Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larry Richmond Showbiz News
I missed the television mini series, Fleming, so purchased the DVD. It is a most entertaining film loosely recalling the life of Bond writer Ian Fleming during his WWII military service as a Royal Navy Commander engaged in intellegence work.
Dominic Cooper is excellent in the role of Fleming, with a touch Bond. If enjoy James Bond you will enjoy this film.
Published 5 months ago by Larry Richmond

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars and I'm sure I wouldn't have liked Ian Fleming
A disappointing film, and I'm sure I wouldn't have liked Ian Fleming!
Published 25 days ago by susiesmith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larry Richmond Showbiz News, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
I missed the television mini series, Fleming, so purchased the DVD. It is a most entertaining film loosely recalling the life of Bond writer Ian Fleming during his WWII military service as a Royal Navy Commander engaged in intellegence work.
Dominic Cooper is excellent in the role of Fleming, with a touch Bond. If enjoy James Bond you will enjoy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fleming, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
Very well acted by Dominic Cooper, but as another reviewer has said, there were too many scenes portraying Fleming as a virtual sex maniac. His story was of interest to me, although myself being someone of absolutely no importance, I once worked at the stockbroking firm of which he had been a partner, and I had hoped the film might include a little more of that period of his life. However, the film was good viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not easy to do, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
Very well crafted from an interesting premise -- getting into the creative mind; not easy to do. Amorality (or do I mean immoralilty?) of the sex-obsession was a little startling at first, but by the end made sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fleming, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
Acting good but story line was boring in the extreme. I sat through the whole 177 minutes and watched it all because I wanted to know the ending, but the story could have been told in a quarter of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this greatly - the life of the man behind ..., 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed this greatly - the life of the man behind the mythos, but perhaps watered down for tv,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars and I'm sure I wouldn't have liked Ian Fleming, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
A disappointing film, and I'm sure I wouldn't have liked Ian Fleming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
Very interesting ,quite surprised he lead such an interesting life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FLEMING A SEX MANIAC?, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
This mini series, could had been a lot better if they didn't try to emulate a Bond film. Even the music sometimes seems as it was going to jump into the James Bond theme. And what about the love scenes? Every five minutes there's a sex scene between Fleming and some lady. I know Fleming was an avid lover, but they presented him here more like a sex maniac.. The series seems to drag at times , and the only thing that saves it are the World War info and the few scenes about it. SPYMAKER with Jason Connery, even though it was more ficiticious , i found it more entertaining than this one. And the other British film about Fleming titled GOLDENEYE, was a much better film,it's a pity they haven't release the DVD here in the States. Overall, FLEMING is a big disapoint for Bond fans and for those who admire the man that created him. At least, I'm one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent DVD. For anyone who would like to know about the Fleming before he wrote the first of his James Bond books, this is an absolute 'must see' DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD]
Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] by Mat Whitecross (DVD - 2014)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews