Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's only painted plaster, Your Holiness."
This fictionalized account of the painting of the Sistine Chapel ceiling focuses on the battle of wills between the artist, Michelangelo (Charlton Heston), and his patron, Pope Julius II (Rex Harrison). As the story opens, Michelangelo, already an established sculptor, is commissioned by the warrior Pope to decorate his ceiling. Michelangelo doesn't want to do it,...
Published on 2 Mar 2006 by Kona

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great,but read the book
I thought this film was great,and then i read the book which has completely changed my life.I also think that the film chose a funny chapter in his life to portray and as amazing as the sistine ceiling is,i think there are better works and more exciting chapters in his life to know about.therefore...read the book.
Published on 5 Jun 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Agony and the Ecstasy [Blu-ray] [1965] (Blu-ray)
Very happy all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Agony and the Ecstasy [Blu-ray] [1965] (Blu-ray)
Very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had this film on VHS, and had been looking to get it on DVD. A classic casting combination of Charlton Heston and Rex Harrison, in the fascinating tale of Michelangelo's struggle to paint the fresco of his life, and the difficult relationship he had with the Pope. A must see!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historical movie, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this film many years ago. After taking my daugther to Rome and visiting
St Paul's , I remembered this movie and decided to look at the history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Nov 2014
A GOOD BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Golden Oldie!!, 30 April 2009
By 
A. Jenkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw this film many years ago and thought it might be a good way to get my art students involved in the context of art in the Renaissance. The film is very dated and inaccurate (I now realise!) but I couldn't help being drawn into the story and the atmosphere again, melodrama! I don't think many teenagers would be able to connect with it though. So a classic for my generation but not cool for kids!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars film buff, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
was looking forward to watching this dvd ,but sadley it did not play very well it stuttered and froze several times
thinking it might be my player i tryed another dvd in it and that played all the way through with no problem
so i was dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Golden Oldie??, 21 Aug 2011
I must have been watching a different film to the other reviewers. Every possible cliche was used. The 12 minute prologue was excrutatingly patronising and the dialogue gut wrenching. Golden oldie? I think not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pay your Uk tax, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Robert M (suffolk England) - See all my reviews
WAtch the vice CEO Amazon Uk Pretend they make it clear its a Luxemburg company really. They look guilty just as James Murdoch befire him. Who prepares these executi ves . Stop cheating us now..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Agony and the Ecstasy [Blu-ray] [1965]
The Agony and the Ecstasy [Blu-ray] [1965] by Carol Reed (Blu-ray - 2014)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews