Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars67
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2014
A subtle performance by Charlton Heston and the always excellent Rex Harrison who looks wonderful in any costume
drama supporting cast also very good. I particularly remembered the great music in this film and the explanation at the
beginning that Michelangelo was mainly a sculptor not a painter who created the breathtaking Sistine chapel, which almost
blinded him and made him ill. Very uplifting movie about a supreme genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
a good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
I had this film on VHS, and had been looking to get it on DVD. A classic casting combination of Charlton Heston and Rex Harrison, in the fascinating tale of Michelangelo's struggle to paint the fresco of his life, and the difficult relationship he had with the Pope. A must see!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
FIRST CLASS. HAVING RECENTLY VISITED ITALY AND FLORENCE AND APPRECIATED THE SUPERB WORK OF MICHAELANGELO THE FILM HELPED US TO UNDERSTAND THE DRAMA OF HIS WORK AMIDST THE POLITICAL BACKGROUND OF ITALY. LITTLE SEEMS TO HAVE CHANGED OVER THE YEARS?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
Brilliant film especially for students of Renaissance Art. Tells the background story of Michaelangelo and Julius II and the creation of the Sistine Chapel ceiling. Brilliant performances from two great actors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
best filmed his top-quality special features are teased trailer and theatre trailer picture is outstanding top-quality so was the sound like all were Fox releases all have top-quality pictures
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
Just returned from a trip to Rome and obviously a visit to the Vatican was high on the list. Our tourist guide recommended this film for the history surrounding the paintings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
One of my favourite films. Charleton Heston never fails to excel. Enjoyed watching it with my husband. A masterpiece to be enjoyed over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
Really enjoyed this DVD, as I have bee studying the Life of Michael Angelo with an American(USA) DVD course. with the life of this genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)