Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different from Templeton
If you are familiar with Templeton's other works set in remote SW Scotland, then this story set in the remote Welsh Marches would suggest something similar. But this novel is so much different from the Inspector Fleming series in that it is far less police oriented and far more concentrated on the characters involved. Of course the police aspect is there, but far more...
Published 6 months ago by J. O'NEILL

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Night and silence
Pleasant as in enjoyable read. I like the characters and would consider buying another from this author, to follow how they develop.
Published 2 months ago by J. Watkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different from Templeton, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night and Silence (Kindle Edition)
If you are familiar with Templeton's other works set in remote SW Scotland, then this story set in the remote Welsh Marches would suggest something similar. But this novel is so much different from the Inspector Fleming series in that it is far less police oriented and far more concentrated on the characters involved. Of course the police aspect is there, but far more important to the book as a whole is the development of the main characters... so much so that they almost come to life. Altogether a very satisfying read. Don't worry if you are new to this author, you don't need to have read any of her previous worksto enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, gripping story, 3 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Night and Silence (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The story drew you in immediately, and left a chill down your spine whilst trying to work out who the main villain was. I made several false accusations of the murderer in my mind. It is well written, very enjoyable and no-put-downable(!) if you enjoy a good murder/mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night and Silence, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night and Silence (Kindle Edition)
A well written compelling page turner. Through out there is a feeling of unease and menace something bad is happening but when and what. Some good unexpected twists in a story which kept me reading until I finished it in one sitting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping thriller, 15 Sep 2000
By 
Mrs. E. Wyman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night and Silence (Paperback)
I was recommended this book by a friend, and I wasn't disappointed. Extremely well written, it grabs your attention and is gripping right up until the final page. Not really a detective novel, but a crime thriller more in the vein of Barbara Vine. Can't wait to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exciting and realistic, 2 Feb 2014
This review is from: Night and Silence (Kindle Edition)
I thought this was a really good read- well written, excellent plot. And the situation is interesting, the main characters are outsiders in a small,unfriendly village. The way in which they are made to feel alien and excluded, and all their attempts at friendliness beaten back- that was very well portrayed, without being overdone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great tense psychological crime drama., 10 July 2014
By 
R G Palmer (Westcliff-on-Sea, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night and Silence (Kindle Edition)
A very well written crime thriller, with a twisting clever storyline which keeps the reader guessing. The use of language is very rich and evocative, and the lengthy climax builds and builds to a crescendo of finger-tightening tension. The social satire of the back-biting, gossiping, cold-shouldering, and narrow mindedness of a small town is also very well executed.
There are two reasons I am only giving it 4 stars - one is the large number of characters who are introduced in quick succession at the start of the book without too much explanation of how they all fit in, making for a bit of a confusing beginning to the novel; the other reason, I am afraid to say, is the poor editing, which is quite disappointing to see in the work of an author this good - I found at least 2 dozen mistakes, one of which is in the first paragraph. Don't let this put you off though - a thoroughly riveting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Night and silence, 24 Jun 2014
By 
J. Watkins (Wiltshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night and Silence (Kindle Edition)
Pleasant as in enjoyable read. I like the characters and would consider buying another from this author, to follow how they develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kept me guessing, 20 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night and Silence (Kindle Edition)
It is certainly quite a different plot to the usual crime books. Basically you can guess that the one talking is responsible for the deaths, but then who is the one talking?. Certainly not the one I thought it was, and I think most people would be the same! I had blamed several people before the end and was totally wrong. I felt the author drew the characters well. Will certainly be looking for other books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Night and Silence, 15 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night and Silence (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book. Haven't read any of her books before. It was a bit creepy in places but held me until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night and Silence (Kindle Edition)
Had me hooked from start to finish. Really well written with some nice twists. At first it was confusing because of all the characters but they were all necessary and added value to the story. I will definitely read other works by Aline Templeton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night and Silence
Night and Silence by Aline Templeton
0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews