Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larry Richmond Showbiz News
I missed the television mini series, Fleming, so purchased the DVD. It is a most entertaining film loosely recalling the life of Bond writer Ian Fleming during his WWII military service as a Royal Navy Commander engaged in intellegence work.
Dominic Cooper is excellent in the role of Fleming, with a touch Bond. If enjoy James Bond you will enjoy this film.
Published 7 months ago by Larry Richmond

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars They forgot the main thing
Brilliant 4-part series, but they forgot to include that the main character wrote several world famous novels later in life. How came that to be and how was it to gain some success with it??? Sadly the series ends with the end of the war, there is only one short scene of him finishing the draft of the first James Bond novel.
I demand the filming of at least one more...
Published 14 days ago by Wonderer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larry Richmond Showbiz News, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
I missed the television mini series, Fleming, so purchased the DVD. It is a most entertaining film loosely recalling the life of Bond writer Ian Fleming during his WWII military service as a Royal Navy Commander engaged in intellegence work.
Dominic Cooper is excellent in the role of Fleming, with a touch Bond. If enjoy James Bond you will enjoy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed Fleming-The Man Who Would Be Bond, 1 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed Fleming-The Man Who Would Be Bond. Can now understand how and why Ian Fleming created the most amazing fictional spy charter of all time - Bond, 007. If this is a true rendition of the character of Ian Fleming in this movie then one can see that there is so much of him in Bond. The suaveness, the arrogance the utter distain for rules and regulations. Very aptly named Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond. Loved this movie and highly recommend fans of James Bond 007, to watch this movie I don't believe you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars They forgot the main thing, 12 Dec 2014
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant 4-part series, but they forgot to include that the main character wrote several world famous novels later in life. How came that to be and how was it to gain some success with it??? Sadly the series ends with the end of the war, there is only one short scene of him finishing the draft of the first James Bond novel.
I demand the filming of at least one more episode of his working and writing life after the war!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was much better than I thought it would be, 12 Nov 2014
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
This was much better than I thought it would be, I did think that it was a strange choice for Dominic Cooper to star as Ian Fleming but once you start watching it you get hooked and he does a really good job of the portrayal, Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have been converted into a Dominic Cooper fan!, 5 Nov 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
I love this show!
I'm not usually a Dominic Cooper fan, but I must admit defeat.
I had hoped to watch the four episodes on four different days, but I just fall head over heals.
I am now a Dominic Cooper fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, 26 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
If you're a fan of James Bond this is a must watch. I actually enjoyed this one even more, Dominic Cooper is the PERFECT Ian Fleming and I just loved the British accents and everything about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fleming, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
Very well acted by Dominic Cooper, but as another reviewer has said, there were too many scenes portraying Fleming as a virtual sex maniac. His story was of interest to me, although myself being someone of absolutely no importance, I once worked at the stockbroking firm of which he had been a partner, and I had hoped the film might include a little more of that period of his life. However, the film was good viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!!!, 27 Nov 2014
By 
rog45asta (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
Dominic Cooper is very good.Have been watching this young actor since The History Boys and he is becoming one of England's
great actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fleming, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
Acting good but story line was boring in the extreme. I sat through the whole 177 minutes and watched it all because I wanted to know the ending, but the story could have been told in a quarter of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FLEMING A SEX MANIAC?, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] (DVD)
This mini series, could had been a lot better if they didn't try to emulate a Bond film. Even the music sometimes seems as it was going to jump into the James Bond theme. And what about the love scenes? Every five minutes there's a sex scene between Fleming and some lady. I know Fleming was an avid lover, but they presented him here more like a sex maniac.. The series seems to drag at times , and the only thing that saves it are the World War info and the few scenes about it. SPYMAKER with Jason Connery, even though it was more ficiticious , i found it more entertaining than this one. And the other British film about Fleming titled GOLDENEYE, was a much better film,it's a pity they haven't release the DVD here in the States. Overall, FLEMING is a big disapoint for Bond fans and for those who admire the man that created him. At least, I'm one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD]
Fleming - The Man Who Would Be Bond [DVD] by Mat Whitecross (DVD - 2014)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews