Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A descent remake
Carrie is based on the masterly horror writer Stephen King's book. The original release was in 1976. Thirty seven years later, a modern version has been released in the cinema screen. To be honest, I am not a fan of remakes, as I have seen plenty of abysmal and pointless remakes. Carrie is a reasonable remake.

Carrie is a supernatural horror film. The story...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. P. Datta

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Yet Underwhelming Remake
Blu ray Info.
Ratio 16.9 1.78:1, Region B.

Running time 100 minutes.

Extras.
Optional Alternative Ending or Theatrical Cut versions, Trailer, Featurettes.

Trivia.
1)Jodie Foster was considered for the part of Mrs Margaret White.
2)Chloe Moretz was 15 year's old when making this movie & was therefore limited to only 8...
Published 8 months ago by Timelord-007


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Yet Underwhelming Remake, 6 April 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrie [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Blu ray Info.
Ratio 16.9 1.78:1, Region B.

Running time 100 minutes.

Extras.
Optional Alternative Ending or Theatrical Cut versions, Trailer, Featurettes.

Trivia.
1)Jodie Foster was considered for the part of Mrs Margaret White.
2)Chloe Moretz was 15 year's old when making this movie & was therefore limited to only 8 hour's acting per day.
3)Mrs White death scene was reshot as it wasn't deemed gory enough.
4)The altenative ending is actually better than the theatrical cut & the Blu ray allows you to choose which ending you prefer.
5)I recommend Busy Doin Nothing review of this movie as he very informative on the making of this movie.

Synopsis.
A remake of the 1976 film of the same name sees Chloe Moretz take up the role of Carrie White a shy girl whom is deemed a outcast by her classmates & sheltered by her religious & disturbed mother Margaret.

Carrie starts to discover she has powers of telekinesis passed on genetically from her father & starts to study it's power & learn how to control it.

When her classmate Sue feels empathy towards Carrie for teasing her she asks her boyfriend Tommy to escort Carrie to the High School Prom in her place to give Carrie a night of happiness.

Yet fate has other idea's as Carrie is once again a victim of a vicious prank which pushes her emotionally too far allowing Carrie in unleashing her powers of telekinesis upon her classmates in a bloody bloodbath that will end in such tragic consequences for everyone involved.

Timelord Thoughts.
This to be fair is a decent well directed remake with good performances by Chloe Moretz & Julianne Moore as Carrie & Margret White but it doesn't really expand on anything we haven't aleady seen before in the 1976 original.

There are a few minor changes the opening were Carrie is born & her mother contemplates killing her new born baby is quite a disturbing opening but from that shocking first scene the story more or less follows the 1976 version.

Julianne moore brings a disturbing edge to her take on Carrie's mother Margret adding a self harm subplot & gives the viewer a very uncomfortable experience in these scenes.

Chloe Moretz is a very good actress & a future A list star yet I didn't find any empathy for her character like I did with Spacek version as Moretz seems more in control of her telekinesis & by her facial expressions seemed to relish in her classmates demise taking away any empathy towards the character.

The climatic showdown were Carrie unleashes her rage via telekinesis is well filmed with some excellent special effects yet the 1976 version feels more horrific maybe due Sissy Spacek chilling performance & Brian DePalma tighter multi camera direction.

One good point though is the alternative ending which is far better than the dull original theatrical ending as with the alternative ending it gives the viewer a great final jump scare & the Blu ray gives you the choice of which ending you want to view.

Director Kimberley Peirce original cut of this movie was very different from what was eventually released theatrically having to reshoot scenes due to studio interference so it mirrored the original movie, I recommend a review by Busy Doin Nothin if you'd like more information about the original cut & reshooted scenes.

Not bad as remakes go, It's entertaining enough with competent performances by Chloe Moretz & Julianne Moore & ideal for a Friday night movie to snuggle up to watch with the missus.

Timelord Rating.
6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A descent remake, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Carrie [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Carrie is based on the masterly horror writer Stephen King's book. The original release was in 1976. Thirty seven years later, a modern version has been released in the cinema screen. To be honest, I am not a fan of remakes, as I have seen plenty of abysmal and pointless remakes. Carrie is a reasonable remake.

Carrie is a supernatural horror film. The story is about Margaret White, a disturbed, sinister and overly religions character, who gives birth to a girl, with the intention of killing her, but changes mind. Years later, a shy and loner Carrie is nearly graduating. One day Carrie experiences her first menstrual period in the girls showers. Fellow pupils laugh and take joy seeing this. Carrie is a victim of bullying. What is the explanation for this? Later, we found out Carrie holds supernatural powers, that can cause destruction. The pace and adrenaline of the film picks up mid way, as Carrie's character become scary and spooky. There are scary and disturbing scenes throughout the film.

The modern version is a descent remake. I did not mind at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Horror, But Not Quite Brilliant, 12 Oct 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrie [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
This is a first rate horror film, and is a faithful adaptation of the excellent novel by Stephen King. It is also a remake of the successful 1976 movie, which starred Sissy Spacek as the titular character, Piper Laurie as her deranged mother, and John Travolta as Carrie's date for an ill-fated Prom Night - Carrie [Blu-ray] [1976]
Here, Chloe Grace Moretz (famous for the KickAss movies - Kick-Ass/Kick-Ass 2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] ), takes the lead role, and excellent she is too. Julianne Moore plays her mother, Margaret, and she too doesn't put a foot wrong.
Margaret is a bible-bashing, agoraphobic, self-harming, and psychotic parent. She hates sex, it's the work of the Devil, and it doesn't occur to her that she's causing her daughter enormous psychological harm. Carrie is an introverted, naive teenage girl, the odd one out at High School, and the subject of bullying by the other girls. She has her first period whilst in the girls' locker room, suffers from a panic attack because she doesn't understand what's happening to her body, and the other teenagers mock her mercilessly, using their mobiles to film Carrie's distress.
The girls are led by a particularly loathsome teenager, Chris. Adding insult to injury, Chris puts the digital film onto YouTube.
Carrie has the power of telekinesis, inherited from her father and grandmother. She can move and shape any physical object, using mind control. As her anger builds each day, she starts practising and honing her skills. Meanwhile, the misbehaviour of Chris results in her exclusion from the High School Prom, and she swears to punish Carrie for that.
One of the other girls involved in tormenting Carrie, Sue, feels contempt for her own conduct. As a penance, she persuades her good looking boyfriend, Tommy, to take Carrie to the High School Prom. Carrie is initially suspicious and reticent about the invite, but she succumbs to this opportunity to move away from her image as the High School misfit. The stage is then set for the High School Prom, where Chris, Carrie, Tommy, Sue, and many others, will meet their fates.
This is a highly enjoyable, efficient and gripping horror. Both Chloe Moretz and Julianne Moore give spirited, chilling performances, whilst the supporting cast are very good too. However, the film does have its weaknesses, which stops it from reaching the pantheon of all-time great horror movies.
Firstly, Chloe Moretz is too pretty, too well spoken, and frankly too likeable, to be completely convincing as the High School leper. Sissy Spacek in the original movie was better cast, because she was quite odd looking, though not entirely unattractive, and had slightly mad eyes.
Secondly, the big climax to the movie, when all Hell breaks loose at the Prom, although well choreographed and shot, is not particularly scary. In terms of shock-effect, this version of Carrie is very reminiscent of another Stephen King film made into a book, namely Firestarter, starring Drew Barrymore, where a little girl had a form of telekinesis, which enabled her to create and control fire using mind control. That too had well staged scenes when the little girl was destroying buildings and bad guys with fireballs, but, like this new version of Carrie, it wasn't particularly scary - Firestarter [Blu-ray] [1984] [US Import]
Thirdly, the kills scenes aren't good enough, i.e. they're neither disturbing nor stomach turning nor inventive enough, which is a great pity. It's another reason why this film had me thinking of the similarities with Firestarter. I'm sure that the CGI could have been used more effectively, i.e. perhaps showing Carrie using her powers to bend people's bodies into extreme shapes, or pulling their eyeballs from their sockets, etc, which doesn't happen here. In David Cronenberg's Scanners, there's an infamous scene where the bad guy uses the power of telekinesis to make another man's head explode. It was startlingly original at the time, and nothing in this movie comes near to matching that shock-effect - Scanners [Blu-Ray]
Fourthly, by staying very faithful to the novel, this film brought nothing new to the table. If you've seen the 70's movie and/or read the book, you'll pretty much know exactly what's going to happen, scene by scene. It's a shame that some artistic license wasn't used, and one or two new characters and/or plot twists added. For instance, it's a shame that John Travolta wasn't persuaded to take a cameo role, perhaps as a religious fanatic and the school Head Teacher, who takes advantage of his position of power to abuse Carrie and/or her mother. That would have been a very different and disturbing take on the story, distinguishing it from the 1976 original.
All in all, this is a very good horror film, which falls just short of greatness. However, before spending your money, you might want to think about waiting until this movie is released as a double DVD with the original 1976 movie, which I suspect will probably happen sooner rather than later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'THEY HAVE CERTAINLY PICKED THE WRONG GIRL TO MESS WITH', 31 Mar 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrie [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I must confess in recent years I have been critical of re-makes.
The Original 1976 'Sissy Spacec' version was indeed a classic
chiller.
So it's fair to say that I wasn't sure how this would turn out, though
I acknowledge the casting of 'Chloe Grace Mortez' as 'Carrie' and
'Julianne Moore' as the bible-pushing and domineering mother
'Margaret White' was indeed promising.
'Carrie' at school is an outcast, she just doesn't fit in, and is often
mocked by the other students.
Early on 'Carrie' begins to notice that unexplained things happen
often when upset or annoyed.
Learning to harness and control those powers is another thing however.
The school 'Prom' is coming up, things being as they are at school
'Carrie' would not expect to attend.
However one of her fellow pupils is feeling bad about how she and others
had wronged 'Carrie' a few days earlier, so she asks her boyfriend 'Tommy'
to ask the naïve teen to accompany him to the 'Prom'
Of course 'Carrie's' mother won't approve, however having accepted the
invitation she is going, and uses her 'Telekinetic' powers to convince her
mother that 'no' wasn't an option.
'Nicki' the school 'bitch' with the help of her boyfriend devise an evil plot to
turn 'Carrie's' night at the 'Prom' into a nightmare.
The mocking quickly turns into screams and panic as 'Carrie' turns her
humiliation into vengeance.
The original of course did not have the benefit of the technology that this
version had.
This, a decent re-make though possibly lacking the sense of dramatic
intensity many remember.
I guess if this is the first version seen....it's pretty good.
Had I never seen the original I too would be content.
Features...
*Alternative ending.
*Commentary by director 'Kimberly Price'
*Deleted and extended scenes.
*Creating 'Carrie'
*The power of 'Telekinesis'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best choice for a Halloween night., 20 Oct 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Carrie [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Some teen girls are evil. 50 years ago, and still now. There is always an underdog at school. You know the story of this one - a shy outsider Carrie (played by Chloe Moretz) is sheltered from the world by her deeply religious and overprotective mother (Julianne Moore). Things go wrong and Carrie releases full force of telekinetic powers.

"Carrier" the film is hour and a half long, but it's only the last 30 minutes or so get you slightly uncomfortable (definitely not a choice for a Halloween night - this is very bloody but little scary!).

Somewhat forgettable and perhaps slightly boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you've seen the original.....this version brings nothing new to the table, 31 July 2014
By 
Naomi_B (southport,england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Carrie [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
As far as a horror remake goes, this version of Carrie does ok. There is not much new to offer except probably thanks to the addition of mobile phones and internet the bullying is even more extreme. If you've seen the original its doubtful that you will be impressed by the remake, still Moretz does a good job as Carrie. Julianne Moore although an impressive actress is not as chilling as the Piper Laurie version of mum from the 1976 film. I think this Carrie is more accessible to younger viewers, certainly thanks to its updated styling perhaps they may prefer this to the original but if you have seen the original there is not much point in seeing this version as there is just not enough differences to warrant it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IT'S BEEN DONE BEFORE AND BETTER, 15 Mar 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Carrie [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
If you have seen the original Carrie, this remake will bore you to tears. Sure, they added cyber bullying to the film, big deal. The acting was great, but so was the original. Did the "Plug it up" scene surprise anybody? Did anybody not know what was going to happen with the pig's blood? The fire? the automobile? the mom? And what about the ending? I recall watching the original Carrie in the theater. That surprise ending literally had people jumping out of their chairs. This one put me to sleep. It was like watching a film where someone told you everything that was going to happen.

Why did they even bother?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blood soaked Revenge, 11 Aug 2014
This review is from: Carrie (DVD)
Stephen King novels on the whole do not make good films,there are exceptions,"Misery","The Shining" & this which was originally directed by Brian DePalma.This remake,from the director of "Boys Don't Cry",is pretty much a carbon copy but has been modernised & has vastly improved effects.
Julianne Moore plays mum & as in the original,is ruled by her belief system & does everything she can to protect Carrie from the outside world.This is a comming of age story & covers bullying that at it's original release was hardly an issue.Carrie struggles at school because she is different & is bullied & laughed at pretty much all the time,when she has her first period in the shower after games,she panics,not realizing that it's natural not life threatning.Chris films the episode on her cell phone & puts it on line.
Carrie is collected from school by her mum & is instantly punished for being un-clean & a sinner then shoved in the closet.

During all this Carrie is discovering her telikinisis,she does have a few allies,her games teacher & one of the girls who used to bully her.The rest you probably know,gets invited to the prom & all hell breaks loose as Carrie gets her revenge.
A very good remake,Julianne Moore is excellent as mum & Chloe Grace is a great Carrie.A very much character lead horror which has a suprising warmth about it.
Do not expect lots of gore,violence & bad language cause it aint here!! too many horror remakes fall into this trap & 99% of the time it's just boring.A film that to a point,is about growing up but none of us got the chance of such a spectacular revenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pig's Blood Pours Again!, 8 Aug 2014
By 
BioHazard (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Carrie [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
On first impression when my eye caught a glimpse of the trailer I didn't have any real intentions on viewing it personally due to being re-release of an old school classic but that all changed rapidly.

When the time came to watch it as soon as those credits rolled at the end there was no face palm with regret because this is an absolute cracking film to elevate the quality of it even more is when you merge Julianne Moore & Chloe Grace Moretz together and put them behind the cameras you get a performance of a lifetime, the script was written with heedful thought and the dialogue was spoken with a breeze, all the scenes certainly resembled the original but weren't heavily punished by new conception, the apprehension wasn't overwhelmed to the stage of nail biting or edge of your seat but certainly has that some tension involved, lastly the music composition really fits the scenes immaculately and gives more benefit to the movie.

Im not usually a real lover of remakes especially if they are categorized in the classics but I will admittedly take my hat of to this one because it really has made it's mark in movie history in my opinion anyway, will never be as satisfactory as the original but certainly one to sit through.

My rating 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wanna go to the prom?, 14 Jan 2014
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Every so often we get a remake of a horror classic, and most times they do not hold a candle to the original. Case in point Sam Peckinpah's classic Straw Dogs starring Dustin Hoffman and Susan George. Other examples being Sam Raimi's Evil Dead, and Texas Chainsaw Massacre, classics in the genre.

Occasionally though a worthwhile remake comes along such as I Spit on Your Grave or Last House on the Left which while the originals may not be classics they have gained a certain reputation, and a good way to explore the originals. I particularly liked the remake of John Carpenter's The Thing which can be seen as a precursor to the Alien movies, and I loved that they made the protagonist female.

Among the hardest acts to follow would be the remake of De Palma's original version of Carrie based on the Stephen King classic book which had a stellar cast including Sissy Spacek and John Travolta in a minor role. It has been a long time since I saw the original, and as I watched this remake starring Chloe Grace Moretz, at first I did start comparing it to the original but as I continued to watch I began to realize what a brilliant story this is, and how relevant it is as a metaphor for high school life today. The original has a surprise element which I have now seen many times with slight variations in other movies, an indicator of its huge influence..

Since the original movie in 1976 we have had many high school shootings. In some cases the perpetrators are marginalized or outsiders, treated as weird or even bullied by other kids with tragic consequences. So in some respects while Carrie is a tale of a girl with supernatural abilities, with a religious zealot for a mother, in this case played very ably by Julianne Moore, kept ignorant of the facts of life, and who is exploited and bullied by the other girls, and if you care to look at it on a deeper level it is a story of the reality of fitting and even surviving.

The story elements mesh together beautifully. We have the entitled bad girl cheerleader, the crazy mother, the girl with a conscience who regrets her participation, the supportive gym teacher, and the unfortunate girl who wants a shot at a normal life. Even though Carrie does bad things we get the sense that if things had gone only slightly differently she might have achieved that goal. If the prom were to go off without incident who knows what would be possible, but high school and the darker side of human nature can throw some serious curve balls.

I have to admit I was quite taken with this remake, and I loved the recurring symbolism of blood and roses of different colors throughout the movie. Does it hold a candle to the original? I think so, and it's updated to today's age to allow for social media expanding the level of humiliation possible to foist on a young girl.

Carrie did quite well at the Box Office opening to a $16 million weekend and achieving a highly respectable $35 million domestically and more than $82 million worldwide so far, from a $30 million production budget, with dvd sales yet to come.

Recently Carrie won the People's Choice award for Favorite Horror Movie.

I think most people will love it and I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carrie [Blu-ray] [2013]
Carrie [Blu-ray] [2013] by Kimberly Peirce (Blu-ray - 2014)
£9.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews