10 still stands. Maybe 8.8. I dunno.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing laptop - but Windows 8 is still bad and impractical, even with a touchscreen., 10 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Lenovo Yoga 2 11 11.6-inch Touch Convertible Laptop - Black (Quad Core Pentium N3520 2.17GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Integrated Intel Graphics, No DVDRW, Windows 8.1 Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
(one week after purchase)

I'll just start by saying that this is a fantastic piece of hardware. Very compact and light, fantastic battery (will last a minimum of 3 hours on a full battery, usually around 4), a processor that will chug through pretty much anything, and the Intel graphics are great for getting around Windows 8's interface and will run low to medium intensity applications nicely (basically, anything that is less demanding than a 3D game). The laptop also stays pretty cool too, just warming up a tad occasionally when I play football manager, but no where near as hot as I've previously experienced with pretty much every laptop I've ever used, which is amazing considering how thin it is and how it doesn't seem to have any fans on the chassis! (did I mention how quiet it is too?)

The keyboard is lovely to type with, and the touch screen is really nice and responsive too. I would have really fancied a 1600x900 screen and would've paid an extra 50 quid for it but I suppose for 11.6 inches, the resolution is expected. I changed the hard drive for a 240GB SSD which has really made it sharp along with the CPU and the 4 gigs of ram - starts up and shuts down very quickly, along with loading programs. I'm sure it would've been fine with the original hard drive but I'm just a bit of an SSD fanatic.

Of course the standout feature of this laptop is the unique way in which it can change modes. I can safely say the tent mode is a bit weird and I won't ever be using it (why would you have it like that when you can have it stand mode? It takes up the same area) but it works really nicely as a normal laptop and also as a tablet as advertised - you just flip the screen over, the keyboard disables, and there you just have a touch screen.

This is however, where my gripes with Windows 8 start (I can't say too much about it as this a review for the laptop, not the OS).
Tablet mode is really held back by the fact that the Windows 8 on screen keyboard takes up the whole lower half of the screen and is unnecessarily big - and the amazing thing is, there is absolutely no way to make it smaller! No options for it at all! I've been using a window-based 3rd party touch keyboard which has the options that I want, and it's doing a bit better for me.

After fresh installing the OS using the media creator to get Windows 8 on to my USB stick, it became more apparent how inconvenient Windows 8 is. Took me half a day to configure it how I wanted - plenty of 3rd party software involved here. Not going into too much detail but even after all the work, there are still imperfections. I'd read bad things about Windows 8 but I expected most of it just applied to using it with a mouse and keyboard - but nope, it's still bad even when you have a touchscreen. The OS literally seems like it's just built for tablets, and that's it. It's not even fit for convertibles such as this.

I will be doing a bit of research into seeing how well this laptop will run Windows 7, and how well the OS will run with a touch screen. I doubt I will go through with it but I'm annoyed enough with Windows 8 to consider it. I think regardless I will be installing Windows 10 on this laptop when it comes out anyway, unless I do actually find myself getting used to 8.

To sum up the review - the laptop is a fantastic from a hardware point of view, but Windows 8 is a thorn in your backside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but limited, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo Yoga 2 11 11.6-inch Touch Convertible Laptop - Black (Quad Core Pentium N3520 2.17GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Integrated Intel Graphics, No DVDRW, Windows 8.1 Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
It's a good little machine. Battery life is a little low, but that can be tweaked by trimming the OS Fat. I was not sure about the Quad core processor, but it seems to do the job. It gets bogged down a little from time to time, so I would not tax it with heavy workloads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Non-standard hard drive connector, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo Yoga 2 11 11.6-inch Touch Convertible Laptop - Black (Quad Core Pentium N3520 2.17GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Integrated Intel Graphics, No DVDRW, Windows 8.1 Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
The hard drive that came in mine was a Western Digital Blue UltraSlim (5mm) hard disk with an obscure non-standard SATA connector called SFF-8784. Very disappointed by this as no drives are available with the connector so the drive cannot easily be replaced with a faster SSD. The performance can be poor at times with the standard HDD (I am used to using SSDs at home and work).

I bought this over the Yoga 11s because the Pentium processor apparently uses less power and scored a little higher on cpuboss.com than the i3 (3rd gen or 4th gen). I planned on replacing the HDD with a much faster SSD.

The Yoga 2 11 sometimes comes with a 500GB Seagate drive with a standard SATA connector so it may be possible to buy the spare part with the correct SATA connector from Lenovo. I will update the review if I have any success with this (see below).

As for the laptop itself - first impression is that it is neat. I was worried that the 360 folding was going to be a little gimmicky but it is very convenient. Windows 8.1 works really well with a touchscreen and I'm happy I can fold the keyboard out of the way and go into touchscreen only mode. It is particularly comfortable to rest on your lap in stand-mode as the screen can be adjusted to the preferred angle, rather than with a tablet where you have to hold it upright.

I love that I can use it as a tablet on the sofa in front of the TV for browsing the web and whatnot but can also install regular Windows desktop apps and flip the keyboard back around if I need to do anything more involved.

The hinges on the screen are nice and stiff and the build quality generally feels quite good although the keyboard is a bit flimsy to the point where it moves in and out when I type.

--

Update:

I have installed a Saumsung 840 EVO 2.5" SSD by purchasing the standard SATA cable which some of these laptops come with. The part is listed in the maintenance manual as "Vienna HDD Cable SEAGET - Part Number: 90204934". I got it from the official Lenovo parts website (lenovoserviceshop.com) for around 10 euros including delivery and it took around a week to arrive from Germany. The original drives in the Yoga 2 11 are 5mm thick but the Samsung is 8mm which is more common. It fits perfectly fine and the installation was quite simple.

Update:

The laptop is performing much better with the SSD and overall I am very pleased with the purchase and would recommend it (so long as the buyer is prepared to upgrade to SSD). I will update my review to 4 stars but not 5 since I am still annoyed about the nonstandard connector and the keyboard is a little flimsy in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good travelling companion, 7 Jun. 2014
By 
A. Bennett "Ade" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo Yoga 2 11 11.6-inch Touch Convertible Laptop - Black (Quad Core Pentium N3520 2.17GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Integrated Intel Graphics, No DVDRW, Windows 8.1 Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
Nice solid laptop that doubles as a tablet once the screen is swung over. Reasonably processor speed and good coloured touch screen. Touch pad is not quite as accurate as I would like. Good sized hard drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yoga ++++++, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo Yoga 2 11 11.6-inch Touch Convertible Laptop - Black (Quad Core Pentium N3520 2.17GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Integrated Intel Graphics, No DVDRW, Windows 8.1 Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
second day of ownership. So light, amazing difference between my existing Acer 15.6" screen laptop.
Screen very clear, even the tiniest print.
Turns on in SECONDs, think its faster than our Ipad !
Updated to 8.1 yesterday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest comment, 4 May 2014
By 
X (S.E. England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo Yoga 2 11 11.6-inch Touch Convertible Laptop - Black (Quad Core Pentium N3520 2.17GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Integrated Intel Graphics, No DVDRW, Windows 8.1 Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
I don't think the negative reviews of this product are "entirely sincere"... I actually have this computer and the IT skills of a well-smoked kipper, and it does all I want well and with speed.

Want a decent laptop, entirely fit for the purposes of an ordinary user, with a bit more class than others at this price-point? This is a perfectly adequate possibility. The build quality is very good indeed, good keyboard, sharp screen, second-best operating system available today is installed with the best one easy to load.

I really do not see what the negative commentors are on about, unless they are not disinterested...

If all you want is a quality laptop/tablet which is well made, will give access to virtually never-ending software and excellent technical support, and is more than fast enough for the average user this is worth considering. I have no regrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo Yoga 2 11 11.6-inch Touch Convertible Laptop - Black (Quad Core Pentium N3520 2.17GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Integrated Intel Graphics, No DVDRW, Windows 8.1 Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
Excellent item bought at a very reasonable price. Great deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money. Go for something more expensive ..., 18 July 2014
This review is from: Lenovo Yoga 2 11 11.6-inch Touch Convertible Laptop - Black (Quad Core Pentium N3520 2.17GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Integrated Intel Graphics, No DVDRW, Windows 8.1 Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
Not worth the money. Go for something more expensive. I have had problems with the mouse and then problems with loosing the touch screen and then problems with white blobs floating across the screen and then pc could not be used. On looking at sites, these are known problems with Lenovo on other products they sell as well as this model. I then went back to the supplier I purchased it through Amazon on. They said take it back to Lenovo and not very helpful After talking to Lenovo, it was collected from the office and told back in 10 days. Having received nothing after 20 days I phoned them up. Not in system, but the adviser said ' at least not lost!!!' - just not assigned to a job number!! still waiting for it to come back. I used this pc for work so decided to buy another one and I will have to use this one (if it ever comes back!) as the office laptop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only lasted 16 days!, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo Yoga 2 11 11.6-inch Touch Convertible Laptop - Black (Quad Core Pentium N3520 2.17GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Integrated Intel Graphics, No DVDRW, Windows 8.1 Home Premium) (Personal Computers)
Bought this laptop as an upgrade for my ageing Samsung Netbook as I was going on a long distance holiday. Amazon delivered it a week before I left so I had a little time to familiarise myself and make the jump from XP to Windows 8. I was happy initially with the laptop until it failed after only 16 days of very light use. It now refuses to even turn on so I have returned it to Amazon for a refund as I have lost confidence in the product.
Exceptional customer service from Amazon in the returning process
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews